Protestant education since the Revolution

After the French Revolution, a public education system was gradually established with the high schools and Grandes Ecoles. Protestants participated widely in the major school and university reforms of the Third Republic.

From the Edict of Tolerance (1787) to the end of the Second Empire (1870)

During the French Revolution, after the departure of the Jesuits and their colleges as a result of the loss of legitimacy of the Sorbonne, there were numerous and widely debated educational projects involving basic education, pedagogy, and the general and vocational training of the elite. Little by little, new schools were created and a school system began to take shape, elementary schools, high schools, Grandes Ecoles, called special schools, law schools, medical schools and schools of arts and sciences.

The Third Republic (1871-1939)

Early in the Third Republic, a public education system was established with its rules.

The major education acts (1881, 1885, 1891) established :

  • free, mandatory, secular primary education: all children age 6 to 13 had to receive an education. This education was free: the students’ families did not have to pay anything. It was secular, that is, it provided moral instruction, but no religious instruction. All the teachers received training in Normal Schools.
  • sssecondary and university level education (fee-based until 1930). Teachers and professors were trained at universities and had to pass a competitive certification exam [agrégation] in each discipline.

A number of reformers, Jules Ferry for primary education, Louis Liard and Emile Durkheim for secondary and university-level education, at times had close ties with the Protestant community

However, Protestants also favored the creation of private education (The Ecole Alsacienne, the Ecole Libre des Sciences Politiques).

Since the 1877 laws, theology schools (Protestant and Catholic) were private establishments of higher learning.

Begin the tour

Begin the tour

L’éducation dans le monde protestant
depuis la Révolution

Après la Révolution française, un système d’enseignement public se met peu à peu en place, avec les lycées et les grandes écoles. Les protestants ont largement participé  aux grandes réformes scolaires et universitaires de la IIIe République.

De l’Édit de Tolérance (1787) à la fin du Second Empire (1870)

Pendant la Révolution française, après le départ des jésuites et de leurs collèges du fait de la perte de légitimité de la Sorbonne, les projets d’éducation sont nombreux et largement débattus, qu’il s’agisse d’apprentissages élémentaires, de pédagogie, de formation générale et professionnelle des élites. Peu à peu des écoles nouvelles se créent et un système scolaire se dessine, écoles primaires, lycées, grandes Ecoles, dites écoles spéciales, facultés de droit, de médecine, de lettres et de sciences.

La Troisième République (1871-1939)

Au début de la Troisième République, un système d’enseignement public se met en place avec ses règles.

Les grandes lois d’enseignement (1881, 1885, 1891) instituent :

  • un enseignement primaire gratuit, laïc et obligatoire : tous les enfants âgés de 6 à 13 ans doivent recevoir un enseignement. Celui-ci est gratuit : les familles des élèves n’ont rien à payer. Il est laïc, c’est à dire qu’il donne une instruction morale, mais aucune instruction religieuse. Tous les instituteurs reçoivent une formation dans les Ecoles normales.
  • un enseignement secondaire et universitaire (payant jusqu’en 1930) . Les professeurs sont formés dans les universités et doivent passer dans chaque discipline le concours d’agrégation.

Plusieurs réformateurs, Jules Ferry pour l’enseignement primaire, Louis Liard et Emile Durkheim pour l’enseignement secondaire et universitaire ont eu parfois des liens étroits avec le milieu protestant

Cependant, les protestants ont aussi favorisé la création d’enseignements privés (l’Ecole Alsacienne, l’Ecole Libre des Sciences Politiques).

Les Facultés de théologie (protestante et catholique) sont, depuis les lois de 1877, des établissements d’enseignement supérieur privés.

Commencer le parcours

Commencer le parcours

p
u
b
l
i
c
i
t
e