Who was Martin Luther?

Luther was a monk, a professor of theology. He criticised the customs of the Catholic Church such as selling indulgences, which he deemed contrary to Bible teachings. He was excommunicated in 1521 by Pope Leo X, but was protected by Frederick the Wise the German Prince. Thanks to his protector he could develop his reformation ideas and launch the bases for the first Protestant Churches. His ideas rapidly spread in Europe, notably due to printing.

Who was Martin Luther ?

The monk Luther became a reformer

  • Luther (1483-1546)
    Luther (1483-1546) © Musée Calvin de Noyon

Martin Luther was born in Germany, in Eisleben, on 10 November 1483. He studied law at Erfurt. In 1505, he was caught in a violent storm and vowed to become a monk if he escaped from the thunder.

He then became an Augustinian monk. In 1507, he was ordained priest and became a doctor in Theology in 1512. He then left for Wittenberg to teach Theology in the city of Prince Frederick the Wise. Luther did not agree with the customs of the Catholic Church and started openly criticised it after 1517, because of the indulgences trade. The indulgences were sold so as to avoid purgatory. In fact, they were used to finance the construction of the Saint Peter Basilica in Rome.

The study of the Bible changed his vision of the Church

  • Luther in the Wartburg
    Luther in the Wartburg © S.H.P.F.

Luther was excommunicated by Pope Leo X in 1521. He was summoned by Emperor Charles V to the diet in Worms, which outlawed him from the Empire. Luther’s protector, Prince Frederick the Wise, had him abducted and installed in the Wartburg Castle. There, Luther could keep working on the translation of the Bible. Meanwhile, in Wittenberg, Luther’s partisans wanted to further reform the Church: they attacked priests and devastated churches. Luther took action to cool down  the situation.

Then in 1525 a lot of peasants rose up in Southern Germany on behalf of Luther’s ideas. He asked the princes to act and restore civil peace. The peasant’s war was a bloody episode.

Still in 1525, Martin Luther, who no longer was a monk since 1521, married a former nun, Catherine de Bora. They had six children.

Who was Martin Luther ?

Luther's ideas started dividing Europe

  • Luther (1483-1546) - Billettes church
    Luther (1483-1546) - Billettes church © O. d'Haussonville

Luther’s ideas gained momentum. They gradually led to the Augsburg confession, presented to Charles V in 1530. The emperor refused it as he wanted everyone to return to the Catholic Church. But it was too late, and several German princes were already convinced by Luther’s theories, which spread all over Europe in the Renaissance period.

They convinced sovereigns notably in Scandinavian and in Anglo-Saxon countries, and developed in France in spite of the King’s opposition.

Luther died in 1546. He was considered the father of Protestantism and known as one of the greatest theologians of his time.

Who was Martin Luther ?

Bibliography

  • Documents
    • Martin Luther (document destiné aux enseignants) | File

Associated tours

Qui est Martin Luther ?

Luther est un moine, professeur de théologie. Il critique les pratiques de l’Église catholique, comme la vente des indulgences, qu’il trouve contraires à l’enseignement de la Bible. Excommunié en 1521 par le pape Léon X, il est protégé par le prince allemand, Frédéric le Sage. Grâce à ce protecteur, il peut développer ses idées réformatrices et constituer en Allemagne les bases des premières Églises protestantes. Ses idées se répandent très vite en Europe, notamment grâce à l’imprimerie.

Luther est le pionnier de la Réforme
Qui est Martin Luther ? (1) © © E. Ferron

Le moine Luther devient réformateur

  • Luther (1483-1546)
    Luther (1483-1546) © Musée Calvin de Noyon

Martin Luther est né le 10 novembre 1483 en Allemagne, à Eisleben. Il étudie le droit à Erfurt. En 1505, pris dans un orage très violent, il fait le vœu de se faire moine s’il échappe à la foudre.

Il entre alors au couvent des moines augustins. Il est ordonné prêtre en 1507 et devient docteur en théologie en 1512. Il part alors enseigner la théologie à Wittenberg, ville du prince Frédéric le Sage. Luther n’est plus d’accord avec les pratiques de l’Église catholique et il commence à la critiquer très ouvertement à partir de 1517, à cause du commerce des indulgences. En effet, les indulgences sont présentées comme si, en les achetant, on pouvait échapper au purgatoire. En réalité, elles servent à financer la construction de la basilique Saint-Pierre à Rome.

L’étude de la Bible change sa vision de l’Église

  • Luther à la Wartburg
    Luther à la Wartburg © S.H.P.F.

Luther est excommunié par le pape Léon X en 1521. Il est convoqué par l’empereur Charles Quint à la diète de Worms, qui le met au ban de l’Empire. Le protecteur de Luther, le prince Frédéric le Sage, le fait alors enlever, pour l’installer au château de la Wartburg. Là, Luther peut continuer son travail d’étude et de traduction de la Bible. Pendant ce temps, à Wittenberg, des partisans de Luther veulent aller plus loin dans la réforme de l’Église : ils s’en prennent aux prêtres et saccagent des églises. Luther intervient pour calmer les esprits.

Puis, en 1525, de nombreux paysans se révoltent en Allemagne du Sud au nom des idées de Luther. Celui-ci demande aux princes d’agir pour restaurer la paix civile. Cette guerre des paysans est un épisode sanglant.

Toujours en 1525, Martin Luther, qui n’est plus moine depuis 1521, se marie avec une ancienne religieuse : Catherine de Bora. Ils ont six enfants.

Luther étudie beaucoup la Bible
Qui est Martin Luther ? (2) © E. Ferron

Les idées de Luther commencent à diviser l’Europe

  • Luther (1483-1546) - Eglise des Billettes (75)
    Luther (1483-1546) - Eglise des Billettes (75) © O. d'Haussonville

Les idées de Luther gagnent du terrain. Peu à peu, elles aboutissent à la confession d’Augsbourg, qui est présentée à Charles Quint en 1530. L’empereur la refuse, il veut que tout le monde revienne vers l’Église catholique. Mais c’est trop tard, plusieurs princes allemands sont déjà acquis aux thèses de Luther, lesquelles vont s’étendre dans l’Europe de la Renaissance.

Elles conquièrent notamment les souverains des pays scandinaves et anglo-saxons, et se développent en France malgré l’opposition du roi.

Luther meurt en 1546 : il est considéré comme le père du protestantisme et reconnu comme l’un des plus grands théologiens de son temps.

Découvre Jean Calvin dans la prochaine notice
Qui est Martin Luther ? (3) © E. Ferron

Bibliographie

  • Documents
    • Martin Luther (document destiné aux enseignants) | Fichier

Parcours associés