Protestant education
from the Reform to the Revolution

From the start of the Reform, great importance was assigned to reading and writing, tools necessary to religious instruction based on reading the Bible.

Very quickly, the Protestant world encouraged the development of a demanding technical education that took its place next to the teaching of philosophy, the humanities and theology.

In the 16th century, education was one of the priorities of Humanists and Reformers (Luther, Melanchthon, Calvin, Bucer, Rabelais, Montaigne). Luther entrusted this responsibility to families and to the civil authorities. Melanchthon, like other Humanists, wrote educational treatises and instruction manuals.

In Strasbourg, the reformer Martin Bucer created an establishment where the Humanities were taught. This was the first “secondary school” or high school. As soon as it subscribed to the Reform, the city of Geneva created a college.

In France, reading and writing spread quickly in reformed circles. “The Reform was passionate about educating the people. It wanted every man to know how to read, and which book? The one from which it drew life (Jean Jaurès, 1911).”

After the Edict of Nantes was signed, Protestants were authorized to maintain schools in the cities where the reformed church was recognized. Great attention was given to religious instruction. Theology, philosophy, the humanities and law were taught in the Academies. Those of Saumur and Montauban were famous.

All these establishments were closed after the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes.

Begin the tour

Begin the tour

L’éducation dans le monde protestant
de la Réforme à la Révolution

Dès le début de la Réforme, une place importante a été réservée aux apprentissages de la lecture et de l’écriture, outils nécessaires à une instruction religieuse fondée sur la lecture de la Bible.

Très vite, le monde protestant a encouragé le développement d’un enseignement technique exigeant qui prend toute sa place à côté de l’enseignement de la philosophie, de celui des humanités et de la théologie.

Au XVIe siècle, l’éducation est l’une des priorités des humanistes et des réformateurs (Luther, Melanchthon, Calvin, Bucer, Rabelais, Montaigne). Luther confie cette responsabilité aux familles et aux autorités civiles. Melanchthon rédige, comme d’autres humanistes, des traités d’éducation et des manuels d’apprentissage.

A Strasbourg, le réformateur Martin Bucer crée un établissement où sont enseignées les Humanités. C’est le premier « gymnase » ou lycée. Dès son passage à la Réforme, la ville de Genève crée un collège.

En France, la lecture et l’écriture se diffusent vite dans les milieux réformés. « C’est la Réforme qui s’est passionnée pour l’instruction du peuple. Elle a voulu que tout homme sût lire, et quel livre? Celui où elle même puisait la vie (Jean Jaurès, 1911) ».

Après la signature de l’Edit de Nantes, les protestants sont autorisés à entretenir des écoles dans les villes où le culte réformé est reconnu. Une grande attention est donnée à l’instruction religieuse. La théologie, la philosophie, les humanités, ainsi que le droit sont enseignés dans des Académies. Celles de Saumur et de Montauban sont célèbres.

Tous ces établissements ont été fermés après la Révocation de l’Edit de Nantes.

Commencer le parcours

Commencer le parcours

p
u
b
l
i
c
i
t
e