Montbéliard (Doubs)

The Saint-Martin Temple in Montbéliard is the biggest Protestant temple in France.

Named after Martin Luther...

  • Saint-Martin Temple in Montbéliard (25) © S.H.P.F.

The Church was named Saint-Martin after Martin Luther, born on Saint Martin’s day in 1483. Count Frédéric de Montbéliard, duke of Wurttemberg, decided to have it built in 1601. He appointed the architect Heinrich Schickard and travelled in Italy with him, so that the Italian style might influence the building of the imposing edifice.

The material used was white chalk from the Jura region enhanced with pink sandstone from the Alsace region.

According to the early plans, it should have been surmounted by a four-storey high tower with a protruding gallery between the third and fourth floor, topped with a pyramidal steeple. As funding became scarce, a small temporary steeple, still existing today, was paid for by church members and was inaugurated in 1677.

Not much is known about the interior arrangements, except for the remaining magnificent wood panelled ceiling, with a 17th century Italian painting, featuring the Good Shepherd, in ” Tondo ” style in the centre,. In 1837, a monumental organ was installed in the tribunes built in 1684. Renamed Temple of Reason during the Revolution, then used as a food store in 1870-1871, and a flour store between 1914 and 1921, the Saint-Martin temple was an impressively solemn, outsized building, that loses some of its cold atmosphere only when large crowds gather on special occasions.

Montbéliard (Doubs)

Bibliography

  • Books
    • DUBIEF Henri et POUJOL Jacques, La France protestante, Histoire et Lieux de mémoire, Max Chaleil éditeur, Montpellier, 1992, rééd. 2006, p. 450
    • LAURENT René, Promenade à travers les temples de France, Les Presses du Languedoc, Millau, 1996, p. 520
    • REYMOND Bernard, L’architecture religieuse des protestants, Labor et Fides, Genève, 1996

Associated notes

Random notes

Montbéliard (Doubs)

Le Temple Saint-Martin de Montbéliard est le plus grand temple protestant de France.

En référence à Martin Luther...

  • Temple de Saint-Martin à Montbéliard (25)
    Temple de Saint-Martin à Montbéliard (25) © S.H.P.F.

Il doit son nom de Saint-Martin à la référence à Martin Luther, né lui-même le jour de la Saint-Martin en 1483. Sa construction fut décidée en 1601 par le Comte Frédéric de Montbéliard, duc de Wurtemberg, et confiée à l’architecte Heinrich Schickard avec lequel il fit un voyage en Italie afin qu’il en subisse l’influence pour réaliser cet imposant édifice.

Il est construit en calcaire blanc du Jura rehaussé de grès rose d’Alsace.

D’après les plans initiaux, il devait être surmonté d’une tour à quatre étages avec une balustrade saillante entre le troisième et le quatrième, le tout coiffé d’un clocher pyramidal. Les fonds ayant manqué, on se contenta d’édifier, aux frais des fidèles, un petit clocher provisoire inauguré en 1677, qui subsiste encore aujourd’hui.

On ne sait pas grand-chose de l’aménagement intérieur initial, dont il reste cependant un superbe plafond à caissons, illustré en son centre d’une peinture italienne du XVIIe siècle en « Tondo » représentant le Bon Berger. En 1837, des orgues monumentales furent installées sur la tribune construite en 1684. Temple de la Raison pendant la Révolution, dépôt de vivres en 1870-1871, magasin à farine entre 1914 et 1921, le temple Saint-Martin en impose par ses dimensions solennelles dont la froideur n’est atténuée que lors des grandes assemblées réunies pour les fêtes carillonnées.

Montbéliard (Doubs)

Bibliographie

  • Livres
    • DUBIEF Henri et POUJOL Jacques, La France protestante, Histoire et Lieux de mémoire, Max Chaleil éditeur, Montpellier, 1992, rééd. 2006, p. 450
    • LAURENT René, Promenade à travers les temples de France, Les Presses du Languedoc, Millau, 1996, p. 520
    • REYMOND Bernard, L’architecture religieuse des protestants, Labor et Fides, Genève, 1996

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices