Alsace from the Reformation to the Revolution

In the XVIth century, Alsace, a territory belonging to the Holy Roman Empire, suffered from many internal divisions. It accepted the Reformed faith at an early date, especially in its main principalities and cities. Catholicism continued to hold sway in the territory belonging to the Habsburgs and the Duke of Lorraine. In Strasbourg, Lutheranism was quite a powerful influence and the reformer Martin Bucer gained many supporters for the Protestant cause. He offered refuge to Huguenots fleeing from France and also to Anabaptists coming from Switzerland. Amongst these there was an Amish community which later settled in the valley of Sainte-Marie-les-Mines.

In the XVIIth century, at the end of the Thirty Years War, (1618 – 1648) the Treaties of Westphalia were signed: most of Alsace was attached to France once more and freedom of religion was recognized. Apart from Mulhouse, Alsace became fully French when Strasbourg capitulated in 1681.The provisions of the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes (1685) which concerned France, did not apply to Alsace as it had not been part of France when the Edict was signed in 1598. However, up until his death in 1692, Louvois put pressure on Protestants and tried to make them convert to Catholicism.

In the XVIIIth century this policy was not so pronounced – indeed by the end of the XVIIth century it had already nearly died down. As illustrated by the pomp and ceremony apparent at the funeral of the Lutheran Marshal of Saxony (1781).

Mulhouse, which had accepted the Reformed faith in 1523 under the influence of Zwingli, decided to become French in 1798.

The new Revolutionary ideas were initially well accepted by strong personalities such as Oberlin and Blessig. When the de-christianisation period came about, together with the arrest of ‘suspects’, public acts of worship were often forbidden; sometimes people held clandestine assemblies in private clubs.

Begin the tour

Begin the tour

L’Alsace de la Réforme à la Révolution

Au XVIe siècle, l’Alsace est une terre très morcelée du Saint Empire romain germanique. La Réforme y pénètre très tôt et s’ implante rapidement dans la plupart des principautés et des villes. Le catholicisme subsiste notamment dans les possessions des Habsbourg et du duc de Lorraine. A Strasbourg, la Réforme est luthérienne avec une position modérée, le protestantisme y rayonne grâce au réformateur Martin Bucer. Celui-ci accueille des réfugiés huguenots et des réfugiés anabaptistes venus de Suisse. Parmi eux, une communauté amish va s’installer dans la vallée de Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines.

Au XVIIe siècle, la guerre de Trente Ans (1618-1648) s’achève par les traités de Westphalie : la majeure partie de l’Alsace est rattachée à la France, et la liberté d’exercice de la religion est reconnue. Le rattachement complet, à l’exception de Mulhouse, a lieu avec la capitulation de Strasbourg en 1681. Les dispositions de la Révocation de l’édit de Nantes (1685), applicables à l’intérieur de la France, ne s’appliquent pas : l’Alsace n’était pas dans le royaume de France lors de la signature de l’édit en 1598. Mais jusqu’à sa mort en 1692, Louvois mène une politique coercitive vis-à-vis des protestants et favorise leur conversion au catholicisme.

Au XVIIIe siècle, la politique coercitive menée en Alsace contre les protestants, déjà atténuée à la fin du XVIIe siècle, est progressivement abandonnée. Le faste de l’enterrement du maréchal de Saxe (1751), qui était resté luthérien, en est le symbole.
Mulhouse qui avait adhéré à la Réforme en 1523, sous l’influence de Zwingli, se rattache volontairement à la France en 1798.

Les idées nouvelles de la Révolution sont d’abord favorablement accueillies par de fortes personnalités comme Oberlin et Blessig. Lorsque vient le temps de la dé-christianisation et des arrestations de « suspects », les cultes sont souvent interdits ; la vie religieuse continue parfois de manière cachée dans des clubs.

Commencer le parcours

Commencer le parcours

p
u
b
l
i
c
i
t
e