The Union of Provinces or
the Huguenot State (1573-1598)

The Protestants who lived in the South of France reacted to the St Bartholemew Massacre in 1572 by gathering together and founding an administrative community in 1573. This was called the Union of Provinces and its role was to enable Protestants to maintain their faith while living in civil and religious peace. Their last Protector, Henry of Navarre, took advantage of this structure when planning his military and political policies on coming into power.

The Huguenot State was set up in reaction to the excessive power of the monarchy

  • Henri I de Bourbon, Prince de Condé (1552-1588) © S.H.P.F.
  • Henri III de Navarre et Marguerite de Valois © Collection privée
  • Saint Bartholomew's Day massacre © S.H.P.F.

There was relative peace in France after the Treaty of St Germain in 1570, which gave Protestants a certain degree of religious freedom and four strongholds. Catholics and Protestants lived peacefully together until the St Bartholemew Massacre in 1572, which brought this situation to an end, forcing many Protestants to escape from France.

However, not all Protestants decided to leave the kingdom – some gathered together and founded a community  establishing a kind of Huguenot state similar to its Dutch counterpart and called the United Provinces of the South. This was not a true comparison because the French structure was not a Free State but under the domination of another sovereign State, unlike the case for the Netherlands.

It was made up of local communities and had been founded in Millau in 1573. Each province had a certain degree of independence; their General Assembly elected the following Protectors: Henry of Condé until 1574 followed by Henry of Montmorency-Damville until he joined forces with Henry III in 1577 and finally Henry of Navarre.

Its organisation

  • The security places in 1570 © Musée protestant

The union consisted of the following provinces: the Poitou, the Languedoc, Provence, the Dauphiné and the Massif Central. It was essentially an urban structure which included all social classes and its aim was the peaceful cohabitation of Catholics and Protestants.

The General Assembly  was made up of deputies from provincial assemblies,  and met every six months. It elected a permanent council of four members and a military leader – it was as powerful as a sovereign state with a capacity to conduct diplomatic, tax, legal and military policies.

The Provincial Assemblies, made up of representatives from towns and villages, met up every three months and chose a permanent council and a military governor.

Its aims

  • Philippe Duplessis-Mornay (1549-1623) © S.H.P.F.
  • Institution of the Eucharist, by Philippe de Mornay © Collection Château de Coppet

The Union’s aim was. not to break away from the kingdom and establish an independent state. On the contrary, there was a clear affirmation of loyalty to royal institutions, even if the followers of a moderate monarchy regime considered that certain royal decisions were unacceptable  and there was increasing misunderstanding between the leaders of the Huguenot State and the local representatives of the royal administration. The Union’s only aim was ‘to give glory to God to bring about Christ’s kingdom, to serve the Crown and strive for its wellbeing, to achieve peace for all in this kingdom’ However, the conditions which Protestants had to accept at the time, amid constant threats from the Catholics in power, did not always mean that the Union by its aims; also the General Assembly evolved, both in the social and geographical level of its representatives, so that it became an ideal implement in the hands of Henry of Navarre when he was calculating how to seize power.

How the Huguenot State evolved

When the State first began, the federal deputies came from regions where there were the most Protestants and from the Languedoc in particular. There were many militant Protestants at the Assembly in Millau. Later, this situation changed, however, and from 1581 onwards the provinces of the South sent many deputies; by 1585 at the Assembly in Montauban, most of the deputies came from the West. In fact it was those regions influenced by Henry of Navarre who had the most power in the Assembly.

It was not only the geographical situation which changed – the social level of the deputies of the Federal Authorities also evolved. In 1573, there were only a few aristocrats but in following assemblies this was no longer the case and the monarchists became the most powerful group.

The governing provincial body remained the same as at the beginning; composed of lawyers, squires and pastors.

The Protector took complete control of the Huguenot State

  • The security places in 1577 © Musée protestant

In 1577, Henry of Navarre ‘first prince of the blood’, became the Protector of the Huguenot State; he established his power by placing his supporters in the federal authorities. He taxed both Catholics and Protestants alike and decided to reserve a large part of the State budget to the financing of troops defending the Protestant cause. In this way the Huguenot State became a military structure which was much needed when army raids were carried out into Protestant territory by the troops of the king, who sought to impose Catholicism and centralize power.

What the Union of Provinces achieved

  • The league: march in Paris on February, 10, 1593
    The league: march in Paris on February, 10, 1593 © S.H.P.F.
  • Henry III © Collection privée
  • Cérémonie d'abjuration de Henri IV
    Henri IV Abjuration Ceremony © S.H.P.F.

The main achievement of the Union of Provinces was to have created and maintained unity in the South of the kingdom, first against Montmorency-Damville when he decided to support King Henry III and later against the Catholic League in 1588.

When Henry of Navarre became both Protector of the Huguenot State and heir to the French throne after the death of the Duke of Anjou in 1584, there was a convergence of aims for the Huguenot State and its Protector. In fact the Huguenot State became quite naturally part of Henry IV’s increasingly centralising governing policy.

The Union of Provinces maintained a lasting administrative and judicial authority in the South of the kingdom. It enabled Henry IV to take power quickly and establish order because it was indeed already part of his kingdom. To quote Janine Garrisson,  the question is “whether this strange country had ever been anything other than a purely fictional existence on paper”.

One can agree with this view and consider that it had never been much more than the preparation for the conquest of France by Henry of Navarre. It was not a state – there are no visible signs of its existence, but a true Union of Provinces which was instrumental in Henry of Navarre’s conquest of France both before and after he came to the French throne.

Bibliography

  • Documents
    • FRIES Daniel, Les huit guerres de religion | File
  • Books
    • GARRISSON Janine, Les protestants au XVIe siècle, Fayard, Paris, 1988
    • GARRISSON Janine, Protestants du Midi, 1559-1598, Privat, Toulouse, rééd. 1991

Associated notes

Random notes

L’Union des provinces ou l’État huguenot (1573-1598)

En réaction à la Saint-Barthélemy en 1572, les protestants du sud de la France se rassemblent et fondent en 1573 une communauté administrative qu’ils ont appelée l’Union des provinces dans le but de vivre avec leur foi protestante dans la paix civile et religieuse. Elle est devenue l’instrument militaire et politique de son dernier protecteur, Henri de Navarre.

Un État huguenot en réponse aux excès de la monarchie

  • Henri 1er de Bourbon, Prince de Condé (1552-1588)
    Henri 1er de Bourbon, Prince de Condé (1552-1588) © S.H.P.F.
  • Henri III de Navarre et Marguerite de Valois
    Henri III de Navarre et Marguerite de Valois © Collection privée
  • Saint Barthélemy
    Saint Barthélemy © S.H.P.F.

À la suite de l’édit de Saint-Germain de 1570, qui accorde quelques libertés aux protestants et quatre places de sûreté, une apparence de paix et de calme règne en France. Les partis semblent cohabiter tranquillement, jusqu’à la Saint-Barthélemy, en 1572, qui relance le conflit, et provoque l’exil de nombreux protestants hors de France.

Tous ne quittent pas le royaume, certains se regroupent dans une communauté, une sorte d’État huguenot, appelé aussi ensuite, sur l’exemple des Hollandais, les Provinces-Unies du Midi. Faux rapprochement car il ne s’agit pas d’un État libre, affranchi de la domination d’un autre État souverain.

Il s’agit d’une structure de communautés locales fondée à Millau en février 1573. Chaque province jouit d’une certaine autonomie ; ses protecteurs, élus par l’assemblée générale sont : Henri de Condé, jusqu’en 1574, puis Henri de Montmorency-Damville, jusqu’à son ralliement au roi Henri III en 1577, et enfin Henri de Navarre.

Organisation

  • Les places de sûreté en 1570
    Les places de sûreté en 1570 © Musée protestant

L’Union rassemble les provinces du Poitou, du Languedoc, de la Provence, du Dauphiné et du Massif Central. Elle est à connotation urbaine, voire populaire, avec pour objectif la paix quotidienne et la coexistence religieuse.

Au sommet, l’assemblée générale qui réunit tous les six mois les députés des assemblées provinciales. Cette assemblée élit un conseil permanent de quatre membres et un chef militaire. Elle possède les pouvoirs d’un État souverain : diplomatie, taxes, pouvoir législatif et militaire.

Les assemblées provinciales, formées par les représentants des villes et des villages se réunissent tous les trois mois et nomment un conseil permanent et un gouverneur militaire.

Les objectifs

  • Philippe Duplessis-Mornay (1549-1623)
    Philippe Duplessis-Mornay (1549-1623) © S.H.P.F.
  • Institution de l'Eucharistie de Philippe de Mornay
    Institution de l'Eucharistie de Philippe de Mornay © Collection Château de Coppet

La constitution de l’Union n’a pas ouvertement pour objectif de constituer un État indépendant, et de faire sécession. Au contraire, la fidélité aux institutions du royaume est affirmée, même si les monarchomaques jugent les décisions royales inacceptables, et ce d’autant plus qu’il y a une confusion de plus en plus grande entre les dirigeants de l’État huguenot et les notables locaux de l’administration royale.  L’Union n’a d’autre but avoué que « la gloire de Dieu, l’avancement du règne du Christ, le bien et le service de cette couronne et le commun repos de ce royaume ». Toutefois les réalités de l’époque et les menaces catholiques ne permettent pas une vision aussi angélique et, du fait de l’évolution de l’origine géographique et sociale des représentants à l’assemblée générale, l’État huguenot devient un instrument de la prise du pouvoir par Henri de Navarre.

L’évolution de l’État huguenot

A la création de l’État, les députations aux instances fédérales proviennent des régions où le protestantisme est le plus vigoureux, Languedoc en particulier. À l’assemblée de Millau, le protestantisme militant prévaut. Par la suite l’origine géographique des représentants est plus variée puis, dès 1581, les provinces du Sud sont beaucoup plus largement représentées et, en 1588, l’Ouest est majoritaire à l’assemblée de Montauban. Le rapport des forces se fait au profit des régions sous la domination d’Henri de Navarre.

Cette évolution géographique de la députation est renforcée par l’évolution sociologique des députés au sein des instances fédérales. Si, en 1573, quelques roturiers siègent, ce n’est plus le cas dès les assises suivantes. Le clan monarchiste s’empare du pouvoir.

Les gens de l’exécutif provincial appartiennent aux mêmes milieux. Les assemblées sont composées de robins, de hobereaux et de pasteurs.

La mainmise du protecteur sur l’État huguenot

  • Les places de sûreté en 1577
    Les places de sûreté en 1577 © Musée protestant

Dès 1577, Henri de Navarre, premier prince du sang, devient le protecteur de l’État huguenot, il en prend le contrôle en peuplant les instances fédérales de ses obligés. Il lève les impôts sur les catholiques comme sur les protestants et affecte une large part du budget de l’État au financement des troupes défendant la cause protestante. C’est ainsi que l’État huguenot devient une machine de guerre contre les incursions armées du pouvoir royal, catholique et centralisateur dans les terres protestantes.

Les réalisations de l’Union des provinces

  • La Ligue : procession à Paris le 10 février 1593
    La Ligue : procession à Paris le 10 février 1593 © S.H.P.F.
  • Henri III © Collection privée
  • Cérémonie d'abjuration de Henri IV
    Cérémonie d'abjuration de Henri IV © S.H.P.F.

Le succès majeur de l’Union des provinces est d’avoir réalisé et maintenu l’unité du sud du royaume d’abord contre Montmorency-Damville après son ralliement au roi Henri III, puis contre l’offensive de la Ligue dès 1588.

Il est évident que, dès lors que Henri de Navarre était à la fois le protecteur de l’État huguenot et l’héritier du trône de France, dès 1584 à la mort du duc d’Anjou, les objectifs de l’État huguenot et de son protecteur n’ont pu que converger. L’État huguenot s’est intégré sans heurts dans la France de plus en plus centralisatrice d’Henri IV.

L’existence de l’Union des provinces a assuré une continuité administrative et judiciaire dans le sud du royaume. Il a permis une restauration rapide de l’ordre royal sous Henri IV parce qu’il est resté une composante du royaume. Et en citant Janine Garrisson, on peut se demander :

« Cet étrange pays a-t-il vécu une réalité autre qu’une existence de papier ? »

On peut être d’accord et considérer qu’il n’a été que le début de la conquête du royaume de France par Henri de Navarre. Non pas un État — il n’y a pas de traces de son existence — mais une véritable Union de provinces au service de la conquête de la France par Henri de Navarre avant et après son accession au trône de France.

Bibliographie

  • Documents
    • FRIES Daniel, Les huit guerres de religion | Fichier
  • Livres
    • GARRISSON Janine, Les protestants au XVIe siècle, Fayard, Paris, 1988
    • GARRISSON Janine, Protestants du Midi, 1559-1598, Privat, Toulouse, rééd. 1991

Notices associées

Parcours associés

Au hasard des notices