International Museum
of the Reformation (Geneva)

An interactive introduction to Protestantism from the XVIth to the XXIst century

The International Museum of the Reformation opened on the 15th of April 2005. It presents the history of Protestantism from its beginnings. It gives us an international viewpoint, including both religious and cultural aspects.

Special attention is paid to the foundation of the Reformation Movement, the ideas it inspired, together with its conception of the world and mankind; it also describes the lives of the men and women who contributed towards it. The Museum can be found on the ground floor and in part of the basement of the Maison Mallet, an XVIIIth century dwelling, built on the foundations of St. Peter’s Cloister, where the Reform was voted in 1536.

This is a museum where the past is intertwined with the present

  • La Maison Mallet, demeure du 18e siècle
  • Le Grand Salon

There are about 500 authentic objects to be seen in the Museum: pictures, engravings, books, manuscripts, medals, photos and other objects such as communion chalices, watches or small scale models. An audio guide informs the visitor of key exhibits in French, German and English. Texts accompanying the exhibits are also in three languages. Even children can find something of interest here as in each room there is a presentation of the main theme at their level. Handicapped people can also have full access to the whole Museum.

The Museum rooms are arranged according to themes and chronology: the Bible, Polemics, the Big Room, the Barbier-Muller Room (the Reformation in France and the Wars of Religion) Calvin and Geneva, the Music Room, the Reformation in the XVIIth and XVIIIth century (the Banquet of Predestination), the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes (the ‘Refuge’” and the ‘Desert’), the Reformation in the XIXth century, the ‘Train of Good Works’, the XIXth century once more (the Religious Awakening and modern theology), the XXth century and lastly, the XXIst century.

The first room in the Museum explains to the visitor that the Bible was the very basis of the Reformation in the XVIth century. There is a special showcase for Martin Luther and his particular contribution. To enable ordinary people to understand the Bible, considered as the Word of God, the Reformers translated it into the vernacular and printing, the latest invention at that time, contributed greatly to making it accessible to all.

In 2012, a private collector donated an exceptional gift to the Museum of the Reformation: this was an original manuscript written by Martin Luther ‘D.M.LUTHER TO A GOOD FRIEND’, dating back to the XVIth century and it can be found in the showcase which is dedicated to him.

In this manuscript Luther attacked one of his most bitter enemies with vigour: “Up until now this was an unpublished manuscript and people will be delighted to discover the strong personality of this mighty reformer – it’s as if he had just written it a moment ago” says Isabelle Graesslé, the Director of the Museum in a cheerful tone. In the first room of the Museum a portrait can also be found of Luther painted by Cranach the Elder and his School: this is an oil painting on wood dating back to 1530, on loan for several months from a private collection.

The International Museum of the Reformation also presents cultural activities to suit every taste

There is a multi-media library containing many videos, recordings of lectures etc. which are aimed at enriching your knowledge and also to help you to have a better understanding of the Reformation and of those who established it, amongst other subjects.

To promote cultural exchange there are activities for everyone: lectures, a marked trail, workshops for young people and active discovery visits and other temporary workshops from time to time in the ‘activities’ section.

For teachers, there are visits at an all-inclusive price specially designed for their needs as well as pre-prepared informative leaflets in the ‘school’ section.

Musée international de la Réforme
4 rue du Cloître
CH-1204 Genève

International Museum
of the Reformation (Geneva)

Rue du Cloître 2, 1204 Genève, Suisse

Itinerary to this location

Author: Musée international de la Réforme (Genève)

Bibliography

  • Sites
    • Site du Musée international de la Réforme | Link

Associated notes

Random notes

Musée international
de la Réforme (Genève)

Le protestantisme au fil des siècles, du XVIe au XXIe siècle, une présentation interactive.

Le Musée international de la Réforme a ouvert ses portes le 15 avril 2005. Il présente l’histoire du protestantisme dès ses débuts, en faisant un vaste tour d’horizon de part et d’autre du globe, retraçant une trajectoire à la fois culturelle et spirituelle.

Sont mis en exergue, les fondations de la Réforme, ses idées, sa conception du monde et de l’humain, mais aussi la description de l’histoire des hommes et des femmes qui se sont reconnus dans cette tradition. Le rez-de-chaussée et une partie des sous-sols la maison Mallet, demeure du XVIIIe siècle abrite le Musée, qui est situé à l’emplacement même du cloître de Saint-Pierre, là où les Genevois adoptèrent la Réforme en 1536.

Un musée où le passé se conjugue au présent

  • La Maison Mallet, demeure du 18e siècle
    La Maison Mallet, demeure du 18e siècle © Musée international de la Réforme
  • Le Grand Salon
    Le Grand Salon © Musée International de la Réforme

Environ 500 objets originaux sont exposés au Musée. Il s’agit de tableaux, gravures, livres, manuscrits, médailles, photographies et objets tels que des coupes de communion, des montres ou des maquettes originales. Des audio-guides dévoilent au visiteur ce qui est primordial dans chaque salle en français, allemand et anglais. Enfin, une attention particulière a été portée aux enfants qui trouvent dans chaque salle du Musée une présentation, à leur portée, du thème évoqué. Le Musée comporte un équipement pour permettre la visite aux personnes handicapées.

Les salles du Musée sont divisées par thème et par époque : La Bible, la Polémique, le Grand Salon, la Salle Barbier-Mueller (la Réformation en France et les Guerres de Religion), Calvin et Genève, le cabinet de musique, la Réforme aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècle (le banquet de la prédestination), la Révocation de l’édit de Nantes (le Refuge et le Désert), la Réforme au XIXe siècle, le « train des bonnes œuvres», le XIXe siècle encore (le Réveil et la théologie moderne), le XXe siècle et pour finir avec le XXIe siècle.

La première salle du Musée rappelle aux visiteurs que la Bible constitue le fondement de la Réforme du XVIe siècle. Une vitrine spécialement consacrée à Martin Luther montre l’originalité de son message. Afin de mettre la Bible, considérée comme « parole de Dieu », à la portée de tous, les Réformateurs la traduisent en langue « vulgaire » et pour ce faire, ils profitent de la récente invention de l’époque : l’imprimerie.

Depuis le début 2012, un collectionneur privé honore le MIR d’un prêt exceptionnel et met à disposition un manuscrit inédit de Martin Luther, D.M. Luther An Einen Guten Freund, datant du XVIe siècle, qui a rejoint les exposants de cette vitrine consacrée au Réformateur allemand.

Luther y attaque violemment l’un de ses adversaires les plus acharnés : « Ce manuscrit était resté inédit jusqu’à maintenant et le public aura plaisir à y retrouver une sorte de ferme présence, un peu comme si le géant de la Réforme venait à peine de quitter son écritoire… » se réjouit Isabelle Graesslé, directrice du Musée. La première salle du Musée présente également un des portraits de Luther peint par Cranach l’Ancien (et atelier) : une huile sur panneau, datée de 1530, prêt pour quelques mois d’un collectionneur privé.

Des activités culturelles afin de répondre aux attentes d'un public très divers

  • Espace Saint-Pierre
    Espace Saint-Pierre © Musée de la Réforme - Genève
  • Presse Gutenberg © Musée de la Réforme - Genève (Suisse)

Une médiathèque riche de nombreuses vidéos, conférences enregistrées, etc., vous permet d’étendre vos connaissances et de mieux connaître entre-autre la période de la Réforme et ses acteurs.

Dans le cadre de la médiation culturelle, des activités pour des publics variés sont proposées, conférences, parcours-découverte, ateliers jeune public et d’autres plus ponctuelles sous la rubrique « activités »

Pour les enseignant(e)s des « visites clés en main » ainsi que des dossiers informatifs sont disponibles sous la rubrique « écoles ».

Musée international de la Réforme
4 rue du Cloître
CH-1204 Genève

Musée international
de la Réforme (Genève)

Rue du Cloître 2, 1204 Genève, Suisse

Itinéraire vers ce lieu

Auteur : Musée international de la Réforme

Bibliographie

  • Sites
    • Site du Musée international de la Réforme | Lien

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices