Protestant, Anglican and Orthodox intra-confessional Ecumenism

The beginnings of contemporary Ecumenism on the international level appeared in the late 19thcentury with Church and youth movements. They merged into an international movement: the World Christian Youth Federation (WCSF). The World missionary conference met in Edinburgh in 1910 and lay the foundations for a renewed dialogue between the different protestant churches. World conferences were set up. Their work was organised through commissions or permanent councils.

In 1937 about a hundred churches decided to create an Ecumenical World Council of Churches (WCC). The First Assembly met in 1938, but, because of World War II, it was only established in Amsterdam in 1948, with its headquarters in Geneva. From then on the different conferences set up in 1910 progressively joined the WCC. It organises plenary assemblies every seven or eight years, while the number of member Churches increases as South American Churches are accepted. General Secretaries play an important part. Willem Visser’t Hooft who participated in creating the WCC was the first General Secretary. Originally the WCC was composed mainly of Protestant churches, though it soon aroused the interest of Orthodox Churches. The Catholic Church does not belong to the WCC but takes part in some work sessions.

In the early 20th century a number of Protestant Churches came together, especially in France because of its great variety of Churches. Thus, from 1945 on the French Protestant Federation offered to unite most Protestant Churches and associations. In 1938 a significant number of Reformed Churches assembled and formed the French Reformed Church (FRC). In 2013, after the Lutheran and Reformed Churches of Alsace and Moselle linked, the FRC and the French Lutheran Evangelical Church merged to create the French United Protestant Church.

Begin the tour

Begin the tour

L’œcuménisme intraconfessionnel protestant, anglican, orthodoxe

Au niveau international, des signes avant-coureurs de l’œcuménisme contemporain apparaissent à la fin du XIXe siècle avec des mouvements d’Églises et de jeunesse. Ceux-ci se fédèrent dans un mouvement international : la Fédération universelle des Associations chrétiennes d’étudiants (FUACE). La conférence universelle des Sociétés protestantes de mission, réunie en 1910 à Édimbourg, jette les bases d’un dialogue renouvelé entres différents courants protestants. Des conférences mondiales sont constituées. Leur travail est organisé par des commissions ou conseils permanents.

En 1937, une centaine d’Églises décident la création d’un Conseil œcuménique des Églises (COE). L’assemblée constitutive se réunit en 1938 mais, en raison de la deuxième guerre mondiale, le COE n’est constitué qu’en 1948 à Amsterdam, avec son siège à Genève. À partir de cette date, les conférences qui s’étaient constituées dès 1910 s’intègrent au progressivement COE. Celui-ci organise des assemblées plénières tous les sept ou huit ans, tandis que le nombre de ses Églises membres augmente avec l’admission d’Églises du Sud. Les secrétaires généraux jouent un rôle important. Willem Visser’t Hooft, qui a participé à la création du COE, en est le premier secrétaire général. Le COE est au départ essentiellement protestant, bien qu’il ait suscité très tôt l’intérêt des Églises orthodoxes. L’Église catholique ne fait pas partie du COE mais participe à certains de ses travaux.

Au début du XX e siècle, de nombreux rapprochements et regroupements d’Églises protestantes ont lieu, notamment en France où il existait une grande diversité d’Églises. Ainsi, à partir de 1905, la Fédération protestante de France se propose de rassembler la plupart des Églises et associations protestantes. Par ailleurs, en 1938, une grande partie des Églises réformées se regroupent dans l’Église réformée de France (ERF). En 2013, après un rapprochement des Églises luthériennes et réformées en Alsace et en Moselle, l’ERF et l’Église évangélique luthérienne de France s’unissent pour former l’Église protestante unie de France.

Commencer le parcours

Commencer le parcours