The Hottinguer family

The Hottinguer family was from Zurich, and gave birth to a line of Protestant pastors, intellectuals and bankers. In the 18th century two branches stood out, one of pastors and the other of merchants. From the second branch came bankers, who worked for the development of France, their adoptive country, for more than two centuries.

Pastors, theologians

  • Blason suisse de la famille Hottinguer
    Arms of the swiss Hottinger dynasty © Wikimedia Creative commons
  • Johann Heinrich Hottinger (1620-1667) © Wikimedia Creative Commons

Klaus Hottinger (1467-1524), a disciple of Zwingli, was the first martyr of the Swiss Protestant movement. In the family were theologians, such as Johann Heinrich (1620-1667), or scientists like Klaus’s grandson Hans-Heinrich (1620-1667), known as Johann-Heinrich Hottinger, a famous orientalist, theology historian, and dean of Heidelberg University.

Sébastien Hottinger (1538-1600), the brother of Hans-Heinrich, was a doctor and member of the Municipal Council of Zurich. His grandson Hans-Rudolf Hottinger (1600-1670) was at the head of a new Hottinger line of clerics. His son Rudolf (1642-1692), and his grandson Hans-Rudolf (1673-1732), also were pastors.

And bankers

  • Jean-Conrad Hottinguer (1764-1841) © Wikimedia Creative Commons
  • Letters patent from Napoleon conferring the title of baron on Jean-Conrad Hottinger (1810) © Rodolphe Hottinguer - Wikimedia Creative commons
  • Front facade of the Piple castle in Boissy-Saint-Léger (94) © Wikimedia Creative Commons

Hans-Konrad Hottinguer, Johann-Konrad (1764-1841) or Jean-Conrad was merely 26 years old when he opened a banking trade named ‘Messieurs Rougemont et Hottinguer’ in Paris where his family sent him for an internship. As early as 1787, the bank was listed in the Royal Almanac. It was located on the rue Croix-des-Petits-Champs, in the Hôtel de Beaupréaux, and became in 1790 the institution called ‘Messieurs Hottinguer & Cie, banquiers à Paris’. In 1793, Johann-Konrad was sued for ‘royalist activities’ and fled to Zurich and then to England where he married Martha Eliza Redwood, the daughter of an American planter, born in Newport, USA. In 1794 the couple went to the United States and met a group of French immigrants, Talleyrand was one of them. In January 1798, when Jean-Conrad came back to Europe he had a premonition about the role of banks in the market economy, and he was appointed  Régent de la Banque de France in 1803. For over a century, the Hottinguer were continuously on the board of directors.

The name ‘Hottinger’ was gallicised into ‘Hottinguer’ in 1810 when he was granted a Baron of the Empire patent. In 1818, Jean-Conrad founded the Caisse d’Epargne de Paris with the Delessert family. In 1819 he purchased the château du Piple located between Boissy-St-Léger and Sucy en Brie. The Hottinguer family rarely lived there during the early years.

  • Baron Jean-Henri Hottinguer (1803-1866)
  • Puits Hottinguer et central électrique - Epinac
    Hottinguer well and power plant - Epinac les Mines

Jean-Henri HOTTINGUER (1803-1866) studied in London, New York and New Orleans before succeeding his father in 1833. He was a renowned banker, as testified by his appointment as Régent de la Banque de France that very same year, and two years later as Director of the Caisse d’Epargne et de Prévoyance de Paris, founded by his father and the Delessert family. In 1832 he married Caroline Delessert and took over the Banque Delessert in 1848. The Hottinguer Firm became one of the major international companies trading with the United States, and specialised in cotton and colonial goods. In 1835, he took part in creating the coal mines and railways of Epinac corporation with the Mallet family, thus asserting the prominent role of the high Protestant bank in the development of the steel industry in the Lorraine region.

 

  • Baroness Jean-Henri Hottinguer, née Caroline Delessert © Wikimedia Creative Commons

 Caroline Delessert HOTTINGUER conducted charity work with her own money. She set up a dormitory with six beds and six cradles for destitute women who had just given birth, which anticipated the maternal Asylum. She turned the Château du Piple into a luxury residence, where their son Henri-François was born in 1846. Their deep-rootedness in Boissy-St-Léger led Jean-Henri to be Mayor of the city from 1844 to 1852. Jean-Henri contributed to the financing of the railway line from Paris-Bastille to Boissy-Saint-Léger, which was prolonged to Brie-Comte-Robert and managed by the Company of the East, of which he was the executive director. In September 1859, the railway line reached Saint-Maur, and in 1872 Sucy and Bonneuil.

  • Temple de Passy-Annonciation
    The Temple de Passy-Annonciation © Fondation Bersier (Thibault Godin 2016)

Jean-Henri and his wife Caroline took part in the SEIPP project, i.e. « Société pour l’encouragement de l’instruction primaire parmi les protestants de France » ‘Society to promote primary education among Protestants in France’. The association was created in 1828 to develop schools and training of Protestants schoolteachers, especially for young ladies, because there were few schools for girls in France.

Jean-Henri gave the association, of which he was the vice-president, land and a large building which he financed and was turned into a female schoolteachers training college comprising a girl’s boarding school. He also gave an yearly annuity for its maintenance. In 1859 a small boarding school was set up for 7 to 15 year-olds, and was a ‘small school’ of application for training female schoolteachers.

At the same time, Caroline Delessert, who grew up in the Passy village, which became part of the Paris district in 1860, where she owned several building, promoted the development of a Sunday school in her childhood property. She was supported by Eugène Casalis, a missionary pastor, and asked him to preside over worship in the Passy-Annonciation Protestant Church to be in 1856.

  • Protestant temple of Boissy-St-Léger (94) © Wikimedia Creative Commons
  • Tomb of the Hottinguer family in Boissy-Saint-Léger (94) © Collection privée

The Hottinguer couple set about having a Protestant, or ‘evangelical chapel’, built in Boissy-St-Léger, to be used as a chapel for the château du Piple, for the training college and as a worship place for the Protestants in the neighbourhood.

Caroline HOTTINGUER bequeathed to her eldest son Rodolphe, her state attorney, the care of the Passy parish. In 1881, a year after she died, he signed the purchase of land on the rue Cortambert, in Paris 16th arrondissement, where the Passy temple was later erected. Pastor Casalis, who died in 1891 aged 79, was the only pastor in Passy until 1878. Then he was assisted till he retired in 1882.

Caroline Delessert, baroness Hottinguer, was buried in the Hottinguer family tomb in Boissy-St-Léger, contrary to most Delessert family members who rest in the Passy cemetery, since their tombs were transferred in 1959.

Rodolphe HOTTINGUER (1835-1920) trained in Liverpool, in Russia and in the United States. He married  Marie-Louise de Bethmann en 1867. Régent de la Banque de France from 1869 to 1920, he played a role in setting up the Ottomane Bank in 1862. In 1870 he was a member of the Board of Directors of the Caisse d’Epargne de Paris.

The family still exists.

Généalogie Hottinguer
Hottinguer Genealogy © Musée protestant
Etablissements Hottinguer
Hottinguer establishments

Bibliography

  • Books

    Associated notes

La famille Hottinguer

Originaire de Zurich, la famille Hottinguer, a donné naissance à une lignée de pasteurs, d’intellectuels  et de banquiers protestants. Au XVIIIe siècle, deux branches se distinguent, celle des pasteurs, et celle des négociants. C’est de cette seconde branche que sont issus les banquiers qui, pendant plus de deux siècles, œuvreront pour le développement de leur pays d’adoption, la France.

Pasteurs, théologiens

Klaus Hottinger (1467-1524), disciple de Zwingli, fut le premier martyr du mouvement protestant suisse. La famille compte des théologiens comme Johann Heinrich Hottinger (1620-1667) ou des savants tels le petit-fils de Klaus, Hans-Heinrich (1620-1667), connu sous le nom de Johann-Heinrich Hottinger, célèbre orientaliste, historien et théologien, doyen de l’Université de Heidelberg.

Sébastien Hottinger (1538-1600), frère de Hans-Heinrich, est médecin et député du conseil municipal de Zurich. Son petit-fils Hans-Rudolf Hottinger (1600-1670) initie une nouvelle lignée Hottinger d’ecclésiastiques. Son fils, Rudolf (1642-1692), et son petit-fils Hans-Rudolf (1673-1732), sont également pasteurs.

Et banquiers

Hans-Konrad Hottinguer, Johann-Konrad (1764-1841) ou Jean-Conrad n’a que 26 ans quand il ouvre à Paris, où sa famille l’avait envoyé en stage, un établissement de négoce bancaire intitulé « Messieurs Rougemont et Hottinguer ». Dès 1787, la banque est inscrite dans l’Almanach royal. Située rue Croix-des-Petits-Champs, à l’Hôtel de Beaupréaux, elle devient en 1790, l’établissement de «Messieurs Hottinguer & Cie, banquiers à Paris». Poursuivi en 1793 pour «menées royalistes», Johann-Konrad rejoint Zurich puis  l’Angleterre où il épouse Martha Eliza Redwood, née à Newport (États-Unis), fille d’un planteur américain. En 1794, le couple part pour les États-Unis où il fait connaissance d’un groupe d’émigrés français, dont fait partie Talleyrand. De retour en Europe en janvier 1798, Jean-Conrad, qui pressent très tôt la place des banques dans l’économie de marché,  est nommé Régent de la Banque de France en 1803. Pendant plus d’un siècle, les Hottinguer occupent sans discontinuité un siège au Conseil de la Gérance.

Le nom « Hottinger » est francisé en « Hottinguer » en 1810 lors de l’attribution du brevet de baron d’Empire. En 1818, Jean-Conrad crée la Caisse d’Epargne de Paris avec la famille Delessert. En 1819 il acquiert le château du Piple situé entre Boissy-St-Léger et Sucy en Brie. La famille Hottinguer occupera peu ce château dans les premières années.

Jean-Henri HOTTINGUER (1803-1866) étudie à Londres, à New York et à la Nouvelle Orléans avant de prendre la succession de son père en 1833. Banquier reconnu, comme l’atteste sa nomination la même année de Régent de la Banque de France, il est deux ans plus tard Directeur de la Caisse d’Epargne et de Prévoyance de Paris fondée par son père avec la famille Delessert. Il épouse Caroline Delessert en 1832 et reprend la Banque Delessert en 1848. La Maison Hottinguer devient une des premières entreprises de commerce international, spécialisée dans le marché du coton et des denrées coloniales avec les Etats-Unis. En 1835, il participe à la création de la société des houillères et des chemins de fer d’Epinac avec la famille Mallet, consacrant le rôle majeur de la haute banque protestante dans le développement de la sidérurgie lorraine.

Caroline Delessert HOTTINGUER mène des actions caritatives sur ses deniers personnels. Elle crée un dortoir avec six lits et six berceaux pour des femmes récemment accouchées et sans ressources, qui préfigure l’Asile maternel. Elle transforme le château du Piple en une résidence luxueuse. Leur fils Henri-François y naquit en 1846 et leur enracinement à Boissy-St-Léger amène Jean-Henri à devenir maire de la commune (1844-1852). Jean-Henri participe au financement de la ligne de chemin de fer de Paris-Bastille à Boissy-Saint-Léger, prolongée jusqu’à Brie-Comte-Robert et dont la Compagnie de l’Est (dont il est administrateur) a la concession. En septembre 1859, elle atteint Saint-Maur, puis en 1872, Sucy et Bonneuil.

Jean-Henri et son épouse Caroline participent au projet de la SEIPP, « Société pour l’encouragement de l’instruction primaire parmi les protestants de France », association créée en 1828 pour le développement des écoles et la formation des instituteurs protestants, notamment pour les jeunes filles, car les écoles de filles étaient rares en France.

Jean-Henri  offre à cette association (dont il fut vice-président), des terrains et une vaste bâtisse dont il finance la transformation en École normale d’institutrices dotée d’un pensionnat de jeunes filles. Il fait don d’une rente annuelle pour son entretien. En 1859 est créé un petit pensionnat, pour élèves de 7 à 15 ans constituant une « petite école » d’application pour les élèves institutrices.

À la même époque, Caroline Delessert, élevée au village de Passy (rattaché à la commune de Paris en 1860) où elle possède plusieurs biens immobiliers, encourage le pasteur-missionnaire Eugène Casalis à développer une école du dimanche dans la propriété de son enfance et à y présider le premier culte de la future Église protestante de Passy-Annonciation (1856).

Le couple Hottinguer entreprend la construction à Boissy Saint Léger d’un temple protestant, ou « chapelle évangélique » qui sert à la fois de chapelle au château du Piple, à l’École Normale et de lieu de culte aux protestants des environs.

Caroline HOTTINGUER laisse à Rodolphe, son fils aîné et exécuteur testamentaire, le soin de veiller à la paroisse de Passy. L’achat du terrain rue Cortambert à Paris 16ème où le temple de Passy s’éleva plus tard, est signé en 1881, un an après sa mort. Le pasteur Casalis, décédé en 1891 à 79 ans, fut le seul pasteur à Passy jusqu’en 1878, puis secondé jusqu’à sa retraite en 1882.

Caroline Delessert, baronne Hottinguer repose dans le tombeau de la famille Hottinguer à Boissy-Saint-Léger, contrairement à la plupart des membres de la famille Delessert qui sont enterrés au cimetière de Passy, depuis le transfert de leurs tombes en 1959.

Rodolphe HOTTINGUER (1835-1920) se forme à Liverpool, en Russie et aux Etats-Unis. Il épouse Marie-Louise de Bethmann en 1867. Régent de la Banque de France de 1869 à 1920, il participe à la création de la Banque Ottomane en 1862. En 1870, il fait partie du Conseil des Directeurs de la Caisse d’Epargne de Paris.

La famille existe toujours.

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices