Marc Bœgner (1881-1970)

Marc Bœgner was a pastor with outstanding charisma, and a prominent figure in contemporary French Protestantism. He also acknowledged its various tendencies, and very early accepted big responsibilities. During the 1939-1945 war he fought against discrimination notably towards the Jews in the name of the French Protestant Federation. Throughout his life his “ecumenical demand” made him a pioneer in Christian churches unification strivings.

His studies and first parish

  • Le pasteur Marc Boegner
  • Marc Bœgner (1881-1970)

Marc Bœgner was born in Epinal in 1881. His father Paul Boegner and his mother Jenny Fallot were both of Alsacian origin but in the reformed tradition.

Owing to the many different places his father was appointed to as an administrator, he went to secondary school in Orléans and then in Paris.

He was very much influenced by his uncle, the pastor Tommy Fallot (1844-1904), and when he was not allowed in the Ecole Navale because of his bad eyesight, he chose to study theology after what he called his “conversion”. He studied at the protestant theology faculty in Paris, except in 1901-1902 when he did his military service. After having submitted his thesis on Calvin’s catechisms in 1905 and consecrated, he was appointed to the Aouste-sur-Sye parish in the Drôme department, where Tommy Fallot had been pastor for nine years until he died.

In the modest country parish, Marc Boegner initiated a ministry based on being humble, listening to the people and their ideas, and uniting them in the same faith.

The Mission House and Passy parish

  • Pasteur Marc Boegner prêchant dans le temple de Passy-Annonciation, Paris

In 1911, he was appointed professor with the Mission House in Paris. He then realised that a link had to be created between the mission and the unified church. In 1912 he met John Mott (1855-1965) a Baptist American layman who created the Universal Federation of Christian Students Associations. He was to win the Nobel Peace Prize in 1964, and launched the ecumenical movement. Boegner was drafted in Paris as a head-nurse as early as August 1914, but never stopped presiding over worshipping, supporting those who asked for help, and was deeply torn between “the eager hope in victory and the obligation to refuse hatred.”

In October 1918, he was assigned to the Parisian parish Passy-Annonciation where he remained until he died in 1953.

He turned this parish torn between different theological and political ideas, which then was frequent in Protestantism, into an influential church. He was greatly helped by pastor Pierre Maury who arrived in 1934. The latter was an outstanding theologian who was to be “the friend, the brother, the confidant of all his parochial worries.”

The Unionist of Protestantism

In 1928, Marc Boegner started a series of radio-broadcast Lent lectures which broadened his audience beyond his parish. But his main worry then was to make the unification of Protestantism come true, and he devoted all his energy to creating a frame in which Reformed, Lutheran and Evangelical Churches could share the same faith, while keeping their specific theological and ecclesiastical tenets.

In 1929, in Marseilles the Assembly of the French Protestant Federation ratified the unification of several Unions of Churches and protestant associations to be housed at 47 rue de Clichy in Paris, thus creating as a sort of institution.

Marc Bœgner was elected president of the French Protestant Federation (FPF), which he was until 1961.

Within the Federation, the Reformed Churches still had to be unified. The controversies between the orthodox, who stuck up for ancient traditions, and the liberals, who understood the evolution of mentalities, were being settled.

In 1938 during the Assembly in Lyon, the unity came about with a common Proclamation of Faith, and Marc Bœgner was elected President of the National Council of the French Reformed Church (ERF).

He then held the two highest positions in French Protestantism.

The war between 1940 and 1945

  • Le Pasteur Boegner au procès du Maréchal Pétain

In June 1940, after the armistice, the Protestant Federation wished his president would stay in the free zone. So Marc Boegner settled in Nîmes where the protestant tradition still stood firm.

In January 1941, he was assigned to the National Council created by Field-Marshal Pétain as the representative of protestant churches, where he said he could observe “attending policy”.

He often went to Vichy to advocate the fate of people who had been displaced or assembled in internment camps in Drancy (near Paris) or Gurs (Pyrénnées-Atlantiques department) and later of the Jews.

These protests in the name of the Reformed Church and the Protestant Federation were often preceded by meetings with Cardinal Gerlier, the Archbishop of Lyon, and exchanges with Chief Rabbi Schwartz. Marc Boegner would often write letters to Field-Marshal Pétain, which were often read during Sunday worshipping.

In the months before the Liberation, he often spoke in favour of the freeing of pastors, namely Trocmé, Theiss, de Pury, Roulet arrested because of resistance acts or help to harassed Jews.

After the war Marc Bœgner, with the permission of the Protestant Federation, accepted to be called as a defence witness at Field-Marshal Pétain’s trial.

The artisan of ecumenicalism

  • Les présidents du COE et le Général Eisenhower, Evanston, 1954

No sooner was Marc Bœgner appointed that he suffered from the scandal of missionary competition and felt the need for Christians to come closer. He took part in Christian Students Associations to promote the ecumenical movement, and was deeply involved in it.

In the 1930s, notably in Fanö -Denmark in 1934 – and Edinburgh -Scotland in 1937- or Utrecht -Netherlands in 1938- both international leaders of the ecumenical movement, i.e. “Life and Action” deeply engrained in Social Christianism and “Faith and Constitution” more involved in theology, tried to get closer by “preparing an Ecumenical Council” under protestant and orthodox guidance.

Marc Bœgner was the representative of the French Protestant Federation and played an increasingly important role.

World War II delayed the creation of the Ecumenical Council of Churches (COE) eventually founded during the Amsterdam Assembly in 1948. Marc Boegner was elected co-president of the Council of the Wise along with four other foreign figures, as the representative of French Protestantism.

At the Evanston -United-States in 1954 – and New Delhi -India in 1961- assemblies which he attended, the ecumenical movement promoted the links between Churches taking part, and interaction to further theological searching.

Despite the personal involvement of some catholic personalities in a dialogue with the Protestants, the Catholic Church did not show any sign of getting closer. It considered that severed Churches themselves should initiate the “great come back”.

Observer at Vatican II Council

  • Rome, basilique Saint-Pierre, Concile de Vatican II

In 1962 Pope John XXIII at the Vatican II Council was to “launch a movement”. In 1963 Paul VI appointed Cardinal Béa president of a secretariat for the Unity of Christians.

Marc Bœgner took part in the Third and fourth Council sessions as an observer.

Eventually the considerable work of theologians of all confessions would enable all Christians to share the ecumenical demand for which he worked so hard.

An Academician

  • Réception du pasteur Marc Boegner à l’Académie française en 1963

Marc Bœgner was elected member of the Political and Moral Science Academy in 1947, and then of the French Academy in 1963.

In 1988 he was called “Wise among the Nations”.

Bibliography

  • Books
    • BOEGNER Marc, L’Exigence œcuménique, Souvenirs et perspectives, Albin Michel, Paris, 1968, Volume 1
    • BOEGNER Philippe, Les carnets du pasteur Boegner, Fayard, Paris, 1992
    • CABANEL Patrick et ENCREVE André , Dictionnaire biographique des protestants français, de 1787 à nos jours, Editions de Paris - Max Chaleil, Paris, 2015, Tome 1 : A-C
    • MEHL Roger, Marc Boegner, une humble grandeur, Plon, Paris, 1987

Associated notes

Random notes

Marc Bœgner (1881-1970)

Pasteur au charisme exceptionnel, Marc Bœgner est une des grandes figures du protestantisme français contemporain. Fédérateur de ses diverses sensibilités, il y assume très tôt des charges importantes. Pendant la guerre de 1940-1945, au nom de la Fédération Protestante de France, il a lutté contre les mesures discriminatoires frappant en particulier les Juifs. Et il a porté sa vie durant une « exigence œcuménique » qui fait de lui un véritable pionnier du rapprochement entre les Églises chrétiennes.

Les études et la première paroisse

  • Le pasteur Marc Boegner
    Le pasteur Marc Boegner © Réforme
  • Marc Bœgner (1881-1970)
    Marc Bœgner (1881-1970) © Huguette Niel

Marc Boegner est né à Épinal en 1881. Son père Paul Boegner et sa mère Jenny Fallot étaient d’origine alsacienne mais de tradition réformée.

En raison des affectations successives de son père qui était préfet, il fait ses études secondaires à Orléans puis à Paris.

Il est très marqué par l’influence de son oncle, le pasteur Tommy Fallot (1844-1904), et empêché par sa mauvaise vue de préparer l’École Navale, il se décide après ce qu’il appellera lui-même sa « conversion », à faire sa théologie. Il fait ses études à la faculté de théologie protestante de Paris. Elles sont interrompues par son service militaire en 1901-1902. Après la soutenance de sa thèse sur les catéchismes de Calvin en juillet 1905 et sa consécration, il est nommé pasteur à Aouste-sur-Sye (Drôme) où Tommy Fallot avait été pasteur pendant 9 ans avant sa mort.

Dans cette modeste paroisse de campagne, Marc Boegner inaugure un ministère fondé sur l’humilité, l’écoute et le rassemblement dans une même foi, des hommes et des idées.

La Maison des Missions et la paroisse de Passy

  • Pasteur Marc Boegner prêchant dans le temple de Passy-Annonciation, Paris
    Pasteur Marc Boegner prêchant dans le temple de Passy-Annonciation, Paris © Collection privée

En 1911, il est nommé professeur à la Maison des Missions à Paris. C’est là qu’il réalise la nécessité indispensable du lien entre mission et unité de l’Église. En 1912, il rencontre John Mott (1855-1965) laïc américain, baptiste, fondateur de la Fédération Universelle des Associations Chrétiennes d’Étudiants, futur prix Nobel de la Paix (1946), qui sera l’initiateur du mouvement œcuménique. Mobilisé à Paris comme infirmier-chef dès août 1914, Boegner ne cesse pas pendant les quatre années de guerre de présider des cultes, de soutenir ceux qui lui demandent de l’aide, profondément déchiré entre « l’ardent espoir de la victoire et l’obligation de refuser la haine. »

En octobre 1918, il est nommé pasteur de la paroisse parisienne de Passy-Annonciation , poste qu’il conservera jusqu’en 1953.

De cette paroisse divisée entre des sensibilités différentes, théologiques et politiques – division fréquente à cette époque à l’intérieur du protestantisme – il va faire un lieu de rayonnement de la mission de l’Église. Il sera considérablement aidé dans cette tâche par l’arrivée auprès de lui en 1934, du pasteur Pierre Maury, homme chaleureux, remarquable théologien qui sera pour lui « l’ami, le frère, le confident de toutes ses préoccupations paroissiales ».

Le Fédérateur du Protestantisme

En 1928, Marc Boegner inaugure les conférences de carême radio-diffusées qui le feront connaître bien au-delà du modeste auditoire de sa paroisse.Mais son grand souci à ce moment là est de voir se réaliser l’unité du Protestantisme, et il met toute son énergie à établir un cadre dans lequel les Églises réformées,luthériennes, évangéliques, pourraient partager une même foi, tout en ayant des positions théologiques et ecclésiales différentes.

En 1929, l’Assemblée de la Fédération Protestante de France à Marseille entérine le regroupement à Paris de plusieurs Unions d’Églises et Associations protestantes et leur installation au 47 de la rue de Clichy signifie une forme d’institutionnalisation.

Marc Boegner est élu Président de la Fédération Protestante de France (FPF), charge qu’il occupera jusqu’en 1961.

Mais à l’intérieur de la Fédération, l’unité des Églises Réformées reste à faire. Les oppositions entre orthodoxes attachés à des traditions anciennes et libéraux plus sensibles à l’évolution des mentalités, sont en passe de se résoudre.

A l’Assemblée de Lyon en mai 1938, l’unité se réalise sur la base d’une déclaration de foi commune et Marc Boegner est élu Président du Conseil National de l‘Église Réformée de France (ERF).

Il cumule alors deux des plus hautes charges au sein du Protestantisme français.

La guerre de 1940-1945

  • Le Pasteur Boegner au procès du Maréchal Pétain
    Le Pasteur Boegner au procès du Maréchal Pétain © Collection Privée

En juin 1940, après l’armistice, la Fédération Protestante souhaite que son président se fixe en zone libre et Marc Boegner s’installe à Nîmes où la tradition protestante reste forte.

En janvier 1941, il est appelé à siéger au Conseil National créé par le Maréchal Pétain, en tant que représentant des Églises protestantes où, suivant ses propres termes, il peut pratiquer « la politique de la présence ».

Il multiplie les déplacements et les interventions auprès du gouvernement de Vichy en faveur des personnes déplacées ou regroupées dans les camps d’internement de Drancy ou Gurs (Pyrénées-Atlantiques) et ensuite en faveur des juifs.

Ces protestations faites au nom de l’Église Réformée et de la Fédération Protestantes ont souvent précédées de rencontres avec le Cardinal Gerlier, Archevêque de Lyon, et d’échanges avec le Grand Rabbin Schwartz. Elles prennent aussi la forme de lettres adressées directement par le pasteur Marc Boegner au Maréchal Pétain, qui sont souvent lues en chaire au cours des cultes dominicaux.

Dans les mois qui précédent la Libération, il intervient encore de très nombreuses fois pour obtenir la libération de pasteurs (Trocmé, Theiss, de Pury, Roulet arrêtés pour faits de résistance ou d’aides aux juifs pourchassés.

Après la guerre le pasteur Boegner, avec l’accord de la Fédération Protestante de France, accepte d’être cité par la défense et de témoigner au procès du Maréchal Pétain.

L'artisan de l'œcuménisme

  • Les présidents du COE et le Général Eisenhower, Evanston, 1954
    Les présidents du COE et le Général Eisenhower, Evanston, 1954 © Collection privée

Dès les débuts de son ministère, Marc Boegner avait souffert du scandale de la concurrence missionnaire et ressenti la nécessité du rapprochement entre les chrétiens. Sa participation aux Associations chrétiennes d’étudiants, fer de lance du mouvement œcuménique, l’avait définitivement décidé à s’engager.

Dans les années 1930, à Fanö (Danemark, 1934) et Édimbourg (Écosse, 1937), ou Utrecht (Pays-Bas, 1938) les deux directions internationales du mouvement œcuménique : « Vie et Action » fortement marquée par le Christianisme Social et « Foi et Constitution » plus soucieuse d’expression théologique, tentent de se rapprocher en un « Conseil Œcuménique en préparation »,animé par les protestants et les orthodoxes.

Marc Boegner représentant la Fédération Protestante de France y prend de plus en plus de responsabilité.

La deuxième guerre mondiale retarde la formation du Conseil Œcuménique des Églises (COE) qui se constituera à l’Assemblée d’Amsterdam (Pays-Bas) en 1948. Marc Boegner, représentant le protestantisme français, est nommé avec quatre autres personnalités étrangères, co-président du Conseil des Sages.

Les assemblées d’Evanston (États-Unis, 1954) et de New Delhi (Inde, 1961) auxquelles il participe font encore progresser le mouvement œcuménique vers plus de relations entre les Églises membres, et plus d’échanges pour l’approfondissement de la recherche théologique.

Pourtant, malgré des prises de position personnelles de religieux catholiques en faveur d’un dialogue avec les protestants, l’Église catholique n’esquisse aucun signe de rapprochement. Pour elle, c’est aux Églises séparées de faire « le grand retour ».

Observateur au Concile Vatican II

  • Rome, basilique Saint-Pierre, Concile de Vatican II
    Rome, basilique Saint-Pierre, Concile de Vatican II © Fédération Protestante de France

Mais le Concile Vatican II convoqué par le Pape Jean XXIII en 1962 va faire « bouger les choses ». Un secrétariat pour l’Unité des chrétiens dont le Cardinal Béa est le président, est créé par Paul VI en 1963.

Marc Boegner participe comme observateur aux troisième et quatrième sessions du Concile.

Le travail considérable des théologiens de toutes les confessions va peu à peu faire partager par tous les chrétiens cette exigence œcuménique pour laquelle il a tant œuvré.

L'Académicien

  • Réception du pasteur Marc Boegner à l'Académie française en 1963
    Réception du pasteur Marc Boegner à l’Académie française en 1963 © Collection privée

Marc Boegner, membre de l’Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques depuis 1946, est élu à l’Académie Française en 1962.

Il sera nommé « Juste parmi les nations » en 1988.

Bibliographie

  • Livres
    • BOEGNER Marc, L’Exigence œcuménique, Souvenirs et perspectives, Albin Michel, Paris, 1968, Volume 1
    • BOEGNER Philippe, Les carnets du pasteur Boegner, Fayard, Paris, 1992
    • CABANEL Patrick et ENCREVE André , Dictionnaire biographique des protestants français, de 1787 à nos jours, Editions de Paris - Max Chaleil, Paris, 2015, Tome 1 : A-C
    • MEHL Roger, Marc Boegner, une humble grandeur, Plon, Paris, 1987

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices