Protestant Strongholds

In a predominantly Catholic France torn apart by the Wars of Religion (1562-1598), the Protestants were granted strongholds to ensure their security. The creation of these ‘strongholds’ enabled the organisation of the political and military power of the Huguenot community. Their geographical position generally matched that of the Reformed Churches, namely the West and South-West of France, Languedoc, and also Dauphiné.

The Edict of Saint-Germain (1570) created strongholds

  • The security places in 1570 © Musée protestant

For the first time the Huguenots obtained ‘strongholds’. The Edict of Saint-Germain at the end of the third War of Religion (1568-1570) granted them four strong towns for two years, namely La Charité-sur-Loire, La Rochelle, Cognac and Montauban.

The legal invention recognised by statute was a compromise of the king to ensure confessional co-existence – in peaceful times the Protestants were allowed to keep a few military strongholds to be used as refuge, if need be.

The Edicts of Beaulieu (1576) and Poitiers (1577)

  • The security places in 1577 © Musée protestant

In 1576 as the fifth War of Religion ended, the Edict of Beaulieu used the idea of strongholds, granting the Protestants eight strong towns for an unlimited duration, namely Issoire, Périgueux, Serres, Nyons, Seyne, Beaucaire, Mas-Grenier (once called Mas-de-Verdun) and Aigues-Mortes.

At the end of the sixth War of Religion, the Edict of Poitiers (1577) granted seven more strongholds for six years, namely La Réole, Serres, Nyons, Seyne, Mas-Grenier, Montpellier and Aigues-Mortes.

The Treaty of Nérac (1579)

  • The security places in 1579 © Musée Virtuel du Protestantisme

After the sixth War of Religion the Treaty of Nérac was signed in February 1579 in peaceful times. It confirmed the Edict of Poitiers granting the Protestants a total of fourteen strongholds for six or seven months, as applicable. But when the time was up the Huguenot community refused to give them back, considering those places no longer as refuge, but as an armed force to oppose the Catholic forces.

The treaty of Fleix at the end of the seventh War of Religion in November 1580, confirmed that of Nérac.

The Edict of Nantes (1598)

  • Saumur, the castle (49) © V.M.F.

In 1598, the second secret letter supplementing the Edict of Nantes, which marked the end of the eighth War of Religion, allowed the Protestants to keep all the places, towns and castles they possessed in 1597. The Protestants then had 150 locations for refuge. It was the apex of the stronghold system – granting strongholds seemed the condition to accept the Edict of Nantes and peaceful coexistence.

There were different categories of places depending on the governor’s appointing methods, the men’s enrolment and the means of financing:

  •  Strongholds as such were towns where the garrison was financed by the king, who also had the power to appoint the governor;
  •  The so-called ‘marriage’ places, generally smaller, were appended to strongholds;
  • the so-called ‘particular’ places were either towns without a Royal garrison and managed by a local council or by Huguenot lords, or places and castles held by Reformed lords.

Strongholds were mostly fortified towns or with a castle, such as Montauban, Nîmes, La Rochelle or Saumur. They could also be mere fortified manor houses used a refuge for the nearby population.

The future of strongholds

In 1598, the places were granted for eight years but were regularly renewed by Henri IV and Louis XIII until 1620, as requested by the Huguenot party reckoning the situation was still not safe enough to relinquish its own military power.

But as the threat of Wars of Religion moved away, justifying strongholds was less obvious. They were then considered by the Royal power as a ‘State within the State’, and the reinforced power of the sovereign and of his justice enabled to disarm the subjects.

In two phases, first with military campaigns in 1620-1622 and then in 1627-1629 when Louis XIII overtook all the Protestant military positions, as the Edict of peace of Alès in 1629 ordered the destruction of the walls of the last strong towns and castles still held by Protestant garrisons.

Bibliography

  • Sites
    • Les édits de pacification | Link
    • SOURIAC Pierre-Jean, Une solution armée de coexistence. Les places de sûreté protestantes comme élément de pacification des guerres de Religion | Link
  • Books
    • CHRISTIN Olivier, La Paix de religion : l’autonomisation de la raison politique au XVIe siècle, Le Seuil, Paris, 1997
    • GARRISSON Janine, L’édit de Nantes, chronique d’une paix attendue, Fayard, Paris, 1998
    • Réunion des Musées Nationaux, L’édit de Nantes. Catalogue de l’exposition sur l’édit de Nantes des châteaux de Nantes et de Pau, 1998
  • Articles
    • GUICHARNAUD Robert et LACAVA Marie-José, "L’édit de Nantes. Sûreté et éducation", Actes du Colloque de Montauban (14-17 octobre 1998), Montauban, 1999

Associated notes

Associated tours

Les Places de sûreté protestantes

Dans une France majoritairement catholique et déchirée par les guerres de religion (1562-1598), les protestants obtiennent des places fortes pour garantir leur sécurité. La création de ces « places de sûreté » permet l’organisation du pouvoir politique et militaire de la communauté huguenote. Leur implantation géographique correspond, pour l’essentiel, à celle des Églises réformées, c’est-à-dire l’Ouest et le Sud-Ouest de la France, Languedoc et Dauphiné.

L’Édit de Saint-Germain (1570) invente les places de sûreté

  • Les places de sûreté en 1570
    Les places de sûreté en 1570 © Musée protestant

C’est en 1570 que, pour la première fois, les huguenots obtiennent des « places de sûreté ». L’Édit de Saint-Germain, qui clôt la 3e guerre de religion (1568-1570), leur accorde, pour une durée de deux ans, quatre villes fortes : La Charité-sur-Loire, La Rochelle, Cognac et Montauban.

Cette invention juridique, au statut reconnu par la loi, est une concession faite par le roi pour assurer la coexistence confessionnelle : les protestants sont autorisés à conserver, en temps de paix, quelques places fortes militaires pouvant servir de lieux de refuge.

Les Édits de Beaulieu (1576) et de Poitiers (1577)

  • Les places de sûreté en 1577
    Les places de sûreté en 1577 © Musée protestant

En 1576, à la fin de la 5e guerre de religion, l’Édit de Beaulieu reprend l’idée des places de sûreté ; il octroie aux protestants huit villes fortes, sans précision de durée : Issoire, Périgueux, Serres, Nyons, Seyne, Beaucaire, Mas-Grenier (autrefois appelé Mas-de-Verdun) et Aigues-Mortes.

A l’issue de la 6e guerre, l’Édit de Poitiers (1577) accorde de même sept places de sûreté, pour une durée de six ans : La Réole, Serres, Nyons, Seyne, Mas-Grenier, Montpellier et Aigues-Mortes.

Le Traité de Nérac (1579)

  • Les places de sûreté en 1579
    Les places de sûreté en 1579 © Musée Virtuel du Protestantisme

Le traité de Nérac, signé en février 1579 en temps de paix, après la 6e guerre, confirme l’Édit de Poitiers en donnant aux protestants au total quatorze places de sûreté, pour une durée de six ou sept mois selon les cas. Mais une fois l’échéance terminée, la communauté huguenote refuse de rendre les places : elle considère désormais les places non plus seulement comme des refuges, mais comme une force armée d’opposition aux forces catholiques.

Le traité de Fleix, qui met fin à la 7e guerre en novembre 1580, confirme celui de Nérac.

L’Édit de Nantes (1598)

  • Château de Saumur (49)
    Château de Saumur (49) © V.M.F.

En 1598, dans le deuxième brevet secret annexé à l’Édit de Nantes qui marque la fin de la 8e et dernière guerre, le roi autorise les protestants à conserver, pendant une durée de huit ans, toutes les places, villes et châteaux qu’ils tenaient à l’été 1597. Les protestants disposent alors de 150 lieux de refuge. C’est l’apogée du système des places de sûreté : l’octroi des places apparaît comme la condition de l’acceptation de l’Édit de Nantes et de la coexistence pacifique.

Plusieurs catégories de places peuvent être distinguées, en fonction du mode de nomination du gouverneur, du recrutement des hommes, des moyens de financement :

  •  les « places de sûreté » proprement dites, sont de villes où la garnison est prise en charge financièrement par le roi, qui a également le pouvoir de nommer le gouverneur ;
  • les places dites « de mariage », généralement plus petites, sont des annexes des places de sûreté ;
  • les places dites « particulières », sont soit des villes sans garnison royale, administrées par une municipalité ou par des grands seigneurs huguenots, soit des places et châteaux tenus par des seigneurs réformés.

Si les places de sûreté sont, pour la plupart, des villes fortifiées ou équipées de châteaux, comme Montauban, Nîmes, La Rochelle ou Saumur, elles peuvent aussi prendre la forme de simples maisons-fortes servant de refuge aux populations des alentours.

Le devenir des places de sûreté

Prévue en 1598 pour huit ans, la concession des places est régulièrement renouvelée par Henri IV et par Louis XIII jusqu’en 1620, à la demande du parti huguenot qui estime que la situation n’est pas encore assez pacifiée pour qu’il abandonne sa puissance militaire propre.

Mais avec l’éloignement du spectre des guerres de religion, la justification des places de sûreté se fait moins évidente, et elles sont désormais considérées par le pouvoir royal comme un « État dans l’État » ; le renforcement du pouvoir du souverain et de sa justice permet le désarmement de ses sujets.

En deux temps, par les campagnes militaires de 1620-1622 puis de 1627-1629, Louis XIII abat l’ensemble des positions militaires protestantes : l’Édit de grâce d’Alès de 1629 ordonne la démolition des murailles des dernières places fortes et châteaux encore tenus par des garnisons protestantes.

Bibliographie

  • Sites
    • Les édits de pacification | Lien
    • SOURIAC Pierre-Jean, Une solution armée de coexistence. Les places de sûreté protestantes comme élément de pacification des guerres de Religion | Lien
  • Livres
    • CHRISTIN Olivier, La Paix de religion : l’autonomisation de la raison politique au XVIe siècle, Le Seuil, Paris, 1997
    • GARRISSON Janine, L’édit de Nantes, chronique d’une paix attendue, Fayard, Paris, 1998
    • Réunion des Musées Nationaux, L’édit de Nantes. Catalogue de l’exposition sur l’édit de Nantes des châteaux de Nantes et de Pau, 1998
  • Articles
    • GUICHARNAUD Robert et LACAVA Marie-José, « L’édit de Nantes. Sûreté et éducation », Actes du Colloque de Montauban (14-17 octobre 1998), Montauban, 1999

Notices associées

Parcours associés

Au hasard des notices