Protestantism in the Dauphiné region

The Reformation expanded in the Dauphiné region thanks to Guillaume Farel. Since the wars of religion and the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, the number of Portestants had dwindled and Protestantism evolved sociologically but still existed, mainly in the Drôme region.

From Guillaume Farel the Reformer in the Dauphiné region to the first four wars of religion (1522-1573)

  • Guillaume Farel (1489-1565) © S.H.P.F.

To understand the early days and the progress of the Protestant Reformation in the Dauphiné region is to follow the spread of Luther’s ideas thanks to printing, in the cities. In Grenoble, capital of the Dauphiné region, some monks preached his ideas as early as 1523.

It also means following Guillaume Farel the Reformer (1489-1565) and a great friend of Calvin in his native province. In 1522 he converted Noble Ennemond de Coct. In 1532 he played a significant part at the synod of Chamforan where the Waldenses, disciples of Pierre Valdo in the 13th century, rallied to the Reformation. In 1561 Farel visited Churches in Grenoble and Gap taking along a pastor and a regent or school teacher, and then presided over the synod in Montélimar.

In the cities the Reformation attracted all the social classes, monks, legal professions, craftsmen and merchants, nobles, those who could read. Later on, the movement spread inland in the mountains. In 1561 about forty Churches were planted and built following the Geneva model – 10 to 20 % of the population was converted to the ideas of Jean Calvin, the French Reformer and refugee in Geneva.

Violence in the Dauphiné region started in April 1562. La Motte-Gondrin, the king’s lieutenant, was massacred and hanged by the ‘Huguenots’ of the baron of Adrets in Valence on the 25 April 1562. The latter spread fear throughout the Rhone valley, Grenoble and Grande Chartreuse, from April to June 1562. Moreover three waves of iconoclasm hit the Dauphiné region in 1560, 1562, 1567, notably in about ten cities in the province, but also in country churches, as in Haut-Oisans. The violence divided the Protestant party. Grenoble was a Huguenot city for a few months after April 1563 ; in the south-east suburb called Three Cloisters, the first temple was established. Gap experienced three periods of Huguenot domination.

At the time of the Saint Bartholomew’s massacre in late August and September 1572, the Dauphiné region was protected from violence – the king’s lieutenant, baron Simiane of Gordes implemented the Edict of Saint Germain, with the agreement of the parliament, but not on the king’s order. A first trend of exile and conversion to Catholicism trend was significant in Grenoble as well as in the Oisans region. The Dauphiné region provided many representatives to the Union of the Provinces in 1573, as did all of the Languedoc region.

The era of Lesdiguières (1575-1622)

  • François de Bonne de Lesdiguières, 1597
  • Temple de Mens
    © François Boulet

François de Bonne, Duke of Lesdiguières, was born at Saint-Bonnet-en-Champsaur. In 1575 he succeeded Charles Dupuy de Montbrun, the warlord. During the wars of religion he was nicknamed ‘the fox of the Alps’ because he was organised a campaign of small mobile and quick mountain ambushes. A Huguenot stronghold of the Haut-Dauphiné region finally conquered Grenoble after several attempts on 22 December 1590.

Faithful to the King, he became one of his commissioners and implemented the Edict of Nantes – what he wanted was a ‘disarmament of consciences’ and obedience to the King. He continued waging war against the Savoie region. His Protestantism was wavering, whilst helping the Reformed cause, by paying school teachers and pastors between his castle in Vizille and Montélimar, he also supported the Catholics and their Counter-Reformation. In 1621 he took part in the siege of Montauban against the Protestants with King Louis XIII. On 24 July 1622 in Grenoble Lesdiguières converted to Catholicism and was granted many royal favours, for instance being appointed the last constable in France. He died in Valence on 8 September 1626.

The Protestants under the Edict of Nantes (1599-1679)

The Protestants in the Dauphiné region remained true to the king and did not take part in the 1621-1625 riots. The Dauphiné under the Edict of Nantes had a number of Huguenot clusters. There were 90 churches, 270 annexes and 73,000 Protestants, of which 40,000 in the Drôme valley, 12,000 in Trièves, 10,000 in the Hautes-Alpes, 11,000 in Vaucluson or 10% in the Dauphinois and 8% Huguenots in the kingdom. The province had 12 strongholds until 1629, but Huguenots in Dauphiné remained true to the king. The Chamber of the Edict in Grenoble was a major local originality. Until 1679 it judged the Protestants in the whole oriental part of the kingdom, with about 300 judicial acts per year.

The system called ‘Presyterian-synodal’ was set up with a consistory in each church, with pastors and secular people, the ‘Elders’. Each church had a school so that the children could read the Bible and sing hymns. Each consistory sent one elser and one pastor to the provincial synod, which, in its turn, sent representatives to the national synod.

Mens in Trièves, with its 1,000 faithful, was called the ‘small Geneva of the Alps’. Die with 4,000 faithful  an academy and Protestant papers, was an important Protestant pace as well. Gap also had a strong Huguenot minority. The financial and religious fervor seemed to diminish throughout the 17th century.

Towards the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes and exile (1679-1685)

  • © François Boulet

After 1679, the Edict of Nantes was applied ‘with rigour’. Conflicts were recurrent, as the Protestants were expelled from the consulats, the chamber of the Edict was eliminated, conversions highly encouraged. About fifty temples were destroyed between 1681 and 1685. During the Summer of 1683, the Reformed of Châteaurouble, of Crest and of Bourdeaux rallied at the ‘Camp of the Lord’ in the mountain between Saou and Bourdeaux. The repression was terrible: there were 200 victims.

The dragoons intervened after 1681. The conversions increased. Two bishops stood out and encouraged the dragoons to convert all the communities, firstly Daniel de Cosnac, bishop of Die and of Valence; secondly Étienne Le Camus, called ‘bishop of the mountains’ in Grenoble, who turned out to be less coercive in terms of conversion and managed to have the dragoons leave.

In 1685 upon the Revocation, temples were destroyed except for the one in Poët-Laval, set up in a common house. It is, nowadays, the Museum of Protestantism in Dauphiné. Ten to twelve hundred thousand Protestants took the road of exile to the Swiss cantons, to the German Principalities — Bade, Wurtemberg, Hesse-Cassel and Brandebourg with Berlin —, to The United Provinces, but also to Virginia or South Africa. Protestant communities of the Oisans region, for instance, totally disappeared. Today the association « Sur les pas des Huguenots »”(‘In the footsteps of the Huguenots’)  perpetuates the tradition of the memorobale paths from Poët-Laval to Germany, following the GR 968 hiking trail.

The time of female prophets and of the Desert (1685-1788)

  • Tour de Crest, Drôme
    © François Boulet

Abjuration was massive but some officially ‘newly converted’ still remained truthful to the Reformed faith. Repression in all its forms increased.

In 1688, young ladies in the Dauphiné, comprising Isabeau Vincent, prophetised, spoke mystical words at night, urged the faithful to repent and to ‘leave Babylon’. Around 1700, pastor Amaud counted some several hundreds of young female prophets. The « école des prophètes »  (‘school of prophets’)  was often frowned upon by the pastors of the Refuge.

Clandestine assemblies of ‘the Desert’ multiplied, first at night in six places near Mens, for instance. Baptisms and marriages were effected by touring preachers, then by pastors from Lausanne, or from Switzerland in the Vaud region. There was a number of schools with clandestine regents. Repression remained serious, even in quieter times. Assemblies were sneaked up on, women imprisonned, as in the Crest tower, men sent to the galleys – 247 galley slaves out of 1,500 Huguenot convicts were from Dauphiné – and preachers were hanged. The first two pastors to be executed were Louis Ranc in Die and Jacques Roger, the restorer of Protestantism in Dauphiné. Jean Bérenger pastor of the Desert, called Dove, was killed twice in absentia and in effigy in 1759 and 1766. He performed 200 baptisms and about 700 marriages in the Desert, mostly in Trièves. Daytime assemblies in the Desert were tolerated after the 1760s ended.

In 1787, the Edict of tolerance allowed Huguenots in Dauphiné to be entered in the civil register. There were only 43,000 left in Dauphiné.

The revival of Reformed Churches in Dauphiné under the French Revolution and the Empire

  • Antoine Barnave (1761-1793). Lawyer, member of Parliament © S.H.P.F.
  • Le Dauphiné à la Révolution
    © Emeline Ferron pour Fondation Bersier

In Dauphiné, the Protestants were initially in favour of the Revolution. Antoine Barnave, a Protestant and mayor of Grenoble, had become the President of the constituent Assembly in mid-1790. He was against equality with ‘niggers’ and drifted from the Jacobins, and then got closer to the queen after the king had fled to Varennes. In 1792, he was accused, imprisoned, judged in 1793, and guillotined.

Under the Consular and the Empire, the Concordat and then the Organic Articles enabled to reconstitute seven consistorial Churches in Dauphiné, namely Mens, Orpierre, Crest, Die, Bourg-les-Valence, Dieulefit and La Motte-Chalancon. Temples were then built. According to Chaptal’s census, the Protestants were 1% of the population in Isère, of which 2% in Grenoble and 50% east of Trièves in Mens, Saint-Jean-d’Hérans, Saint-Baudille-et-Pipet. In the 19th century, the Drôme was the fourth most Protestant region in France. Hautes-Alpes had two Reformed pastors, Isère had four and Drôme twenty-six.

From the Revival of the 1820s to the Revival in the Drôme valley in the 1920s

Around 1820, Félix Neff, a Swiss Evangelist, called the ‘apostle of the Alps’, breathed a new religious wind as a non-official pastor, an evangelist, a school-teacher and an agronomist at the same time. His success was proven by the increasing number of schools, two of them being models, in Dourmillousse and Mens. Pastor Blanc was inspired by his work and created the model Protestant school of Mens in1834, which lasted until 1914. One thousand school-teachers were trained there.

Religious fervour, however, decreased, mostly among men. Debates between orthodoxy and liberalism contributed to emptying temples. Part of the faithful turned to the Barbyst and Methodist minorities. Others turned to Free-thinking and free-masonry. Pastor Tommy Fallot, an emblem of social Christianity, more or less contributed to revitalizing parishes in the Drôme valley.

After bloodletting WW I, young pastors Henri Eberhard, Bordigoni, Jean Cadier, Édouard Champendal, Pierre Carron and Henri Bonifas initiated the Revival in the 1920s in the upper Drôme valley. The pastors united more easily in the new Reformed Church in 1938.

From WW II to nowadays

  • © François Boulet
  • Villa
    © François Boulet

Under the Occupation, the parish in Grenoble increased its activities to help refugees, thanks to pastors Charles Cook and Charles Westphal, their wives and the parish ‘ladies’. Grenoble saw its parish grow by one third of faithful, comprising many Jews, which was called the ‘Grenoble experiment’. The boarding-house ‘Snow Breeze’ at La Tronche, with Mrs Péan-Pagès, hid about a hundred young Jewish girls. Suzanne Casalis was linked to the parish, and developed a rescue operation for the Jews, between Grenoble and Mens, with pastor Pierre Gothié.

In Dieulefit, half-Reformed, a real small capital of Protestantism developed thanks to refugees of the elite. The Beauvallon school gave new education inspired by Switzerland, and was headed by Marguerite Soubeyran, and became a nest of Jews and resistants. Dieulefit was a privileged place, like Chambon-sur-Lignon, with a refuge diffused in the local population, i.e. pastors and priests, complicit constables and townhall secretary, who serially produced fake papers.

Confronted to the FTP (Francs-tireurs and partisans) maquis in Vercors – communist oriented -, the Protestant population was divided. Some young men were tempted by the adventure.

In the Summer of 1943, some theology students in Montpellier took refuge in a camp said of ‘theologians’ in Tréminis, in the south of Isère. They suffered the lightning of treason, then German violence on 19 October 1943. André Girard-Clot, the treasurer of the Grenoble parish, as well as young  René Lescoute and Bernard Laroche died in deportation. To our knowledge, it was the only Protestant deemed maquis in France.

After the war, Protestantism developed in urban and suburban parishes in Valence, Vienne or Grenoble.

The Grenoble urban district, for instance, developed along a new Protestant sociology: a middle-class with executives or intellectuals, often left wing or in ecology. Of the 500 French Reformed parishes, the one in Grenoble, considering the Suday attendance to worship on the rue Hébert, ranked 50 in the 1960s. It grouped 2,000 parishioners in 1953, 3,300 in 1958, and 4,500 in 1968. The Protestant strongholds in Haut-Diois or in Trièves lost their demographic weight, even if coming home, even only for the Summer holidays, shows a deep commitment to their ancestral Huguenot roots.

