The French Protestant Church Service today

The Church service is based on the Bible and is a time and place consecrated to God. It is a meeting which God initiates and is the visible sign of the Church community in all its diversity.  The liturgy and Church buildings are an expression of Protestant values.

Protestant places of worship

  • New temple in Saint-Paul-la-Coste (Gard) © O. d'Haussonville

In fact, Protestants are themselves the temple of God without any need for special buildings in which to hold services. An act of worship takes place wherever Protestants praise God, whether on their own or in a house group, on the radio or on television. Most new Evangelical Churches meet in old cinemas or warehouses. However on the whole, congregations tend to worship God in a temple.

It must be noted that a temple is not a holy or a consecrated place. It is usually shut during the week (except for wedding, ceremonies, funerals, lectures or some other types of meeting) traditionally it is only open on Sundays (the Adventists use it on Saturdays).

 

 

  • © Oratoire du Louvre - Paris
  • © Gérard Boniface
  • Service at the Musée du Désert © Haussonville

The interior of a Reformed temple is surprisingly bare so that the believer is not distracted from worshipping God. The furniture consists of pews or chairs, a communion table placed under a pulpit which often has a ‘lid’ so the preacher can be heard properly. It is a Protestant tradition to have a large Bible, which is usually an old one, open on the communion table all the time. (on the right)

Lutherans prefer the term ‘church’ to ‘temple’ and ‘altar’ to ‘communion table’, which is only used for Holy Communion, when it is covered with a special cloth which changes according to each liturgical season; a lectern is used so that the Bible can swivel round to face the congregation after the reading from the Scripture.

In Reformed temples verses from the Bible and nothing else are painted or engraved on walls made of wood or stone – usually there is also a bare cross without the figure of Christ – this is to remind the believer that Christ is risen from the dead and no longer nailed to the cross. In Lutheran churches in Alsace, you may fine paintings or stained glass windows depicting the life of Jesus.

At the other end of the temple there is usually an organ, used for musical events and especially to accompany hymns sung by the congregation. Sometimes there is just a harmonium and other instruments may also be used.

The church service can also be held in the open air; for example at the Musée du Désert where between 15000 and 20000 Protestants come for the service from all over France and even from abroad. This takes place on the first Sunday of September every year in the shade of the chestnut and oak trees in the grounds of the Mas Soubeyran, in the village of Mialet  in the Gard. Its aim is to remind people of the courage shown by Huguenots when they stood up for their faith in times of terrible persecution.

Sunday worship for Lutheran and Reformed Churches

  • Pastor's garment © Isabelle de Rouville
  • The role of women in Protestantism © © Sophie Reille - Réforme

Sunday worship consists of a congregation assembled to study the Scripture and celebrate the sacraments – they may vary in number. The pastor usually wears a black robe. This does not have any special sacerdotal significance but shows that the pastor is a teacher of the Old and New Testaments, symbolized by the two white ties worn over the robe. Sometimes pastors do not wear this robe or may wear a white one instead, particularly the Lutherans. In both Reformed and Lutheran Churches women can also be pastors, a characteristic of Protestantism. But a lay preacher can also take the service – in this case he would have studied some theology and been given special permission from the Parish Council.

It takes quite a while to prepare a service. First, the pastor or preacher chooses the text of the day from the Bible and usually three hymns based more or less on the same theme. Then he gets in touch with the organist who will accompany the hymns and provide musical interludes during the service. Sometimes a text can be studied over several succeeding weeks or else it can be chosen from the Catholic list of texts used all through the year to give the service an ecumenical approach. Nowadays, often the reading is taken from the Old Testament, then the Epistles and lastly the Gospel, but the preacher can choose whatever he thinks best – it may only be a single text or a few verses.

The Lutheran and Reformed Liturgy (or main events during the service)

  • A pastor preaching, behind the chalices used for the Lord's Supper © Cécile Lhermitte
  • © Godong
  • © Oratoire du Louvre - Paris
  • Baptême protestant © Collection privée

From the Reformation onwards, the Protestant service has always been held in the vernacular, that is to say, the everyday language of the congregation. The liturgy developed little by little. The service is where God and humanity meet. First, the pastor welcomes the congregation; this is followed by a greeting, the proclamation of God’s grace freely given to us and an act of praise. Next comes a psalm, the confession of sins, a declaration of God’s forgiveness and his desire that men should no longer live for themselves but to serve him. All this is interspersed with prayers and sung responses from the liturgy which can vary according to the different liturgical seasons of the Church Year (Advent, Christmas, Epiphany, Lent, Easter, Ascension, Whitsun, Trinity.) However, only the Lutherans use different colours (violet, white, green and red) to symbolize these different seasons of the Church Year.

The congregation uses a hymn book which also contains psalms. These accompany the Bible reading and the sermon which is the very centre of the Protestant service – it is a Bible commentary of the Living Word. Before the Bible reading there is a prayer invoking the Holy Spirit so that he may illuminate the Word of God and breathe life into it so that the believer may be open to Christ’s message for his life in the world. The sermon lasts about 15 – 20 minutes and serves to create a certain distance from the worries of everyday life and should make people think in depth about its contents. Also, for the Reformed and Lutheran Churches, it can sometimes be quite intellectual.

The atmosphere of the prayers: requests made to God, prayers of gratitude or intercession and the Our Father is a time of sobriety and order with moments of silence in between. Christ must always remain at the centre, the basis of faith. The preacher, standing in the pulpit, is the meeting point between the eternal Word of God and a human explanation of the text in the context of everyday life. After the sermon and a musical interlude, the believers confess their faith, using either the Apostles’ Creed or a confession of faith coming from one of the other Reformed Churches or even a credo written by the preacher himself which is also a personal profession of faith. There is a specific time for notices, which bring news of the Church at a local, regional and national level. After this is the offertory, a sign of gratitude. Lastly comes a prayer of intercession and the pastor sends the believers out into the world to witness to their faith. The final blessing reassures the congregation that God’s peace goes with each one of them in his mission to the world.

Two sacraments recognized by the Protestants may be celebrated during the service: Holy Communion (which may be held four times a year, twice a month or every Sunday) and the Baptism of adults or children.

Holy Communion is not an essential element of the service for Protestants. It is the moment when Christ invites the believer to come into his presence and offers himself to him. Both the Reformed and Lutheran Churches practice the Sharing of the Bread and Wine (although the Lutherans use Communion wafers.)The bread and wine are, in fact, only symbols. At Holy Communion the believers proclaim the death of Christ, which has reconciled Man to God. They confess the risen Christ in their midst. The words pronounced in the Preface (the Father) the Institution of the Anamnesis (the Son) and the Epiclesis (the Holy Ghost) symbolize the Trinity.

The congregation stand in a circle to take Communion, which is both the Word of God and a sacrament. At Communion it’s the same word which lives, but as an act, a sign in life and is for all. The sacrament of Communion is in memory of the Last Supper taken by Jesus with his disciples and binds them together for ever. The Last Supper is given to the whole community and to each one in particular. By doing this the congregation is united into one body, because it is the Church’s vocation to be the body of Christ.

Baptism often takes place on Sundays to show that the one who is baptized (whether a child or an adult) is part of the community, where he will always have his place, even if he should stray away from it. Often the pastor presents the child to the congregation.

A liturgy has been established for Lutheran and Reformed Churches but for each parish there is no rigid definition of how this should be respected.

Services in Evangelical Churches

  • The Evangelical Pentecostal church in Narbonne © Addnarbonne
  • Baptism by total immersion © FEEBF

In many Evangelical Churches oral expression is fairly spontaneous, whether it is a matter of prayers (where there is no text) the personal witness to one’s faith, expressions of praise or hymns, which can vary a great deal from one church to another. Contemporary hymns, accompanied by modern music, which appeared at the time of the Charismatic Movement, are much more popular than traditional Protestant hymns. Evangelicals consider any form of liturgy as rather austere and rigid. Their Churches expect their members to be deeply involved in their community. The service is lively, a real celebration with musicians. The congregation clap their hands to the rhythm of the music in order to express their joy during the wonderful service. Sometimes the music is of high quality. The celebration of Holy Communion for Evangelicals is in remembrance of Christ, a command to be obeyed while awaiting his return.

In the Baptist Church the service can take many forms. It is a special time when people can meet each other and when the congregation can meet God. The brotherhood of believers praise God through the person of Jesus Christ. Individual piety is considered more important than an expression of faith by the whole community. This is why traditional texts such as the confession of faith are not often used.

In the Assembly of God (Pentecostal Churches) a time of praise can last between fifteen and thirty minutes according to where they are held and varying circumstances. Every believer is called to express heartfelt praise to God. This time of praise is according to the fervor of the congregation. This is when charismatic gifts are made manifest, whether it be speaking in tongues or acts of healing. Holy Communion is preceded by a Bible Reading carried out by a chosen member of the community and a prayer of thanksgiving. The sermon can be an exhortation, instruction or sometimes a Bible Study. When notices are given there may be information about future projects, the needs of the local Church but also of those elsewhere in France or in the world, news from missionaries or charity work.

Surprisingly, the Protestant Gypsy community is a world-wide Church Movement. An Evangelical Gypsy Mission sometimes gathers 30 000 people who have come in their caravans from all over Europe. Their faith is very deep and emotional. Baptism is done by immersion as in other Evangelical Churches and concerns only adults. The Evangelical Gypsy Mission is part of the French Protestant Federation. So it could be said that for Protestants, each local church expresses its faith according to its interpretation of the Bible, its traditions, its theological tendencies and the sociological make-up of its communities. In this way, services can vary considerably one from another.

                                              

Bibliography

  • Books
    • GAGNEBIN Laurent, Le culte à Chœur ouvert, Labor et Fidès, Genève, 1992
    • REYMOND Bernard, Liturgies en chantier, Belle Rivère, lausanne, 1984

Associated notes

Random notes

Le culte protestant français aujourd’hui

Le culte, fondé sur la Bible, est un temps consacré à Dieu. Il est une rencontre dont Dieu a l’initiative. Communautaire, il rend l’Église visible dans la diversité de ses expressions. Les lieux et les liturgies reflètent la spécificité du culte protestant.

Les lieux de cultes

  • Nouveau temple de Saint-Paul-la-Coste (Gard)
    Nouveau temple de Saint-Paul-la-Coste (Gard) © O. d'Haussonville

A vrai dire, les protestants ne devraient avoir besoin ni de bâtiments ni de locaux spéciaux pour la célébration du culte puisqu’ils sont eux-mêmes « le temple de Dieu ». Il y a lieu de culte partout où les protestants, seuls ou en groupe réunis dans des maisons, rendent à Dieu un culte, y compris lors de cultes radiodiffusés ou télévisés.  La plupart des nouvelles Églises évangéliques se réunissent dans d’anciens cinémas ou entrepôts. Toutefois l’assemblée, en réponse à l’appel de Dieu, se réunit le plus souvent dans un temple.

Précisons que le temple n’est ni un lieu consacré ni un lieu sacré. Fermés en principe en semaine (sauf en cas de bénédictions nuptiales, de services funèbres, de conférences, ou réunions diverses), les temples ne sont ouverts traditionnellement que le dimanche (le samedi pour les Adventistes).

 

  • Table de communion et la Bible, au centre de l'Oratoire du Louvre © Oratoire du Louvre - Paris
  • Église des Billettes (orgue)
    Église des Billettes (orgue) © Gérard Boniface
  • Culte au Musée du Désert (30)
    Culte au Musée du Désert (30) © Haussonville

L’intérieur des temples réformés étonne par un certain dépouillement destiné à ne pas distraire l’assistance tournée vers Dieu. Le mobilier est composé de bancs ou chaises, d’une table de communion placée sous la chaire souvent munie d’un abat-voix pour une meilleure audition. L’usage protestant veut qu’une grande Bible, généralement ancienne, soit toujours ouverte sur la table de communion (à droite).

Les luthériens préfèrent parler d’églises que de temples, d’autel que de table. La table est uniquement destinée à la célébration eucharistique, revêtu d’une draperie à la couleur des temps liturgiques ; un lutrin est utilisé dans leurs églises pour faire pivoter éventuellement la Bible vers les fidèles après la lecture pour que la Bible soit visible par tous.

Dans les temples réformés, seuls des versets sont peints ou gravés dans la pierre ou le bois et généralement une simple croix sans crucifix  rappellent au chrétien son identité et dit aussi que le Christ est ressuscité, qu’il n’est plus sur la croix. Chez les luthériens alsaciens il n’est pas rare de voir des vitraux et de peintures figurant la vie de Jésus.

Les orgues ornent le fond de l’édifice pour les temps de musique et d’accompagnement des chants de l’assemblée. Un harmonium suffit parfois. D’autres instruments sont également utilisés.

Le culte peut aussi se dérouler en plein air, lors du grand rassemblement au Musée du Désert, par exemple, où 15 000 à 20 000 protestants venus de toute la France et même de l’étranger se réunissent chaque année le premier dimanche de septembre, sous les chênes et les châtaigniers du Mas Soubeyran (Mialet, Gard) pour se souvenir des temps héroïques de la foi lors des persécutions des huguenots.

Le culte dominical chez les luthériens et les réformés

  • Robe de pasteur
    Robe de pasteur © Isabelle de Rouville
  • Le rôle des femmes dans le protestantisme
    Le rôle des femmes dans le protestantisme © © Sophie Reille - Réforme

Le culte dominical réunit une assemblée plus ou moins importante réunie autour de la Parole de Dieu et des sacrements. Généralement le pasteur revêt une robe noire qui n’est pas une robe sacerdotale, mais le signe de son rôle d’enseignant de l’Ancien et du Nouveau Testament. C’est ce que signifient les deux rabats blancs posés par-dessus la robe. Il arrive que les pasteurs soient en civil ou revêtus d’une robe blanche, notamment chez les luthériens. Il existe dans les Églises réformées et luthériennes des femmes-pasteures. C’est là une des spécificités des Églises protestantes. Mais il arrive aussi qu’un prédicateur laïc, formé en théologie, muni d’une délégation pastorale, préside un culte dominical.

La préparation d’un service demande un certain soin et du temps. Le pasteur ou le prédicateur choisit d’abord le(s) texte(s) biblique(s) du jour et généralement les trois cantiques les mieux en cohérence avec sa prédication. Il se met en relation ensuite avec l’organiste qui accompagne les chants et joue quelques partitions en solo. Il peut opter pour des lectures continues d’un texte au fil des dimanches, ou dans un esprit œcuménique, suivre le lectionnaire des textes choisis par l’Église catholique pour l’année.  Il est courant de lire successivement l’Ancien Testament, puis les Épitres et enfin les Évangiles. Mais le choix reste à la convenance de l’officiant et peut aussi être limité à un seul texte ou quelques versets.

Le déroulement d’un culte, appelée liturgie, de tradition luthérienne et réformée

  • Pasteur en chaire, derrière les coupes de la Sainte Cène
    Pasteur en chaire, derrière les coupes de la Sainte Cène © Cécile Lhermitte
  • Cène sur la table de communion : le vin dans les coupes et le pain © Godong
  • Communion à l'Oratoire du Louvre, la tablée vu de haut © Oratoire du Louvre - Paris
  • Baptême protestant
    Baptême protestant © Collection privée

Le culte protestant se pratique en langue vernaculaire dès l’origine de la Réforme. La liturgie s’est progressivement structurée. Le culte est le lieu d’une rencontre entre Dieu et les hommes. Il commence par un accueil de l’assemblée, suivie d’une salutation, d’une louange adressée à Dieu après que la grâce première de Dieu ait été proclamée. Il se poursuit par le chant d’un psaume, une confession du péché, l’annonce du pardon de Dieu, le rappel de la volonté de Dieu afin que l’homme ne se recentre pas sur lui-même. Le tout est ponctué de prières et répons chantés, choisis en fonction des temps liturgiques (de l’Avent et Noël, de la Passion, de Pâques, de Pentecôte et de l’Église). A noter l’importance pour les seuls luthériens de faire usage de couleurs liturgiques (violet, blanc, vert et rouge) pour marquer les temps liturgiques.

Les communautés disposent généralement de recueil de psaumes et cantiques. Les cantiques encadrent les lectures bibliques et la prédication qui est le moment central et constitutif du culte protestant, exégèse et parole vivante. La lecture est précédée d’une prière invoquant l’Esprit Saint, dite prière d’illumination, afin que la Parole de Dieu ne soit pas lettre morte pour les fidèles d’aujourd’hui, mais ouverte à l’inattendu, à l’actualité du message du Christ. La prédication dure environ 15 à 20 minutes. Elle est le moment qui aide l’assistance à prendre du recul par rapport aux aléas de la vie quotidienne. Une bonne prédication doit donner à réfléchir. Elle se caractérise parfois par un certain intellectualisme chez les luthériens et les réformés.

Les prières de demande, de gratitude et d’intercession, et le Notre Père, appellent à une sobriété de ton et des silences en guise de respiration spirituelle. En aucun cas, l’assemblée ne doit perdre le centre qui est le Christ, sinon elle est coupée de ses racines. Du haut de la chaire, le prédicateur est le point de rencontre entre la Parole éternelle de Dieu et des paroles humaines qui explicitent le texte dans le contexte actuel. A la suite de la prédication et d’un temps de musique, l’église confesse sa foi en récitant soit le Symbole des Apôtres, soit une des confessions des Églises issues de la Réforme ou encore une confession du choix personnel de l’officiant faisant d’elle davantage une profession de foi. Une place est réservée aux annonces qui apportent des nouvelles du monde et de la vie de l’Église au plan local, régional, national. Elles sont suivies de l’offrande en signe de reconnaissance. Les cultes se terminent par une prière d’intercession et un envoi dans le monde pour que les fidèles y vivent leur foi et en témoignent. La bénédiction finale atteste à la communauté sur le point de se disperser que la paix de Dieu accompagne chacun de ses membres dans sa mission au dehors, dans la cité.

Au cours du culte peuvent s’insérer les deux sacrements reconnus par les protestants à savoir, la Sainte Cène de fréquence variable selon les paroisses (quatre fois par an, deux fois par mois, tous les dimanches) et le baptême d’adultes ou d’enfants.

La Cène n’est pas chez les protestants un élément obligatoire constitutif du culte. C’est le repas auquel le Seigneur lui-même convie les chrétiens et s’offre à eux. Les fidèles réformés et luthériens pratiquent le partage du pain (ou de l’hostie pour les luthériens) et du vin. Le pain et le vin n’ont en eux-mêmes qu’une valeur de symboles. En célébrant la Cène, les fidèles proclament la mort du Christ par laquelle Dieu a réconcilié le monde avec lui-même. Ils confessent la présence du Seigneur ressuscité parmi eux.  Les paroles dites ont quelque chose de symboliquement trinitaire, lors de la Préface (le Père), de l’Institution-Anamnèse (le Fils) de l’Épiclèse (le Saint-Esprit).

En cercle l’assemblée prend la Cène. Parole et sacrement ne s’opposent pas. Avec la Cène, c’est la même parole qui vit, mais en acte, en signe, en vie. La Parole vise tous les hommes. Le sacrement de la Cène est un mémorial du dernier repas de Jésus pris avec ses disciples pour les lier à jamais. Bien que communautaire, la Cène saisit chacun individuellement. Et ce faisant, elle réunit l’assemblée en un seul corps, car c’est là la vocation de l’Église d’être le corps du Christ.

Les baptêmes ont souvent lieu le dimanche pour manifester l’intégration du baptisé (enfant ou adulte) dans la communauté et pour lui signifier qu’il y aura toujours sa place, même s’il vient à s’en écarter. Il est courant que le pasteur présente l’enfant à la communauté.

S’il existe un cadre liturgique dans les Églises luthériennes et réformées, mais une grande latitude est laissée à chaque paroisse.

Le culte dans les Église évangéliques

  • Eglise évangélique de Pentecôte à Narbonne
    Eglise évangélique de Pentecôte à Narbonne © Addnarbonne
  • Baptême par immersion dans une église baptiste.
    Baptême par immersion dans une église baptiste. © FEEBF

Dans beaucoup d’Églises évangéliques, une grande importance est accordée à la parole spontanée, sous formes de temps de prières libres, de témoignages de vie, de temps de louange par le chant, lectures de versets bibliques. L’hymnologie est très diverse d’une Église à l’autre.

Les chants contemporains, sur des musiques de « variété », apparus avec le mouvement charismatique, l’emportent largement sur les hymnes et cantiques de tradition protestante. Les évangéliques sont moins attachés à une liturgie perçue comme un peu austère ou figée. Leurs Églises attendent de leurs membres un engagement fort dans la vie de la communauté. Le culte est animé, festif, avec musique d’orchestre et frappe des mains dans la communauté pour accompagner la batterie et exprimer la joie de ce temps fort du culte. Dans certains cas, la batterie atteint une capacité expressive indubitable. Pour les évangéliques, la Cène est avant tout un mémorial célébré à la demande du Christ en attendant son retour.

Dans les Églises baptistes, existe une grande diversité dans l’expression cultuelle. Le culte est le temps privilégié de rencontres des uns avec les autres et de rencontre commune avec Dieu. Il est louange d’une communauté fraternelle, adressée à Dieu par Jésus Christ, mais dans laquelle, toutefois, l’expression de la piété individuelle l’emporte sur l’expression commune de la foi. C’est pourquoi les textes de la tradition chrétienne, les confessions de foi par exemple, sont sous-utilisés.

Dans les Assemblées de Dieu (pentecôtistes), la durée des chants varie entre quinze et trente minutes selon les circonstances et les lieux. Chaque participant est exhorté à présenter à Dieu sa louange avec les paroles du cœur. Le temps de louange des croyants varie selon la ferveur qui peut se manifester. C’est au cours de ce temps que vont s’exprimer les charismes. Il s’agit en particulier des dons de langues et de guérison. La Cène est précédée d’une lecture biblique par une personne désignée ainsi que d’une prière d’action de grâce. La prédication peut revêtir la forme d’une exhortation ou d’édification et parfois d’une étude biblique. Au moment des informations sont présentés projets, besoins de l’Église locale mais aussi ceux d’autres assemblées en France ou dans le monde, nouvelles missionnaires ou actions humanitaires…

Phénomène assez étonnant, les communautés tziganes protestantes du monde se constituent en un mouvement mondial d’église. Le culte célébré avec la Mission Évangélique Tzigane (MET) peut rassembler sous un chapiteau, 30 000 personnes venues en caravanes de tous les pays d’Europe. La ferveur y est intense. Le baptême, toujours à l’âge adulte, se pratique par immersion comme dans les autres Églises évangéliques. La Mission évangélique tzigane de France est rattachée à la Fédération Protestante de France.

Ainsi, dans le protestantisme, chaque Église locale exprime sa foi selon la compréhension de la Bible, les traditions, les sensibilités théologiques et la sociologie des communautés. Il en résulte une grande diversité de cultes.

Bibliographie

  • Livres
    • GAGNEBIN Laurent, Le culte à Chœur ouvert, Labor et Fidès, Genève, 1992
    • REYMOND Bernard, Liturgies en chantier, Belle Rivère, lausanne, 1984

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices