Protestant intellectuals
in the Great War

At the beginning of the war Protestant intellectuals shared pacifist values. They struggled with political and religious issues raised by World War I, and had to change their understanding of the Great War.

A pacifist group

  • Charles Gide (1847-1932)
    Charles Gide (1847-1932) © Collection Privée

In the early 20th century, the main characteristic of Protestant intellectuals was their commitment to moderate or radical pacifism. They were opposed to war with the German people with whom they shared the same Protestant faith. The commandment ‘Thou shalt not kill’ assumed its full meaning for the intellectuals.

But French Protestant intellectuals were in a duality between being opposed to German militarism, which legitimized the war, and sharing common religious beliefs with the enemy.

God’s law or the Nation’s law?

  • Soldat lisant dans une tranchée (1915)
    Soldier reading in a trench (1915) © Collection privée

Unable to choose either patriotism or religion, intellectuals decided to take part in the war effort, on the front line or behind, while preserving their religious integrity. All followed ‘their own conscience’.

Charles Gide (1847-1932), a university professor of political economy was too old to be mobilized in 1914, but both his sons served. Paul, the elder, died for France in 1915 and Edouard, the younger, was severely wounded. In C. Gides’s view, each individual had to find his spiritual path while remaining a patriot, and still be coherent with his personal values.

Jules Puech (1873-1957), Doctor of law and assistant editorial secretary of the magazine La Paix par le droit (Peace through right), voluntarily enlisted in the infantry in 1915. According to him, the absence of God combined with the waning of patriotism induced stronger bonds between men.

André Chamson’s 1925 book Roux le bandit (Roux the bandit) portrays ‘a highlander who refuses the Common Law to follow what is for him the Divine Law’. For Roux the law should follow a religious ideals which is are above those of the country, the priority, however for most intellectuals was to maintain personal integrity.

Identifying with the others

Understanding, acting, sharing the same war effort as the people was paramount for some intellectuals. Indeed, for them talking about the war without having experienced it was inconceivable. Jules Puech and Jean Norton Cru (1879-1949) had personal experience of it. Having fought for the French Nation, they had other views and other thoughts than their comrades who had stayed in Paris. Both had felt useful in the effort, even though they were not the best of comrades they had provided ; help and support by writing to their loved ones, asking the officers for information … J.N. Cru talked about ‘empathy’ for his comrades. So that each could remain true, the fundamental value was respect.

Like Jean Norton, Jules Puech reminded people of the importance of disclosing the life stories of such different men united in the trench war.

The evolution in the notion of warfare

  • Le Semeur - extrait (1918)
    Le Semeur – extract (1918) © Collection privée

Upon the call to the front in 1914, men were mobilized to defeat militarist Germany. Each started with his ‘share of hatred for the enemy’, but ended with a totally different vision.

The militarized German nation, who was held responsible for the war, no longer seemed the only trigger of the conflict. The very notion of patriotism was questioned, which had never been the case before. For instance, Jules Puech mentioned the nonsense of the war launched by ‘4 or 5 idiots or bandits who made millions of men lose at least one year of their lives, but and sometimes even their lives’.

Peace and victory, as soon as possible, were longed for even though intellectuals were aware that the victory ideal was complex, because propaganda never mirrored the reality of war. Men were out of breath, physically as well as psychologically, and the cause defended by their country no longer satisfied them. Living with ‘mobilization, cruelty and patriotism’ made them understand they had been ‘mislead’.

War changes men, and men change war through their constant personal questionning, but mainly through their actions.

Author: Éloïse Bosq et Océane Guével

Bibliography

  • Books
    • PUECH Marie-Louise et Jules , Saleté de guerre ! Correspondance 1915-1916, Ampelos, 2015
  • Articles
    • CABANEL Patrick, "André Chamson : Roux le bandit, la paix et la guerre", Bulletin, Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, Tome 160, p. 507-521
    • CAZALS Rémy, "Faire la guerre pour établir la Paix par le Droit : Jules Puech (1915-1916)", Bulletin, Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, Tome 160, p. 399-415
    • FABRE Rémi, "Charles Gide et la Première Guerre mondiale", Bulletin, Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, Tome 160, p. 417-445
    • LESTRINGANT Frank, "André Gide et la Grande Guerre", Bulletin, Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, Tome 160, p. 447-471
    • ROUSSEAU Frédéric, "Jean Norton Cru, ancien combattant et premier archiviste des tranchées", Bulletin, Société de l'histoire du protestantisme français, Paris, 2014, Tome 160, p. 491-505

Associated tours

Random notes

Les intellectuels protestants face à la Grande Guerre

Au commencement de la guerre, les intellectuels protestants partagent des valeurs pacifistes. Tourmentés par les questions politiques et religieuses que soulève la Première Guerre Mondiale, ils sont amenés à une nouvelle perception de la Grande Guerre.

Un groupe pacifiste

  • Charles Gide (1847-1932)
    Charles Gide (1847-1932) © Collection Privée

La caractéristique principale des intellectuels protestants, au début du XXe siècle, est leur attachement à un pacifisme modéré ou radical. Ils s’opposent à l’entrée en guerre contre le peuple allemand, avec lequel ils partagent une même foi protestante. Le commandement « Tu ne tueras point » prend alors tout son sens aux yeux des intellectuels.

Mais les intellectuels protestants français se retrouvent dans une dualité, entre l’opposition au militarisme allemand, qui légitime à leurs yeux la guerre, et un sentiment d’appartenance religieuse commune avec ce peuple ennemi.

La loi de Dieu ou la loi de la Nation ?

  • Soldat lisant dans une tranchée (1915)
    Soldat lisant dans une tranchée (1915) © Collection privée

Dans l’incapacité de choisir entre le patriotisme et la religion, les intellectuels décident de participer à l’effort de guerre, sur le front ou à l’arrière, tout en conservant leur intégrité religieuse. Tous agissent sous « leur propre loi ».

Charles Gide (1847-1932), professeur d’économie politique à l’université, est trop âgé pour être mobilisé en 1914, à la différence des ses deux fils. Son fils aîné, Paul, meurt pour la France en 1915, et son fils cadet, Édouard, revient grièvement blessé. Aux yeux de C. Gide, chacun doit trouver sa marche spirituelle tout en restant patriote, et être en accord avec ses valeurs personnelles.

Jules Puech (1873-1957), docteur en droit et secrétaire adjoint de la rédaction de la revue La Paix par le droit, s’engage volontairement dans l’infanterie en 1915. Pour lui, l’éloignement de Dieu, mis en corrélation avec un sentiment patriote qui s’essouffle, induit un renforcement des liens entre les hommes.

Le roman publié par André Chamson en 1925 et intitulé Roux le bandit met en scène « un montagnard qui se refuse à la Loi commune pour suivre ce qui, pour lui, est la Loi divine ». Pour Roux, la loi doit être celle d’une démarche religieuse qui l’emporte sur la loi du pays, néanmoins la finalité pour l’ensemble des intellectuels est de préserver une relation d’union forte.

S’identifier aux autres

Comprendre, agir, ressentir le même effort de guerre que le peuple est primordial aux yeux de certains intellectuels. De même, pour eux, parler de la guerre sans l’avoir vécue est inimaginable. Jules Puech et Jean Norton Cru (1879-1949) en savent quelque chose. Combattants de la Nation française, ils en ressortent avec une autre expérience et une autre pensée que leurs homologues restés à Paris. Se sentir utile, motivé dans l’effort avec ses camarades, même si on n’est pas le meilleur ; apporter soutien et aide à ses camarades (comme écrire aux proches, ou demander des informations auprès des supérieurs)… J. N. Cru parlera « d’empathie » envers ses camarades dans l’effort. Pour que chacun puisse tenir, la valeur fondamentale est le respect.

Jules Puech comme Jean Norton Cru rappellent l’importance de communiquer l’histoire vécue par ces hommes tellement différents mais unis par la guerre des tranchées.

L’évolution des conceptions de la guerre

  • Le Semeur - extrait (1918)
    Le Semeur – extrait (1918) © Collection privée

Dès l’appel au front en 1914, les hommes sont mobilisés dans l’idée de vaincre l’Allemagne militariste. Chacun part avec sa « haine pour l’ennemi », mais en ressort avec une toute autre vision.

La nation allemande militarisée, dont on était sûr qu’elle avait causé la guerre, ne semble plus être la seule fautive du déclenchement du conflit. On s’interroge sur la notion de patriotisme, qui n’avait jamais subi une telle remise en question. Jules Puech évoque par exemple l’absurdité d’une guerre à cause de « 4 ou 5 couples d’idiots et de bandits qui font perdre un an de leur existence à des millions d’hommes, quand ils ne leur font pas perdre la vie. »

On souhaite la victoire et la paix, le plus tôt possible, toutefois les intellectuels se rendent compte que l’idéal de victoire est complexe, car la propagande ne reflète en rien la réalité de la guerre. Les hommes sont à bout de souffle, autant sur le plan physique que psychologique, et la cause défendue par leur pays ne les satisfait plus. Vivre dans la « mobilisation, la cruauté et le patriotisme » leur fait comprendre qu’on les a « dupés ».

La guerre change les hommes, et les hommes changent la guerre par leurs constantes réflexions personnelles, mais surtout par leurs actions.

Auteur : Éloïse Bosq et Océane Guével

Bibliographie

  • Livres
    • PUECH Marie-Louise et Jules , Saleté de guerre ! Correspondance 1915-1916, Ampelos, 2015
  • Articles
    • CABANEL Patrick, « André Chamson : Roux le bandit, la paix et la guerre », Bulletin, Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, Tome 160, p. 507-521
    • CAZALS Rémy, « Faire la guerre pour établir la Paix par le Droit : Jules Puech (1915-1916) », Bulletin, Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, Tome 160, p. 399-415
    • FABRE Rémi, « Charles Gide et la Première Guerre mondiale », Bulletin, Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, Tome 160, p. 417-445
    • LESTRINGANT Frank, « André Gide et la Grande Guerre », Bulletin, Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, Tome 160, p. 447-471
    • ROUSSEAU Frédéric, « Jean Norton Cru, ancien combattant et premier archiviste des tranchées », Bulletin, Société de l'histoire du protestantisme français, Paris, 2014, Tome 160, p. 491-505

Parcours associés

Au hasard des notices