The debates on Communism and Christianity, the war in Algiers, the Winter Olympic games in Grenoble in 1968 and the 1968 events, caused heat and turmoil, along with a re flexion on involvement in a secularised urban society. In June 1961, Protestant women opened the first centre for ‘family planning’ in France. In 1968, ecumenism experienced since 1945, saw the construction of the ‘Saint-Marc ecumenic centre’ in Grenoble. Nowadays 1,120 families are registered in the united Protestant Church in Grenoble. A new ‘evangelical’, urban and of migrant origin Protestantism is growing.

Author: François Boulet

Bibliography

  • Books

    Associated notes

Le protestantisme en Dauphiné

La Réforme s’implante dans le Dauphiné avec l’aide de Guillaume Farel. Depuis les guerres de religion et la révocation de l’édit de Nantes, le nombre de protestants a diminué, le protestantisme a évolué sociologiquement mais il est encore présent, surtout dans la Drôme.

Du réformateur dauphinois Guillaume Farel aux quatre premières guerres de religion (1522-1573)

  • Guillaume Farel (1489-1565)
    Guillaume Farel (1489-1565) © S.H.P.F.

Comprendre les débuts et les progrès de la Réforme protestante en Dauphiné c’est d’abord suivre les idées de Luther qui se diffusent, grâce à l’imprimerie, dans les villes. A Grenoble, capitale du Dauphiné, dès 1523 , quelques moines  prêchent ses idées .

C’est également suivre les voyages du réformateur Guillaume Farel (1489-1565), grand ami de Calvin, dans sa province natale. En 1522, il convertit Noble Ennemond de Coct. En 1532, il joue un rôle important au synode de Chamforan où les Vaudois, disciples de Pierre Valdo au XIIe siècle, se rallient à la Réforme. En 1561, Farel se rend dans les églises de Grenoble et de Gap, emmenant pasteur et régent (maître d’école), puis préside le synode de Montélimar.

En ville, la réforme touche toutes les classes sociales, des moines, des gens de loi, des artisans et des marchands, des nobles, ceux qui lisent. Le mouvement se répand dans l’arrière-pays montagnard par la suite. En 1561, une quarantaine d’Églises sont plantées et dressées sur le modèle de Genève : 10 à 20% de la population se convertit aux idées de Jean Calvin, réformateur français réfugié à Genève.

La violence en Dauphiné commence en avril 1562. Le lieutenant du roi, La Motte-Gondrin, est massacré et pendu par les « huguenots » du baron des Adrets le 25 avril 1562 à Valence. Celui-ci sème la terreur, entre la vallée du Rhône, Grenoble et Grande Chartreuse, entre avril et juin 1562. D’autre part, trois vagues d’iconoclasme touchent le Dauphiné en 1560, 1562, 1567,  notamment dans une dizaine de villes de la province, mais également dans les églises de campagne, comme en Haut-Oisans. Ces violences divisent le parti protestant. Grenoble est huguenot durant quelques mois à partir d’avril 1563 ; le faubourg sud-est, dit Très Cloîtres, est alors le lieu d’implantation du premier temple. Gap connaît trois périodes de domination huguenote.

Lors de la Saint-Barthélemy fin août et septembre 1572, le Dauphiné est préservé de la violence : le lieutenant du roi, le baron Bertrand Simiane de Gordes applique l’édit de Saint-Germain, avec l’accord du parlement, et non l’ordre du roi. Mais un premier mouvement d’exil et de conversion au catholicisme est notable tant à Grenoble qu’en Oisans. Le Dauphiné‌ donne de nombreux représentants à l’Union des provinces de 1573, comme tout le Languedoc.

L'époque de Lesdiguières (1575-1622)

  • François de Bonne de Lesdiguières, 1597
    François de Bonne de Lesdiguières, 1597
  • Temple de Mens, Isère
    Temple de Mens, Isère © François Boulet

François de Bonne, duc de Lesdiguières, naît à Saint-Bonnet-en-Champsaur. Il prend la succession en 1575 du chef de guerre Charles Dupuy de Montbrun. Pendant les guerres de religion, il est le « renard des Alpes », aguerri dans la petite guerre mobile et rapide des embuscades en montagne. À partir du Haut-Dauphiné, bastion fortifié huguenot, il conquiert Grenoble, le 22 décembre 1590, après plusieurs tentatives.

Fidèle au roi, il devient un des commissaires du roi pour l’application de l’édit de Nantes : il veut alors le « désarmement des consciences » et surtout l’obéissance au roi. Il continue les guerres contre la Savoie.Son protestantisme est moins affirmé : s’il aide les réformés, paye des régents et des pasteurs, entre son château de Vizille et de Montélimar, il soutient également les catholiques dans leur Contre-Réforme. En 1621,il participe au siège de Montauban contre les protestants auprès du roi Louis XIII. Le 24 juillet 1622, à Grenoble, Lesdiguières se convertit au catholicisme ; les faveurs royales sont alors nombreuses : il devient le dernier connétable de France. Il meurt le 8 septembre 1626 à Valence.

Les protestants sous l'Edit de Nantes (1599-1679)

Les protestants en Dauphiné restent fidèles au roi et ne participent pas aux révoltes de 1621-1625. Le Dauphiné sous l’Édit de Nantes voit la concentration de fiefs huguenots. Il rassemble 90 églises, 270 annexes, 73 000 protestants ; on en dénombre 40 000 dans la vallée de la Drôme, 12 000 en Trièves, 10 000 dans les Hautes-Alpes, 11 000 dans le Valcluson ou 10% de Dauphinois et 8% de Huguenots du royaume. La province possède 12 places de sûreté jusqu’en 1629 mais la huguenoterie dauphinoise reste fidèle au roi. La Chambre de l’édit à Grenoble constitue la grande originalité locale : elle juge jusqu’en 1679 les protestants de toute la partie orientale du royaume, avec près de 300 actes par an.

Le système dit « presbytérien-synodal » se met en place avec un consistoire pour chaque église, formé de pasteurs et de laïcs, les « anciens ». Dans chaque église, on trouve une école pour que les enfants puissent lire la Bible et chanter les cantiques. Chaque consistoire envoie une fois par an un ancien et un pasteur au synode provincial, qui, à son tour, envoie des délégués au synode national.

Mens en Trièves avec 1 000 fidèles est, dit-on, la « petite Genève des Alpes ». Die avec 4 000 fidèles, une académie et des presses protestantes, constitue également une importante place protestante. Gap a également une forte minorité huguenote. L’ardeur financière et religieuse semble cependant s’atténuer au cours du XVIIe siècle.

Vers la révocation de l’édit de Nantes et l’exil (1679-1685)

  • Chaire du musée du protestantisme dauphinois
    Chaire du musée du protestantisme dauphinois © François Boulet

À partir de 1679, l’édit de Nantes est appliqué « à la rigueur ». Les conflits sont récurrents : les réformés sont exclus des consulats, la chambre de l’Édit est supprimée, les conversions sont vivement encouragées. Une cinquantaine de temples sont détruits entre 1681 et 1685. Au cours de l’été 1683, les réformés de Châteaudouble, de Crest et de Bourdeaux se regroupent au « Camp de l’Éternel » dans la montagne entre Saou et Bourdeaux. La répression est terrible : on compte 200 victimes.

Les dragons interviennent à partir de 1681. Les conversions se multiplient. Deux évêques se distinguent : Daniel de Cosnac, évêque de Die et de Valence, encourage les dragons en vue de convertir toutes les communautés ; Étienne Le Camus, dit « évêque des montagnes » à Grenoble, se montre adepte d’une conversion moins coercitive : il obtient le départ des dragons.

En 1685, avec la Révocation, les temples sont détruits sauf celui de Poët-Laval, installé dans une maison commune. C’est aujourd’hui le musée du Protestantisme dauphinois. Dix à douze mille protestants prennent le chemin de l’exil, vers les cantons suisses, les principautés allemandes — Bade, Wurtemberg, Hesse-Cassel et Brandebourg avec Berlin —, les Provinces-Unies, mais également la Virginie ou l’Afrique du Sud. Les communautés protestantes de l’Oisans par exemple disparaissent alors complètement. Aujourd’hui, l’association « Sur les pas des Huguenots » perpétue, sur le sentier de grande randonnée GR 968, ces chemins mémorables de Poët-Laval jusqu’en Allemagne.

Le temps des prophétesses et du Désert (1685-1788)

  • Tour de Crest, Drôme
    Tour de Crest, Drôme © François Boulet
  • Stèle d'Isabeau Vincent
    Stèle d'Isabeau Vincent © François Boulet

L’abjuration est massive mais certains, officiellement « nouveaux convertis », demeurent malgré tout fidèles à la religion réformée. La répression s’intensifie sous diverses formes.

En 1688, des jeunes filles dauphinoises, dont Isabeau Vincent, prophétisent, expriment en pleine nuit des paroles mystiques, exhortent les fidèles à la repentance et à « sortir de Babylone ». Vers 1700, le pasteur Arnaud comptabilise plusieurs centaines de jeunes prophétesses. Cette « école des prophètes » a souvent été mal perçu par les pasteurs du Refuge.

Les assemblées clandestines du « Désert » se multiplient, d’abord la nuit, dans six lieux autour de Mens par exemple. Baptêmes et mariages sont donnés par des « prédicants » itinérants, puis des pasteurs venus de Lausanne, voire en Suisse dans le pays de Vaud. Les écoles avec des régents clandestins sont nombreuses. La répression reste sévère, même durant les phases d’accalmie. Si les assemblées sont surprises, les femmes sont envoyées en prison, comme à la tour de Crest, les hommes vont aux galères (247 galériens dauphinois sur un total de 1 500 forçats huguenots) et les prédicants sont pendus. Les deux derniers pasteurs exécutés en 1745 sont le jeune Louis Ranc à Die et le restaurateur du protestantisme dauphinois Jacques Roger. Le pasteur du Désert Jean Bérenger, dit Colombe, est exécuté par contumace et en effigie, deux fois en 1759 et 1766 : il préside, surtout en Trièves, plus de 2 000 baptêmes et près de 700 mariages clandestins au désert. Les assemblées du Désert de jour sont tolérées à partir de la fin des années 1760.

L’édit de tolérance en 1787 voit l’inscription des huguenots en Dauphiné vers l’état-civil. Ils ne sont plus que 43 000 en Dauphiné.

La renaissance des Églises réformées dauphinoises sous la Révolution française et l’Empire

  • Antoine Barnave (1761-1793). Avocat, député
    Antoine Barnave (1761-1793). Avocat, député © S.H.P.F.

Dans le Dauphiné, les huguenots sont initialement favorables à la Révolution. Le maire de Grenoble, devenu président de l’Assemblée constituante à la mi-1790, est le protestant Antoine Barnave. Hostile à l’égalité avec les « nègres », il s’éloigne des Jacobins, puis se rapproche de la reine après la fuite du roi à Varennes. Incriminé en 1792, il est emprisonné, jugé en novembre 1793 et guillotiné.

Sous le Consulat et l’Empire, le Concordat puis les Articles organiques permettent de reconstituer sept Églises consistoriales en Dauphiné (Mens, Orpierre, Crest, Die, Bourg-les-Valence, Dieulefit et La Motte-Chalancon). Des temples sont alors construits. D’après le recensement Chaptal, les protestants représentent 1% de la population en Isère (dont 2% à Grenoble, 50% à l’est du Trièves avec Mens, Saint-Jean-d’Hérans, Saint-Baudille-et-Pipet). La Drôme est, au XIXe siècle, le quatrième département le plus protestant de France. Les Hautes-Alpes comptent deux pasteurs réformés, l’Isère quatre, la Drôme vingt-six.

Du Réveil des années 1820 au Réveil de la Drôme des années 1920

  • Dédicace à Félix Neff, temple des Viollins, à Freissinières
    Dédicace à Félix Neff, temple des Viollins, à Freissinières © François Boulet

Vers 1820, l’évangéliste suisse Félix Neff, l’« apôtre des Alpes », apporte un vent religieux nouveau en tant que pasteur non officiel, à la fois évangéliste, instituteur, agronome. Son succès se manifeste par la multiplication des écoles, dont deux écoles modèles, à Dourmillouse et à Mens. Le pasteur Blanc s’inspire de son œuvre pour créer l’école modèle protestante de Mens en 1834, qui dure jusqu’en 1914. Mille instituteurs protestants y sont formés.

La ferveur religieuse décline néanmoins, particulièrement chez les hommes. Les débats entre orthodoxie et libéralisme contribuent à vider les temples. Une partie des fidèles se tourne vers les minorités darbyste et méthodiste. D’autres se tournent vers la libre-pensée et la franc-maçonnerie. Le pasteur Tommy Fallot, emblème du christianisme social, contribue néanmoins à redonner du dynamisme aux paroisses de la vallée de la Drôme.

Après la saignée de la Grande Guerre, les jeunes pasteurs Henri Eberhard, Bordigoni, Jean Cadier, Édouard Champendal, Pierre Carron et Henri Bonifas initient le Réveil des années 1920 dans la haute vallée de la Drôme. L’unité des pasteurs en faveur de la nouvelle Église réformée de France en 1938 se réalise plus aisément.

De la Seconde Guerre mondiale à aujourd’hui

  • Temple de Dieulefit, Drôme
    Temple de Dieulefit, Drôme © François Boulet
  • Villa
    Villa "Brise des Neiges" à La Tronche, Isère © François Boulet

Sous l’Occupation, la paroisse de Grenoble développe des activités d’aide aux réfugiés, grâce aux pasteurs Charles Cook et Charles Westphal, leurs épouses et les « dames » de la paroisse. L’expérience de Grenoble voit une paroisse grandir avec un tiers de fidèles supplémentaires, dont de nombreux juifs : c’est « l’expérience de Grenoble ». La pension « Brise des Neiges » à La Tronche avec Madame Péan-Pagès cache une centaine de jeunes juives. En liaison avec cette paroisse, Suzanne Casalis développe une action de sauvetage de juifs, entre Grenoble et Mens, avec le pasteur Pierre Gothié.

Dieulefit, mi-réformée, une véritable petite capitale du protestantisme se développe grâce aux réfugiés souvent d’élite. L’école de Beauvallon avec une éducation nouvelle d’inspiration suisse, dirigée notamment par Marguerite Soubeyran, devient un nid de juifs et de résistants. Lieu privilégié, Dieulefit ressemble au Chambon-sur-Lignon avec un refuge fondu dans la population locale, pasteur et prêtre compris, gendarmes complices et secrétaire de mairie réalisant des faux-papiers en série.

Face aux maquis des FTP (Francs-tireurs et partisans) — d’obédience communiste —  au Vercors, la population protestante dauphinoise est plus partagée. Des jeunes gens sont tentés par l’aventure.

Quelques étudiants en théologie de Montpellier se réfugient lors de l’été 1943 dans un camp dit de « théologiens » à Tréminis, au sud de l’Isère. Ils subissent la foudre de la trahison puis de la violence allemande le 19 octobre 1943. Le trésorier de la paroisse de Grenoble André Girard-Clot, les jeunes René Lescoute et Bernard Laroche meurent en déportation. À notre connaissance, c’est le seul maquis que l’on peut juger protestant en France.

Après-guerre, le protestantisme se développe dans les paroisses urbaines et banlieusardes à Valence, Vienne ou Grenoble.

Le développement de l’agglomération grenobloise, par exemple, voit une nouvelle sociologie protestante : une classe moyenne de cadres ou d’intellectuels, souvent engagée à gauche ou dans l’écologie. Sur 500 paroisses réformées françaises, celle grenobloise, au vu de son assistance dominicale au temple rue Hébert, est jugée à la 50ème place  dans les années 1960 : elle regroupe 2 000 paroissiens en 1953, 3 300 en 1958, 4 500 en 1968. Les fiefs protestants du Haut-Diois ou du Trièves perdent leur poids démographique même si le retour au pays, parfois estival, marque un attachement huguenot ancestral assez obstiné.

Les débats sur le communisme et le christianisme, la guerre d’Algérie, les Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 1968 à Grenoble et les événements de mai 1968, provoquent des ardeurs et des remous, à travers toute une réflexion sur l’engagement dans une société urbaine et sécularisée. En juin 1961, des femmes protestantes ouvrent le premier centre en France du « planning familial ». En 1968, l’œcuménisme vécu depuis 1945 voit la construction du « centre œcuménique Saint-Marc » à Grenoble. Aujourd’hui 1 120 familles sont affiliées à l’Église protestante unie de Grenoble. Un nouveau protestantisme « évangélique », urbain et d’origine immigrée, se développe.

Auteur : François Boulet

Bibliographie

  • Livres
    • ARNAUD Eugène, Histoire des protestants du Dauphiné aux XVIe, XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles, Grassart, Paris, 1875-1876
    • BOLLE Pierre, Protestants en Dauphiné – L’aventure de la Réforme, Editions Le Dauphiné Libéré, Grenoble, 2005
    • BOULET François, COGNE Olivier, Protestants en Dauphiné – 500 ans d’histoire (XVIe-XXIe siècles), PUG, Grenoble, 2017

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices