The Gypsy Evangelical Mission in France

This Mission is a member of the French Protestant Federation and unites several separate Churches.

The Protestant Gypsy Evangelical Mission is part of the Revival Movement which transformed evangelization by its energy and deep convictions. Gypsy Evangelical Protestantism is deeply rooted in the Bible; one of its essential beliefs is that the baptism of adults by immersion is the only valid form of baptism.

The vocation of Clément Le Cossec

  • Baptême évangélique tzigane par immersion
    © Site officiel du pasteur Clément Le Cossec

Clément Le Cossec, pastor of the Assemblies of God in Lille, met members of the gypsy community in 1950. While co-ordinating a local Pentecostal group in Brest he met another Gypsy community who were rejected by many ministers in their churches as their baptism was not considered acceptable. Without any official training self-appoint ted pastors baptized in the name of the Holy Spirit.

Clément Le Cossec decided to come to their aid.

While still remaining a missionary for the Church of the Assemblies of God, he also converted three thousand gypsies and undertook to give them the support they needed:

“Le Cossec discovered that his role in life was to be a missionary to French gypsies”. He then set about training pastors and preachers chosen from the gypsy community who soon became leaders of family groups and missions. He had to establish “mobile Churches” and train leaders capable of conducting a dialogue with the public authorities.

The beginning of the Gypsy Mission

The Gypsies (later called the Travellers by the administration) discovered Protestantism for the first time in France in the 1950’s.  The first Protestant Gypsy association to come into being was called “Deliverance: the Gypsy Evangelical Mission in France” which was founded on 28 December 1957.

Later the General Assembly held on 26 February 1961 decided to call it “The Gypsy Evangelical Mission in France, Life and Light”.  It mainly concerned Gypsies from all the existing groups at the time: Manouche, Sintis, Gitans, Yeniches and Roms and its aim was to announce the Gospel in France and all over the world.     In 1975 the Mission became an official member of the French Protestant Federation, who united together many separate Churches. Since this date Gypsy pastors have always taken part in the Council of the Federation.

There has been a succession of different general secretaries. There was Pastor Honoré Martin from 1961 – 1986, then Pastor Wasso Ferret, known as Balo was the second general secretary of the Gypsy Mission, Life and Light from 1986 – 2005 – he took part in several negociations with successive Ministers of the Interior. In 1997, he organized the first preparatory meeting for the “Long Journeys”: representatives from local authorities were invited to meet leaders of the Gypsy groups at a meeting in Neroy (Loiret). Mario Holderbaum has been general secretary since 2005.

Pastor George Meyer, known as Jimmy, was publicly recognized for his enormous contribution to the success of the Gypsy Evangelical Mission in France, Life and Light, as its President. He was given the “Légion d’Honneur”by Bernard Cazenove, the Minister of the Interior and Religious Matters on 14th January 2015.

In 2018, there were more than 120 000 evangelical Gypsies in France, which is to say about 40% of all French Travellers, under the leadership of 2351 pastors and preachers.  In France, the Mission also consists of 320 Churches who assist many families settling in for the winter in different locations. Some assemblies have as many as 500 members, who are kept in contact with the Mission in this way.

The tradition of “Long Journeys”

Every year starts with a traditional spring meeting in Nevoy which gathers together more than 500 caravans (30 000 to 35 000 people). This is when families prepare to disperse later in the summer: groups of itinerant Gypsies are organized into different “missions” or “conventions” with the aim of both linking up with their families and evangelizing; they go to more than 1 000 towns over a period of several months, from the beginning of May until the end of August. Nearly 200 groups of more than150 caravans park their vehicles and put up their marquees or tents in specially allocated areas such as municipal car parks. They stay for about a fortnight and then move on.

These “Long Journeys” refer to the Gypsies constant, wanderings all over France and they are organized with the support of the Minister of the Interior. Traditionally there is another last great assembly of the Gypsy community at the end of the summer.

Pastoral training

  • Culte Vie et Lumière
    © Albert Huber

The first Bible College for the training of pastors was set up in 1966 in the Loiret. In 1978 the training centre for preachers moved to the Cher, where it stayed until 1988, when the Life and Light International College returned to the Loiret, setting up its buildings on a 128 hectare plot of land that had been bought by the Association for the main annual meetings.

An organization for social and educational action

In the nineteen sixties, the National and International Association for Social Action in the Gypsy Community was organized.”Its role was to help every racial group and every religion to be found in the Gypsy community (Manouche, Sinti, Gitan, Yeniche, Rom) and to travelers who shared the same life style. Its purpose was to guarantee a global project which established the acceptance of Gypsies by the society as a whole and providing support which would enable their families to obtain a decent standard of living. Its ultimate aim was to further the wellbeing of Gypsies, to preserve their cultural identity, their way of life and their history.”

They became more integrated into society.

The Association has a role of mediation and support in the Gypsy community; it is a member of the national advisory committee for travelling people. It has employees and voluntary Gypsy mediators in different countries. It participates actively in meetings with Prefects to plan centres in each county where Gypsies can seek assistance and they also negociate to build car parks where caravans can stay. They have worked together with the National Education to create School Caravans in several counties as well as 9 jobs for school mediators.

In 1983, the Gypsy Evangelical Mission, Light and Life, in France started up its own Gypsy Chaplaincy within the Protestant federation. About fifty Gypsy pastors under the leadership of a general chaplain are officially appointed by the Ministry of Justice to work in prisons. There is a service for the reinsertion of prisoners after their release and the possibility of writing letters to their families.

In 2015, a small group of Protestants, not all of whom were Gypsies, gathered together to create the Protestant Association of Gypsies’ Friends. Their aim was to defend the Gypsies’ right to maintain their specific way of life and to encourage links between the different Protestant communities. The association became a member of the French Protestant Federation who recognized it in the category of:  a community, charitable association or social movement.

The Evangelical Movement became International

The evangelization movement started by Pastor Le Cossec soon spread into every country in Western Europe. Strong links unite these countries and they also work together with many nations: India, Eastern Europe and the Balkans.

In 2017, the number of evangelical Protestant Gypsies could be estimated as more than a million and a half, living in more than 44 countries throughout the world. Evangelical Protestantism can be found in every group of Gypsies, whether they are Travellers or not.

The Gypsies and Travellers International Evangelical Fellowship is active in social, educational, legal, humanitarian and medical spheres.

Author: APATZI (Association Protestante des Amis des Tziganes)

Bibliography

  • Sites
    • Site officiel du pasteur Clément Le Cossec | Link
    • Association Protestante des Amis des Tziganes | Link
  • Documents
    • Dépêches Tziganes | Link
  • Books
    • Revue Vie & Lumière n°115, 1987, 2ème trimestre
  • Articles
    • Marie Lefebvre-Billiez, "La formation des pasteurs tziganes à l’école biblique de Vie et Lumière", Réforme, Paris, 2017, Numéro Juin | Link

Associated notes

La Mission évangélique tzigane de France

La Mission est une union d’Églises, membre de la Fédération protestante de France.

Le protestantisme évangélique tzigane fait partie des mouvements de Réveil qui ont dynamisé les mouvements d’évangélisation. Considérant seule recevable la pratique du baptême par immersion des personnes adultes, le protestantisme tzigane reste profondément enraciné dans la Bible.

La vocation

  • Baptême évangélique tzigane par immersion © Site officiel du pasteur Clément Le Cossec

Clément Le Cossec, pasteur des Assemblées de Dieu à Lille, rencontre pour la première fois la communauté tzigane en 1950. A Brest où il coordonne un groupe local pentecôtiste, c’est une communauté tzigane désorientée qu’il rencontre à nouveau : aucun pasteur ne veut les accepter dans leur Église car tous (lui compris) leur refusent le baptême ; sans aucune formation théologique, des pasteurs se lèvent parmi la communauté et baptisent au nom du Saint-Esprit.

Le pasteur Clément Le Cossec va alors choisir de s’y attacher.

Alors qu’il exerce toujours pour son Église des Assemblées de Dieu un ministère missionnaire, trois mille gitans sont ainsi convertis qu’il choisira d’accompagner :

« Le Cossec a découvert les Tsiganes de France comme sa terre de mission ». Il forme alors des prédicateurs et des pasteurs parmi les hommes de la communauté qui deviennent rapidement des leaders à la tête des groupes familiaux et des missions : il s’agit de fonder des « églises roulantes » et de trouver des interlocuteurs aux pouvoirs publics.

Le Réveil des Tsiganes par l'Apôtre des Tsiganes Clément Le Cossec

La naissance de la Mission tzigane

C’est en France dans les années 1950 que les Tziganes (dits plus tard gens du voyage par l’administration) découvrent pour la première fois le protestantisme. Une première association cultuelle dite « La Délivrance, mission évangélique des tziganes de France » est fondée le 28 décembre 1957.

Elle prend ensuite le titre de « Mission évangélique des tziganes de France, Vie & Lumière » par délibération de son assemblée générale le 26 février 1961. Son objet, qui inclut l’annonce de l’Évangile sur le territoire national et dans tous les pays étrangers, s’exerce prioritairement parmi les tziganes de tous les groupes existants : Manouches, Sintis, Gitans, Yéniches et Roms. En 1975, la Mission devient officiellement membre de la Fédération protestante de France (F.P.F) au titre des Unions d’Églises. Des pasteurs tziganes siègent au Conseil de la Fédération depuis cette date.

Le pasteur Wasso Ferret, dit Balo, est le premier secrétaire général de la Mission tzigane Vie et Lumière de 1985-2005. Il participe à plusieurs négociations avec les ministres de l’Intérieur successifs. En 1997, il organise la première rencontre de préparation des grands passages en invitant des représentants des collectivités à rencontrer les responsables de groupes lors du rassemblement de Nevoy (Loiret).

Vécue comme une reconnaissance publique de la mission d’accompagnement de la METF Vie & Lumière, son président le pasteur Georges Meyer, dit Jimmy, reçoit la Légion  d’honneur des mains du ministre de l’Intérieur et des cultes, Bernard Cazeneuve, le 14 janvier 2015.

On compte en 2018 en France plus de 120 000 Tziganes évangéliques soit 40% de la population des Gens du voyage, encadrés par 2 351 prédicateurs et pasteurs. En France, la Mission regroupe 320 Églises qui accompagnent le mouvement de sédentarisation de très nombreuses familles pendant la période hivernale. Ces assemblées peuvent atteindre plus de 500 membres qui restent ainsi en lien.

Emission dédiée au réveil de la mission tzigane, interview de Wasso Ferret (dit Balo) par Esaïe Helfrid

La tradition des grands passages

  • Dernier grand rassemblement de l’été © Site officiel du pasteur Clément La Cossec

Chaque année un premier rassemblement traditionnel de printemps où sont réunies plus de 5 000 caravanes (30 000 à 35 000 personnes) a lieu à Nevoy. C’est l’occasion pour les familles de se préparer à la dispersion de l’été : les groupes tziganes itinérants s’organisent alors en « missions » ou « conventions » qui sont tout à la fois des retrouvailles  familiales et des temps forts d’évangélisation : plus de 1 000 villes sont visitées pendant plusieurs mois depuis le début du mois de mai jusqu’à la fin du mois d’août par près de 200 groupes de plus de 150 caravanes chacun qui planteront leur chapiteaux successivement pour une quinzaine de jours sur des aires dédiées.

Cette mobilité géographique a pris le nom de grands passages, des pérégrinations organisées en collaboration avec le Ministère de l’Intérieur. Traditionnellement à la fin de l’été, la communauté se retrouve encore pour un dernier grand rassemblement qui clôt la période estivale.

La formation des pasteurs

  • Culte Vie et Lumière © Albert Huber

La première école biblique de formation des pasteurs est créée en 1966 dans le Loiret. En 1978, le centre de formation des prédicateurs se déplace dans le Cher où il restera jusqu’en 1988. C’est à  cette période que le centre international de formation biblique Vie et Lumière (CIFB) fait son retour dans le Loiret, sur le terrain de 128 hectares acquis par l’association qui sert aux grands rassemblements annuels de printemps

 

Les actions sociales et éducatives

Dès les années 1960, l’Action sociale nationale Internationale tzigane (ASNIT) est organisée : elle « s’adresse à toutes ethnies, de toutes obédiences religieuses, composant la communauté tzigane (Manouches, Sintis, Gitans, Yéniches et Roms) et aux voyageurs qui en ont le mode de vie. Son objectif [est de] garantir un projet global de prévention de l’exclusion et de promotion sociale des familles. Sa finalité : favoriser l’épanouissement des gens du voyage, en préservant l’identité culturelle tzigane, son mode de vie et son histoire »  Des antennes sociales sont développées.

Chargée d’un travail de médiation et de soutien auprès des Gens du voyage, l’ASNIT est membre de la Commission nationale consultative des Gens du voyage. Elle emploie des salariés et des médiateurs tziganes départementaux bénévoles. Elle participe activement aux réunions préfectorales pour l’élaboration des schémas départementaux d’accueil et la création des terrains de stationnement. En relation avec l’Éducation nationale, des projets de caravanes écoles ont vu le jour dans plusieurs départements ainsi que la création de 9 postes de médiatrices scolaires.

Depuis 1983, la Mission évangélique des Tziganes de France (METF-Vie et Lumière) crée une aumônerie des tziganes au sein de l’aumônerie des prisons de la Fédération protestante. Une cinquantaine de pasteurs tziganes et voyageurs, sous la responsabilité d’un aumônier général, sont agréés par le ministère de la Justice pour exercer leur ministère dans les prisons. Un service de correspondance et de réinsertion fonctionne auprès des détenus.

En 2015, un petit groupe de protestants, tziganes et non-tziganes, se réunit pour créer l’Association protestante des Amis des Tziganes (APATZI) avec pour objectif de défendre le droit des Tziganes à conserver leur mode de vie et pour encourager les liens fraternels entre les communautés protestantes. L’association  devient membre de la Fédération protestante de France en 2018, au titre des communautés, œuvres et mouvements.

La structure internationale

Très rapidement  mouvement d’évangélisation mis en place par le pasteur Le Cossec dépasse les frontières et touche tous les pays d’Europe occidentale. Des liens solides unissent ces pays et des actions communes sont menées dans de nombreuses nations : Inde, pays de l’Est, Balkans

En 2017, on pouvait estimer à plus d’un million et demi le nombre des Tziganes et gens du voyage protestants évangéliques et leur implantation dans plus de 44 pays à travers le monde. Le protestantisme évangélique est présent dans tous les groupes de voyageurs, qu’ils pratiquent le mode de vie mobile ou qu’ils soient sédentarisés.

Le Gypsies and Travellers International Evangelical Fellowship (GATIEF) agit dans les domaines social, éducatif, justice, humanitaire et médical.

Tziganes et chrétiens Pasteur René ZANELLATO
Auteur : APATZI (Association Protestante des Amis des Tziganes)

Bibliographie

  • Sites
    • Site officiel du pasteur Clément Le Cossec | Lien
    • Association Protestante des Amis des Tziganes | Lien
  • Documents
    • Dépêches Tziganes | Lien
  • Livres
    • Revue Vie & Lumière n°115, 1987, 2ème trimestre
  • Articles
    • Marie Lefebvre-Billiez, « La formation des pasteurs tziganes à l’école biblique de Vie et Lumière », Réforme, Paris, 2017, Numéro Juin | Lien

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices

p
u
b
l
i
c
i
t
e