The Huguenot Refuge

The exodus of French Huguenots to Protestant countries to escape persecution was a crucial event in European history. From 1560 to 1760, the diaspora increased to at least 200 000 Huguenots who went into exile to be true to their faith.

The First Refuge

  • Premier Refuge huguenot au XVIe siècle
    The first Huguenot Refuge in the 16th century © Musée Virtuel du Protestantisme

The first wave of departures, called the First Refuge, took place as early as the 16th century. Following the first persecutions in 1560, and especially after the St Bartholomew’s Day Massacre, fugitives left the kingdom for Geneva, England or the United Provinces. In the latter they met other refugees, French speaking Flemish who had founded the first Walloon churches. A French diaspora settled there.

Calvin encouraged departures for the sake of religious virtue [«que ceux qui croient de n’avoir pas la force de témoigner de leur foi s’exilent» (let those who believe they do not have the strength to testify to their faith go into exile)]. Theodore de Bèze alluded to «l’universelle proximité du ciel nul n’ayant de cité permanente» (the universal proximity of the heavens as no one has a permanent city).

The Great Refuge

  • Les refuges proches des protestants français après la Révocation
    Nearby refuges of the French Protestants after the Revocation © Musée du Désert

After the Edict of Nantes departures decreased considerably, and some emigrants even came back to France. But each crisis (+the taking of La Rochelle, the dragoon attacks in Poitou in 1861), led to new departures even though a royal edict (in 1669, renewed in1682, extended to “new converts” in 1686) forbade them to “settle in foreign countries”. The number of exiles reached its peak with the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes in 1685, decreased during the war of the League of Augsburg (1688-1697), and increased again after defeat in the Camisard War (1702-1704). Some even left once Louis XIV had died in 1715, as the Regency did not alter the legislation and did not stop repression. To the first three countries of the First Refuge were added Germany, especially the Electorate of Brandenburg (Prussia to be) and that of Hesse-Kassel, which attracted the surfeit of refugees going through Holland, but more importantly through Switzerland and Geneva. Departures to Scandinavian countries and even to Russia were mentioned. There were often stories involving the Cape of Good Hope and New World English colonies.

The second wave was called the Great Refuge: from 1680 to 1715, 180,000 French left their country, the largest migration movement in modern French history.

The exit channels

  • Défense de sortir du royaume sous peine de galères (13 septembre 1699)
    Ban on the right to leave the Kingdom, if not condemned to the galleys (September, 13, 1699) © SHPF
  • Différents moyens de quitter la France, gravure de Jan Luiken
    Different ways of leaving France, an engraving by Jan Luiken © SHPF

Over 100,000 people crossed borders between 1685 and 1987.

A soon as Louis XIV forbade the Reformed to emigrate in 1669, and again after the revocation of the edict, men who were caught were sent to the galleys and women to jail. The exit channels were closely watched.

The sea was easily crossed from the ports of Bordeaux, La Rochelle, Dieppe and Rouen, where rowing boats came and fetched fugitives and took them to English, Dutch or Danish ships anchored offshore. The ships left with a few official passengers, such as pastors, but mostly with clandestine travellers, in terrible conditions down in the holds after they had paid the smugglers handsomely. The attempts often failed because of informers.

Normandy, through Dieppe and Rouen, had the highest number of emigrants with English ports and the Channel Islands being close.

From the South people sometimes went to Bordeaux, and then to England or to the New World. But most of them embarked in Marseilles or Nice for Genoa, and then went on land to Turin and finally to Geneva.

Huguenots from the Dauphiné, Vivarais, Cennes, Languedoc, Provence regions, as well as from French cities in the Piedmont mostly went by land. They went to French-speaking Swiss cantons, the Republic of Geneva, the Principality of Neuchâtel.  Protestants from Burgundy, Champagne, Lorraine went towards Rhineland countries. Journeys came up against natural obstacles, principally the river Rhone with its very few bridges. The Jura region on the way to Lausanne was difficult to cross as Montbéliard was French, and there were few bridges in the Doubs gorges. Surveillance was intense, but “with money you can cross the Rhone anywhere” a boatman testified.

In Lyon, an important passage point, it was easy to blend in the big city, to recruit a more or less dependable smuggler, and to wait for an opportunity. Some foreign traders even came to the fairs to take charge of the fugitives and take them to Lyon. They walked by night, hid during day and were dressed as beggars, peddlers or rosary vendors. They pretended to be sick, mute, or mad. Deaths from exhaustion, hunger or cold were not uncommon. It was a risky business, arrests were frequent and emigrants sent to the galleys, while smugglers could be hanged. Handwritten manuals gave the itineraries and crossing places, sometimes the names of people one could ask for help.

The Northern Border had many hidden traps because of the complex and changing geography of places occupied by French or Dutch garrisons. Those who were caught had to recant to be freed. Travelling on their own or in small groups with relatives, friends or neighbours, men often going ahead to make ready, women and children coming later.

Refugees, especially those of the “second generation”, often found a cousin or a neighbour in European cities. On arriving in a foreign country the Huguenots were bound to go to church and attend  the preaching of the word. Most of them, obliged to recant in France, had to be “reconciled” at the end of a public ceremony and to “acknowledge” their transgression.

Hospitality in the Refuge countries

The shared religion meant hospitality was forthcoming. Everywhere there were great efforts to assist and outpourings of compassion.

Especially in Switzerland, various administrative structures were set up to deal with the immediate needs of the refugees whose material condition was often close to misery – lodging, transport, direct financial help. To collect money, parishes organised lotteries and days of prayer. But the burden was sometimes considered too heavy, and refugees were then asked, or forced, to find shelter elsewhere: Switzerland and Holland, for instance, were transit places and encouraged the refugees to go to Germanic countries, where they were better received.

But social tensions appeared, and contrary to the protestant history of charity, the Refuge was not always a positive affair. Once the first emotion had waned, the burden of emigration became heavier and heavier. Public opinion was not always understanding: fear of competition for merchants and craftsmen, jealousy of tax exemptions for the refugees or even cultural opposition, the Northern Protestants not always appreciating the effusive Southerners.

Number of refugees and hospitable countries

  • Principaux lieux de refuge
    Main places of refuge © Musée du Désert

It is difficult to assess the number of refugees at the end of the 17th century. Fancifully, some estimates suggest up to 2 million. Voltaire reckoned there were 800,000. The Huguenots tended to overestimate, and the Catholics to reduce it by 50,000 or so to decrease the importance of the drain on the country’s productivity. A number between 160,000 and 200,000 is currently accepted and represents 25% of the 800,000 estimated protestant population. The special status of pastors was remembered. They had to choose between conversion and exile, the latter being forbidden to their followers: 80% of pastors went into exile.

Depending on the host countries, the following numbers are likely:

  • Switzerland and Geneva: 60,000 reformed, particularly those from the South, went through Switzerland where they received generous help. The main crossing place was Geneva, where supposedly only 20,000 settled.
  • The United Provinces: the first refuge country because of its easy access, of its secular tradition of liberty, and of hospitality in the Walloon churches. 70,000 were received, but it is difficult to know how many settled, as Amsterdam and Frankfurt were hubs for the Refuge.
  • England: 40,000 to 50,000 Huguenots were received, originating from maritime provinces. The churches founded at the time of the first refuge in the 16th century, persecuted under Mary Tudor, had regained their rights under Elizabeth.
  • Germany: about 40,000 Huguenots definitely settled there, mainly in Calvinist principalities: 20,000 in Brandenburg, where the Great Elector published the Potsdam Edict in 1685, making it particularly attractive; in the Hesse-Kassel region, where the landgrave issued an edict on hospitality and privileges in April 1685; the Palatinate, and the county of Lippe. Later on, under pressure from the refugees, some Lutheran states and cities agreed to receive them:, Bayreuth, Hesse, Darmstadt, Stuttgart, Nuremberg.

Other Huguenots, a small minority settled further away in Protestants States of Northern Europe, and overseas in South Africa or in British colonies in North America.

Returns were very few because Louis XIV was wary of the newly converted likely to cause trouble in France at war. The confiscated properties were added to the Domain, their incomes used to develop Catholicism i.e. schools, churches, hospitals. But the results were disappointing because properties were either sold before the people left, or they were fictitious sales to relatives or trusted friends, who were supposed to forward the revenues to the immigrants. Lawsuits were innumerable, management an administrative conundrum, and the overall profits from the dispossessions were insignificant.

The consequences for host countries

The refuge was a momentous event in European history that transformed Europe at the end of the 17th century and all through the 18th century.

It played a key role in the “European crisis of conscience” during the years before Enlightenment. From a religious point of view, the Refuge helped balance Lutheranism and Calvinism.

