Museum of Protestantism in the Vivarais region

The Museum of Protestantism in the Vivarais can be found in a XVth century fortified building, built in the Boutières style typical of the Ardèche, and classified as a historical site. It is in a little hamlet called Bouschet de Pranles (on the D2 between Privas and Les Ollières-sur-Eyrieux, and signposted from the Moulin à vent pass.)

The birthplace of Pierre and Marie Durand

  • House of Marie Durand © C. Fougeirol

This is the birthplace of Pierre Durand (1700-1732) who restored reformed churches in the Vivarais and was hung in Montpellier because he disobeyed the king’s orders. His sister, Marie Durand, (1711-1776) was also born here; she was the famous prisoner in the Tower of Constance, where she resisted conversion to Catholicism for 38 years (1730-1768).

A group of other XVIIIth Vivarais Hugenots formed around the Durand family, bearing witness to their faith. They were rooted in Scripture, refused to change their religious convictions and so demonstrated their belief in the supreme authority of God, above kings and their subjects – and, moreover, that everyone had the right to have a personal relationship with Him. For them, this was the essence of human dignity. They opened the way to freedom of conscience, but in a context of submission because they wanted to ‘obey the king of France in every way except in matters which might prejudice their faith and their Church’.

An arched fireplace bears the inscription ‘Praise be to God’

One can get a good idea of the inhabitants’ faith and their hope in God from the documents kept in this house. Many show the difficult circumstances they had to endure. Among them, the royal edicts which restricted, and later forbade, any practice of the reformed religion, the signatures of both Pierre and Marie Durand, copies of their letters, the marriage register for Pierre Durand and a photocopy of the register of the Acts of ‘Desert’ Synods ().There are 12 water colours depicting the different uniforms of royal troops. There is also a chart showing the history of religious freedom in the Vivarais from the time of Henry IV to the Revolution in 1789. Some objects typifying country life of the past recreate atmosphere in this ancient dwelling.

Traditionally, on the last Sunday of June there is a gathering outside the house when a speaker talks about a subject of historic interest or a notable personality in French Protestantism.

Musée du Vivarais protestant
Maison Pierre et Marie Durand
555 chemin du Bouschet
F-07000 Le Bouschet de Pranles
Tel. +33 (0) 4 75 64 22 74
Contact : museevivarais@orange.fr

Museum of Protestantism in the Vivarais region

Bouschet de Pranle

Itinerary to this location

Author: Musée du Vivarais protestant

Bibliography

  • Sites
    • Site du Musée du Vivarais protestant | Link

Associated notes

Random notes

Musée du Vivarais protestant

Au Bouschet de Pranles (itinéraire fléché dès le col du Moulin à Vent, entre Privas et Les Ollières-sur-Eyrieux) se trouve le Musée du Vivarais protestant, installé dans une maison forte du XVe siècle, du type ardéchois des Boutières, classé Monument historique.

La maison natale de Pierre et Marie Durand

  • Maison de Marie Durand
    Maison de Marie Durand © C. Fougeirol

Là naquirent Pierre Durand (1700-1732), restaurateur des églises réformées en Vivarais, pendu à Montpellier pour avoir contrevenu aux ordres du roi, et Marie Durand (1711-1776), sa sœur, la célèbre prisonnière de la Tour de Constance, dans laquelle elle résista vaillamment pendant 38 ans (1730-1768).

Autour de cette famille se concrétise le témoignage des huguenots vivarois du XVIIIe siècle. Fondés sur l’Écriture Sainte, refusant toute contrainte en matière religieuse, ils ont proclamé par leur attitude la souveraineté suprême de Dieu sur les peuples et sur les rois et le droit de chacun de s’approcher de lui personnellement. Pour eux, c’est là que réside la dignité humaine. Ils ont ouvert la voie à la liberté de conscience, mais dans un contexte d’ordre car ils voulaient « obéir au roi de France en toutes choses sauf aux ordonnances qui pourraient être préjudicieuses à la foi et à l’Église. »

Une cheminée voûtée porte l'inscription « Loue Soy Deu »

Les documents conservés dans cette maison font connaître la foi et l’espérance de ses habitants. Plusieurs rappellent les circonstances qu’ils durent affronter. Parmi les documents exposés, on voit les édits royaux restreignant puis interdisant toute pratique de la religion réformée, des autographes de Pierre et de Marie Durand, des reproductions de leurs lettres, le registre des mariages de Pierre Durand et, en photocopie, le registre des Actes des Synodes du Désert. Douze aquarelles présentent les uniformes des troupes royales. Un tableau récapitule l’histoire de la liberté religieuse en Vivarais d’Henri IV à la Révolution de 1789. Quelques objets de la vie paysanne d’autrefois recréent l’ambiance de cette vieille demeure.

Le dernier dimanche de juin se tient, aux abords de la maison, un rassemblement traditionnel. Un orateur présente un sujet historique ou une personnalité marquante du protestantisme français.

Musée du Vivarais protestant
Maison Pierre et Marie Durand
Le Bouschet
F-07000 Pranles
Tél. +33 (0) 4 75 64 22 74
Contact : museevivarais@orange.fr

Musée du Vivarais protestant

Bouschet de Pranle

Itinéraire vers ce lieu

Auteur : Musée du Vivarais protestant

Bibliographie

  • Sites
    • Site du Musée du Vivarais protestant | Lien

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices

p
u
b
l
i
c
i
t
e