Protestant women during the Great War

In 1915, General Joffre declared ‘We would lose the war if women stopped working for twenty minutes every day.’ During World War I women at the rear contributed to the war effort in their own way. They took part depending on their specific geographical, professional and confessional positions. Many pastors’ wives were mobilized to contribute to the war effort while their husbands were away.

Women acting as pastors

  • Foyer du soldat sur le front
    Shelter for soldiers on the front © DEFAP (Service protestant de mission)

Like all French citizens pastors could not avoid general mobilization. They had to leave their parishes and no longer performed religious services for their communities. That is why some delegated tasks to their spouses. On 3 December, 1914, the National Union of French Evangelical Reformed Churches sent a letter to all pastors’ wives, asking them to perform their husbands’ duties. Thus, the mobilization of pastors’ wives in war times resulted from the will not only of individuals but of religious authorities too.

In the absence of the pastors, their wives were also responsible for ‘visiting members of the community, caring for the sick, managing Sunday school, maintaining places of worship and seeing that the registers were properly kept  […] and promoting order, unity and life’ within the Protestant community. But traditionally, pastors already assigned such tasks to their wives.

Some of them, however, assumed individual initiatives to maintain a well-functioning parish. They bravely ministered worshiping, performing baptisms or weddings or funerals, or even collecting contributions. Their freedom of action was still limited because some religious duties could be performed by men only, such as celebrating Holy Communion.

The role of pastors’ wives during the war was significant, even more so as it was not restricted to fulfilling the duties of their mobilized spouses. In late 1916 Marguerite de Witt-Schlumberger, a housewife, even admitted ‘The burden is sometimes heavy because we have to meet every need of the family and of the Church, inside and outside…’, in reply to an extensive enquiry by Protestant newspapers.

Marguerite de Witt-Schlumberger, a Protestant activist

  • Marguerite de Witt-Schlumberger (1853-1924) © Wikimedia Commons

Beside pastors’ wives, other Protestant women played an outstanding part during the war, namely Marguerite de Witt-Schlumberger (1853-1924), who acted on the political scene and spoke out.

She was a young Protestant woman who left her home region Normandy in 1876 to join her husband in Alsace, then a German province. She raised six children who successively left Alsace before the war. Later on, she and her husband went back to Normandy where she started several militant activities when the war broke out.

Firstly, she founded an association to help refugees and evacuees from Alsace-Lorraine. Being married to an Alsatian she was shocked by the fact that Belgians and the inhabitants of Northern regions were granted refugees status in allied countries, whereas Alsatian-Lorraines were not because their province was under German rule…Marguerite protested and advocated their fate and finally won their case.

Secondly, and most significantly she opened shelters for soldiers on leave: ‘friendly places without alcohol and within a neutral confessional and political atmosphere.’ The aim was notably to fight the devastating effects of alcoholism among soldiers. She decided to take one more step in appealing for the State’s attention on the problem. She expanded her efforts until the end of the war.

In short, the role of Protestant women during the war did not directly affect the status of women in the French society. Though women had experienced a kind of freedom while their husbands were away, at the end of the war they resumed their former role returning to a statu quo ante. Some women however did not wish to go back after their wartime independence. They confronted their husbands and made radical decisions, namely to divorce them. The contribution of women to the war effort between 1914 and 1918 was not rewarded in proportion to their investments. They would have to wait until the end of WWII to have their rights take ‘a significant quantum leap forward’, they were granted the right to vote in 1944, after it was repeatedly refused by the Senate in the 1920s and 1930s.

Author: Margaux Colombel, Mylena Boudehane et Naomi Rosa

Bibliography

  • Books
    • BLOCHER-SAILLENS Madeleine , Une femme dans la Grande Guerre, Ampelos, 2014
  • Articles
    • CADIER-REY Gabrielle, "Les femmes de pasteur pendant la Première Guerre mondiale", Bulletin, Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, p. 123-139
    • COSTE Catherine, "Marguerite de Witt-Schlumberger : une femme au service des victimes de guerre", Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, p. 473-489

Associated tours

Random notes

Les femmes protestantes dans la Grande Guerre

« Si les femmes arrêtaient de travailler vingt minutes par jour, nous perdrions la guerre », déclare le Général Joffre en 1915. Pendant la Première Guerre Mondiale, les femmes, à l’arrière, contribuent à leur manière à l’effort de guerre. Leurs participations varient en fonction de la situation géographique, professionnelle, personnelle et confessionnelle, propre à chacune. Par exemple, de nombreuses femmes de pasteurs se sont mobilisées pour participer à l’effort de guerre en l’absence de leur époux.

Des femmes faisant office de pasteurs

  • Foyer du soldat sur le front
    Foyer du soldat sur le front © DEFAP (Service protestant de mission)

Comme tous les citoyens français, les pasteurs n’échappent pas à la mobilisation générale. Contraints d’abandonner leur ministère paroissial, ils ne sont plus en mesure d’assurer le service religieux de leur communauté. C’est pourquoi ils délèguent certaines tâches à leur épouse. Le 3 décembre 1914, l’Union Nationale des Églises réformées évangéliques de France adresse une missive à toutes les femmes de pasteurs, leur demandant de s’acquitter des missions incombant à leur mari. Ainsi, la mobilisation des femmes de pasteurs pendant la guerre résulte d’une volonté qui émane non seulement des individus, mais aussi des autorités religieuses.

En l’absence des pasteurs, leurs femmes sont chargées de « visiter les membres de la communauté, de s’occuper des malades, des écoles du Dimanche et du Jeudi, de veiller à la bonne tenue des lieux de culte et des registres […] et favoriser l’ordre, l’union et la vie » au sein de la communauté protestante. Mais il s’agit là des missions déjà traditionnellement déléguées par les pasteurs à leur femme.

Néanmoins, certaines d’entre elles prennent des initiatives personnelles pour maintenir le bon fonctionnement de la paroisse. Elles assurent courageusement le ministère du culte, en procédant aux baptêmes, mariages ou inhumations des fidèles, ainsi qu’à la perception des cotisations. Leur liberté d’action reste toutefois limitée car certaines prérogatives religieuses demeurent exclusivement réservées au sexe masculin, comme donner la Sainte Cène.

Le rôle des femmes de pasteurs pendant la Grande Guerre a donc été considérable, d’autant plus qu’il ne se limitait pas à remplir les missions de leurs époux mobilisés. « La tâche est quelque fois lourde car il faut tout concilier, la famille et l’Église, le dedans et le dehors…», avoue à la fin de l’année 1916 une mère de famille à Marguerite de Witt-Schlumberger, à l’occasion d’une vaste enquête sociologique réalisée par des journaux protestants.

 

Marguerite de Witt-Schlumberger, une femme protestante et militante

  • Marguerite de Witt-Schlumberger (1853-1924) © Wikimedia Commons

Hormis les femmes de pasteurs, d’autres femmes protestantes ont joué un rôle remarquable pendant la guerre, comme Marguerite de Witt-Schlumberger (1853-1924), qui intervient sur la scène politique et fait entendre sa voix.

Jeune femme protestante, elle quitte sa Normandie natale en 1876 pour rejoindre son mari en Alsace, alors province allemande. Ils élèvent six enfants qui quittent l’Alsace progressivement avant la guerre. Par la suite, elle et son mari retournent en Normandie où, lorsque la guerre éclate, elle entreprend plusieurs actions militantes.

La première consiste à fonder une association qui vient en aide aux réfugiés et évacués alsaciens-lorrains. En effet, Marguerite, alsacienne par alliance, trouve scandaleux que les Belges et les habitants du Nord de la France bénéficient du statut de réfugiés dans les pays alliés alors que les Alsaciens-Lorrains n’ont pas ce droit car ils sont résidents d’une province allemande… Marguerite proteste, milite et obtient gain de cause.

Son second combat, le plus important, consiste à ouvrir des foyers pour l’accueil des soldats en permission : « Un lieu de détente, convivial, sans alcool dans une ambiance de neutralité confessionnelle et politique ». L’objectif de ces foyers est notamment de lutter contre les ravages de l’alcoolisme chez les soldats. Elle décide d’aller plus loin et mobilise l’État autour de cette question. Elle multiplie ses actions jusqu’à la fin de la guerre.

En définitive, le rôle des protestantes pendant la guerre n’a pas eu d’impact immédiat sur la place de la femme dans la société française. Bien que les femmes aient expérimenté une forme de liberté en l’absence de leurs époux, la fin de la guerre marque en effet un retour général au statu quo ante, et la femme reprend son rôle traditionnel. Cependant, certaines femmes, après avoir goûté à l’indépendance pendant la guerre, ne souhaitent plus revenir en arrière. En conflit avec leur époux, elles optent pour une solution radicale : le divorce. La contribution des femmes à l’effort de guerre entre 1914 et 1918 n’est pas récompensée proportionnellement à l’investissement fourni. Il faut attendre l’issue du second conflit mondial pour que les droits des femmes fassent un « réel bond en avant » : le droit de vote, refusé à plusieurs reprises par le Sénat au cours des années 1920 et 1930, leur est finalement accordé en 1944.

Auteur : Margaux Colombel, Mylena Boudehane et Naomi Rosa

Bibliographie

  • Livres
    • BLOCHER-SAILLENS Madeleine , Une femme dans la Grande Guerre, Ampelos, 2014
  • Articles
    • CADIER-REY Gabrielle, « Les femmes de pasteur pendant la Première Guerre mondiale », Bulletin, Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, p. 123-139
    • COSTE Catherine, « Marguerite de Witt-Schlumberger : une femme au service des victimes de guerre », Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français, Paris, 2014, p. 473-489

Parcours associés

Au hasard des notices