The benefits of the Refuge for the economies of host countries are a permanent feature of the Protestant historiography. Demographic growth helped make up for the losses suffered in the Thirty-Year War (1618-1648). The less developed States of Germany gained from the inflow of capital and of know-how from people coming from far more developed countries.

The arrival of qualified craftsmen boosted activity in many sectors, such as textile or clock-making in Switzerland. Commercial exchanges grew as the affluence of the Amsterdam middle-class testifies. But the burden of immigration and the management of refugees steadily became heavier. The competition with the new craftsmen was deemed dangerous, and public opinions did not accept the opportunities granted to the refugees. It is difficult to quantify the economic contribution.

On the other hand, the cultural contribution was unquestionable. The French Huguenots took an active part in the conciliation between the host country and their homeland. The intellectual elite who chose exile, tried to keep in touch with their original culture. Helped by the diaspora, channels of exchange and influence were established. In Holland, as well as in Switzerland and in England, publishing was booming thus promoting and spreading French as a language of culture. The Huguenots contributed to turning French into the most spoken language in Europe among intellectuals. Magazines, political and literary gazettes were written in French. A number of booksellers were refugees, former self-employed professionals or teachers. All these elements created a sort of learned cosmopolitanism, the “Republic of Letters”. The Huguenots took part in the opposition to Louis XIV and the principle of absolutism.

Such interactions were usually forbidden. Books and gazettes were circulated in secret, smuggling networks were set-up allowing the delivery of prohibited books to the Protestants still in France: critical editions of the Old and New Testaments, catechism, sermons, historical studies. Those books, mostly meant for Protestants in the South of France, were printed in Switzerland, in Geneva and Lausanne.

On the whole, it can be said that the Refuge emphasised the opposition between Catholic Southern Europe and Protestant Northern Europe.


For a long time many refugees from 1685 hoped that Louis XIV would restore the Edict of Nantes. The Peace of Ryswick that put an end to the War of the League of Augsburg (1688-1699) was the first disappointment; negotiations were underway, but Louis XIV flatly refused the mere idea of return unless people converted, which was seldom the case. “Protestant powers had rather to negotiate territorial advantages than defend their co-religionists.”

Exile was for good. The weakest and poorest were uprooted, marginalised, and went from Church to Church until they died. Other refugees were gradually assimilated, married natives. The French language was piously kept within families, but it evolved and drifted away from the classical pattern, Voltaire named it the “refugee style”; it was either anglicized or germanised. It remains in use in some parishes, and the Huguenot history societies promote the “return to the roots”.

At the time of the Revolution, Huguenot refugees were offered the possibility to return to France by the Royal Edict of 15 December, 1790, to be made French citizens again, and to recover their property. A very restricted number took advantage of this edict, the most famous one being Benjamin Constant. The law remained in force until the end of World War II.


The Revocation (of the Edict of Nantes) marked a definite break in the history of Europe. As the Sun-King was at the peak of his political might, France lost a large part of the power behind its economic and cultural influence, which Michelet called “the French elite”. All the refugees gave new impulse to every area of life in the countries which took them in, marking the collective


  • Books
    • BIRNSTIEL Eckart (textes réunis par), La Diaspora des Huguenots. Les Réfugiés protestants de France et leur dispersion dans le monde (XVIe-XVIIIe siècles), Champion, Paris, 2001
    • BOST Hubert et LAURIOL Claude, Refuge et Désert : l’évolution théologique des huguenots de la Révocation à la Révolution française, Actes du Colloque du Centre d'études du XVIIIe siècle (18-19-20 janvier 2001), Champion, Paris, 2003
    • LABROUSSE Elisabeth, Une foi, une loi, un roi ? La Révocation de L’Édit de Nantes, Payot, Paris, 1985
    • MAGDELAINE Michelle et THADDEN Rudolf von (dir.), Le Refuge huguenot, Colin, Paris, 1985
    • YARDENI Myriam, Le Refuge huguenot. Assimilation et culture, Champion, Paris, 2002
    • YARDENI Myriam, Le Refuge protestant, PUF, Paris, 1985
  • Articles
    • BIRNSTIEL Eckart, "Le retour des Huguenots du Refuge en France de la Révocation à la Révolution", Bulletin de la Société d'histoire du protestantisme français, SHPF, Paris, 1989
    • JOUTARD Philippe, "Réseaux huguenots et espace européen (XVIe-XXIe siècle)", Revue de synthèse, 2002, Tome 123

Associated notes

Associated tours

Au hasard des notices

Le Refuge huguenot

L’exode des huguenots français vers les pays protestants afin d’échapper aux persécutions est un événement capital de l’histoire européenne. De 1560 à 1760, cette diaspora a concerné plus de deux cent mille huguenots qui ont pris le chemin de l’exil par fidélité à leur foi.

Premier refuge

  • Premier Refuge huguenot au XVIe siècle
    Premier Refuge huguenot au XVIe siècle © Musée Virtuel du Protestantisme

Une première vague de départ, appelée Premier Refuge, a lieu dès le XVIe siècle. Dès les premières persécutions de 1560, et surtout après la Saint-Barthélemy, des fugitifs quittent le royaume pour Genève, l’Angleterre ou les Provinces-Unies. Dans ce dernier pays, ils retrouvent d’autres réfugiés, des Flamands de langue française qui avaient créé les premières églises wallonnes. Une diaspora française s’installe.

Calvin encourage ces départs au nom de leurs vertus religieuses (« que ceux qui croient de n’avoir pas la force de témoigner de leur foi s’exilent »), Théodore de Bèze invoque « l’universelle proximité du ciel nul n‘ayant de cité permanente ».

Le Grand Refuge

  • Les refuges proches des protestants français après la Révocation
    Les refuges proches des protestants français après la Révocation © Musée du Désert

Après l’édit de Nantes, les départs diminuent fortement, certains émigrés rentrent même en France. Mais chaque crise (la prise de La Rochelle, les dragonnades du Poitou de 1681) entraîne de nouveaux départs, bien qu’un édit royal (en 1669 renouvelé en 1682, étendu aux « nouveaux convertis en 1686) leur interdise de « s’établir en pays étranger ». La courbe de l’exil atteint son pic à la révocation de l’édit de Nantes de 1685, diminue au cours de la guerre de la Ligue d’Augsbourg (1688-1697), et grimpe à nouveau après l’échec de la guerre des Camisards (1702-1704). Certains partent encore après la mort de Louis XIV (1715), la Régence n’ayant rien changé à la législation et les épisodes de répression n’ayant pas cessé. Aux trois pays du premier Refuge s’ajoute l’Allemagne, en particulier l’électorat de Brandebourg (la future Prusse) et celui de Hesse-Cassel, qui attirèrent l’excès de réfugiés de passage en Hollande et surtout en Suisse et Genève. On note des départs pour les pays scandinaves et même la Russie. Les épopées vers le Cap de Bonne-Espérance et vers les colonies anglaises du Nouveau Monde ont souvent été décrites.

Cette deuxième vague constitue le Grand Refuge : de 1680 à 1715, 180 000 Français quittent leur pays, constituant le plus massif mouvement de migration de l’histoire de la France moderne.

Les voies de sortie

  • Défense de sortir du royaume sous peine de galères (13 septembre 1699)
    Défense de sortir du royaume sous peine de galères (13 septembre 1699) © SHPF
  • Différents moyens de quitter la France, gravure de Jan Luiken
    Différents moyens de quitter la France, gravure de Jan Luiken © SHPF

Plus de 100 000 personnes ont franchi les frontières entre 1685 et 1687.

Dès 1669, Louis XIV interdit l’émigration des réformés, interdiction renouvelée dans l’édit de révocation lui-même : les hommes pris étaient envoyés aux galères et les femmes en prison. Les voies de sortie étaient surveillées.

La mer, à partir des ports de Bordeaux, La Rochelle, Dieppe, Rouen est facile à franchir, des chaloupes viennent chercher les fugitifs et les déposent à bord de vaisseaux anglais, hollandais ou danois ancrés au large. Les navires repartent avec quelques passagers officiels, les pasteurs, et surtout avec de nombreux clandestins voyageant au fond des cales dans des conditions épouvantables, après avoir payé de grosse sommes aux passeurs. Souvent les tentatives échouent, après dénonciations.

La Normandie à partir des ports de Dieppe et Rouen voit passer le plus gros contingent, la proximité des ports anglais et des îles normandes facilitant ces passages.

Ceux du Sud se dirigent parfois vers Bordeaux, de là vers l’Angleterre, parfois ver le Nouveau Monde. La majorité s’embarquent par Marseille, voire Nice, se dirigent vers Gênes, et, de là, par terre vers Turin puis Genève.

La voie de terre a été empruntée par les nombreux huguenots du Dauphiné, Vivarais, Cévennes, Languedoc, Provence, ainsi que des villes piémontaises sous domination française, qui se dirigent vers les cantons suisses francophones, la République de Genève, la principauté de Neuchâtel. Les protestants de Bourgogne, Champagne, Lorraine se dirigent vers les pays rhénans. Les itinéraires se heurtent aux obstacles naturels, surtout le Rhône, les ponts étant rares. Le Jura, pour aller à Lausanne, est difficile à franchir, Montbéliard étant français et les gorges du Doubs n’ont que de rares ponts. La surveillance est forte, mais « avec de l’argent on passe le Rhône partout » témoigne un batelier.

À Lyon, importante plate-forme de passage, il est facile de se fondre dans la grande ville, de recruter contre de l’argent un passeur – plus ou moins sûr – et d’attendre une occasion. Des marchands étrangers vont jusqu’à venir dans des foires prendre en charge des fugitifs qu’ils conduisent à Lyon. On marche de nuit, on se cache de jour, on se déguise en mendiant, en colporteur ou en vendeur de chapelets. On contrefait les malades, les muets, les fous. Les morts n’étaient pas rares, de fatigue, faim, froid. Tout ceci est risqué, les arrestations fréquentes avec condamnation aux galères, les passeurs peuvent être pendus. Des guides manuscrits indiquent les itinéraires et les lieux de passage, parfois les personnes auxquelles on peut demander de l’aide.

La frontière du Nord recèle de nombreux pièges compte tenu de la géographie enchevêtrée et mouvante entre localités occupées par des garnisons françaises ou hollandaises. Ceux qui sont pris doivent abjurer pour être libérés. Solitaires, ou voyageant en petits groupes de parents, amis ou voisins, souvent les hommes partent en avant pour préparer le lieu d’accueil, femmes et enfants suivant plus tard.

Les réfugiés trouvent souvent dans les villes européennes un cousin ou un voisin, surtout pour ceux de la « deuxième génération ». À leur arrivée dans le pays étranger, les huguenots ont le devoir d’aller au temple, d’assister au prêche. La plupart ayant été obligé d’abjurer en France, ils doivent être « réconciliés » au terme d’une cérémonie publique de « reconnaissance » de leur faute.

L’accueil dans les pays du Refuge

La communauté de religion facilite la qualité de l’accueil. Partout se manifestent un élan de compassion et un grand effort d’assistance.

Différentes structures administratives sont créées, en particulier en Suisse, pour répondre aux besoins immédiats de ces réfugiés dont la situation matérielle est très souvent proche de la misère : hébergements, transports, aide financière directe. Pour récolter l’argent, des journées de prière, des loteries sont organisées par les paroisses. Mais la charge pouvant être jugée trop lourde, les réfugiés sont encouragés, parfois contraints, à trouver d’autres lieux de replis : ainsi la Hollande et la Suisse sont surtout des lieux de transit, encourageant les réfugiés à se diriger vers les pays germaniques où les conditions d’accueil sont les plus favorables.

Mais les tensions n’ont pas manqué, et contrairement à une historiographie protestante bienveillante, le Refuge n’a pas toujours été une aventure positive. Passée la première émotion, le poids de l’émigration devenait de plus en plus lourd, et les opinions publiques pas toujours compréhensives : craintes de concurrence pour les commerçants et artisans, tous étaient jaloux des exemptions d’impôts, ou encore oppositions culturelles, les protestants du Nord n’appréciant pas toujours ces méridionaux expansifs.

Nombre de réfugiés et pays d’accueil

  • Émigration des protestants français vers les pays de Refuge (fin XVIIe siècle)
    Émigration des protestants français vers les pays de Refuge (fin XVIIe siècle) © Musée Virtuel du Protestantisme

Il est difficile d’évaluer le nombre de réfugiés à la fin du XVIIe siècle. Certains chiffres sont fantaisistes, allant jusqu’à 2 millions. Voltaire l’estime à 800 000. Les huguenots ont tendance à l’augmenter, les catholiques à le ramener autour de 50 000 ne serait-ce que pour réduire l’importance de la ponction effectuée sur l’activité de la population du royaume. Le chiffre de 160 000 à 200 000 est actuellement admis, soit 25% de la population protestante estimée à 800 000. On rappelle le statut spécial des pasteurs, qui avaient à choisir entre la conversion ou l’exil, ce dernier étant interdit à leurs fidèles : 80% des pasteurs s’exilèrent.

Selon les pays d’accueil, les chiffres suivants peuvent être retenus :

  • Suisse et Genève : 60 000 réformés, particulièrement ceux du midi seraient passé par la Suisse où ils ont été généreusement assistés. Le point principal de passage est Genève Seulement 20 000 s’y seraient fixés.
  • Provinces-Unies : première terre de refuge, du fait de la facilité d’accès, d’une tradition séculaire de liberté, de structures d’accueil avec les églises wallonnes, 70 000 y sont accueillis, mais il est difficile de savoir le nombre de ceux qui y restèrent, Amsterdam étant avec Francfort la plaque tournante du Refuge.
  • Angleterre : 40 000 à 50 000 huguenots recueillis, originaires des provinces maritimes. Les églises fondées lors du premier Refuge au XVIe siècle, persécutées sous Marie Tudor, avaient retrouvé leurs droits sous Elizabeth.
  • Allemagne : environ 44 000 huguenots se fixèrent définitivement, essentiellement dans les principautés calvinistes : 20 000 en Brandebourg dont le Grand Électeur a publié l’Édit de Potsdam (1685 particulièrement attractif, la Hesse-Cassel dont le landgrave promulgue dès avril 1685 un édit d’accueil et privilèges, mais aussi le Palatinat, le comté de Lippe. Plus tard, sous la pression des réfugiés, des états luthériens acceptent de les recevoir : Bayreuth, Hesse, Darmstadt ; ou des villes : Stuttgart, Nuremberg.

D’autres huguenots, très minoritaires, s’établirent plus loin : dans les états protestants du nord de l’Europe (Danemark, Norvège, Suède) jusqu’à Saint-Pétersbourg, et outre- mer en Afrique du Sud ou dans les colonies britanniques d’Amérique du Nord.

Les retours ont été très rares, Louis XIV se méfiant de ces nouveaux convertis susceptibles de créer des désordres dans la France en guerre. Les biens confisqués sont réunis au Domaine, leurs revenus devant servir au développement du catholicisme (écoles, églises, hôpitaux), mais les résultats sont décevants : soit ils ont été vendus avant le départ, soit il s’agit de ventes fictives à des parents ou amis de confiance censés leur faire passer les revenus correspondants. Les procès furent innombrables, la gestion un casse-tête administratif, et au total les gains de cette spoliation furent négligeables.

Les conséquences pour les pays d’accueil

Le Refuge est un évènement capital de l’histoire européenne, favorisant les mutations de l’Europe de la fin du XVIIe siècle et tout au long du XVIIIe siècle.

Il joue un rôle décisif dans « la crise de conscience européenne » dans les années qui précèdent la philosophie des Lumières. Du point de vue religieux, le Refuge a facilité l’équilibre entre luthéranisme et calvinisme.

L’apport du Refuge sur les économies des pays d’accueil est une constante de l’historiographie protestante. L’augmentation démographique a permis de combler les pertes subies lors de la guerre de Trente ans (1618-1648) et les pays moins développés d’Allemagne ont profité de l’apport des capitaux et du savoir- faire de gens venant d’un pays beaucoup plus développé.

L’arrivée d’artisans qualifiés a relancé l’activité dans de nombreux secteurs, en particulier le textile ou l’horlogerie comme en Suisse. Les échanges commerciaux se sont multipliés comme en témoigne l’opulence des bourgeois d’Amsterdam. Mais le poids de l’immigration, avec la prise en charge des réfugiés, s’alourdit rapidement, la concurrence de ces nouveaux artisans était ressentie comme dangereuse, et les opinions publiques n’acceptaient pas les facilités accordées aux réfugiés. Il est difficile d’évaluer quantitativement cet apport économique.

Par contre, l’apport culturel fut incontestable. Les huguenots français ont joué un rôle de médiation entre la terre d’accueil et leur patrie. L’élite intellectuelle qui a opté pour l’exil s’efforce de maintenir le contact avec la culture de la patrie. Favorisés par la diaspora, des canaux d’échanges et d’influence se mettent en place. En Hollande, de même qu’en Suisse et en Angleterre, l’édition en plein essor va promouvoir et diffuser le français comme langue de culture. Les huguenots ont contribué à faire du français la langue de culture savante la plus parlée d’Europe. Les revues et gazettes littéraires et politiques sont rédigées en français. De nombreux libraires sont des réfugiés, anciens membres de professions libérales ou membres du corps enseignant. Tous ces éléments vont constituer une sorte de cosmopolitisme érudit, la « République des lettres ». Les huguenots participent à l’opposition à Louis XIV et au principe même de l’absolutisme.

Ces échanges ont revêtu le plus souvent un caractère interdit. Livres et gazettes circulent clandestinement, des filières de contrebande s’organisent permettant d’acheminer vers les protestants restés en France les livres prohibés : éditions critiques de l’Ancien et du Nouveau Testament, catéchismes, sermons, études historiques ; ces livres, surtout à destination des protestants du Midi sont imprimés en Suisse, à Genève et Lausanne.

D’une manière générale, on peut dire que le Refuge a accentué l’opposition entre Europe du Sud catholique et Europe du Nord protestante.

L’assimilation

Beaucoup de réfugiés de 1685 ont longtemps espéré que Louis XIV rétablirait l’Édit de Nantes. La paix de Ryswick qui terminait la guerre de la ligue d’Augsbourg (1688-1699) fut une première déception ; des tractations ont lieu, mais Louis XIV refuse catégoriquement toute idée de retour à moins de conversions, qui furent très rares. « Les puissances protestantes préférèrent négocier des avantages territoriaux que défendre leurs coreligionnaires. »

L’exil fut définitif. Les plus faibles et les plus pauvres sont devenus des déracinés, des marginaux, passant d’Église en Église jusqu’à leur mort. Les autres réfugiés s’assimilent progressivement, se marient avec les autochtones. Si la langue française est pieusement conservée dans les familles qui vivent entre elles, la langue se modifie, s’éloigne du modèle classique, Voltaire parlant du « style réfugié » ; elle se germanise ou s’anglicise. Elle restera en usage dans certaines paroisses, et les sociétés d’histoire huguenote favorisent ce « retour aux sources ».

A l’époque de la Révolution, les réfugiés huguenots se voient concéder par l’Édit royal du 15 décembre 1790 la possibilité de rentrer en France en recouvrant la nationalité française, et de rentrer en possession de leurs biens. Le nombre de ceux qui ont profité de cet édit fut très peu nombreux, le plus illustre fut Benjamin Constant. Cette loi resta en vigueur jusqu’à la fin de la deuxième guerre mondiale.

Conclusion

La Révocation représente bien une césure importante de l’histoire européenne. Au moment où le Roi-Soleil est parvenu au faite de sa puissance politique, la France perd une grande partie des forces servant son progrès économique et culturel, ce que Michelet appellera « l’élite de la France ». Tous ces réfugiés donnent aux pays d’accueil une impulsion nouvelle dans tous les domaines, marquant la mémoire collective de plusieurs générations.

Bibliographie

  • Livres
    • BIRNSTIEL Eckart (textes réunis par), La Diaspora des Huguenots. Les Réfugiés protestants de France et leur dispersion dans le monde (XVIe-XVIIIe siècles), Champion, Paris, 2001
    • BOST Hubert et LAURIOL Claude, Refuge et Désert : l’évolution théologique des huguenots de la Révocation à la Révolution française, Actes du Colloque du Centre d'études du XVIIIe siècle (18-19-20 janvier 2001), Champion, Paris, 2003
    • COTTRET Bernard, Terre d’exil. L’Angleterre et ses réfugiés français et wallons de la Réforme à la Révocation de l’édit de Nantes, Aubier, Paris, 1985
    • LABROUSSE Elisabeth, Une foi, une loi, un roi ? La Révocation de L’Édit de Nantes, Payot, Paris, 1985
    • MAGDELAINE Michelle et THADDEN Rudolf von (dir.), Le Refuge huguenot, Colin, Paris, 1985
    • YARDENI Myriam, Le Refuge huguenot. Assimilation et culture, Champion, Paris, 2002
    • YARDENI Myriam, Le Refuge protestant, PUF, Paris, 1985
  • Articles
    • BIRNSTIEL Eckart, « Le retour des Huguenots du Refuge en France de la Révocation à la Révolution », Bulletin de la Société d'histoire du protestantisme français, SHPF, Paris, 1989
    • JOUTARD Philippe, « Réseaux huguenots et espace européen (XVIe-XXIe siècle) », Revue de synthèse, 2002, Tome 123

Notices associées

Parcours associés

Au hasard des notices

p
u
b
l
i
c
i
t
e