The Protestant Faculty
of Theology in Strasbourg

The Protestant Faculty of Theology in Strasbourg, successor to the School founded in 1538, is one of the oldest sites offering training for a variety of ministries within the church.

Today the faculty, part of Strasbourg University, besides theology courses and State diplomas, also offers lifelong learning courses, and develops major research programmes.

The origins

  • The Cordeliers monastery in Strasbourg © S.H.P.F.

The ideas of the Reform Movement spread in Strasbourg as early as the beginning of the 16th century: they helped in the laying down of a structure for theological education and modern humanism. In 1523 Martin Bucer, a defrocked married Dominican, started a course on the exegesis of biblical books, in German and then in Latin. With the help of other followers of the new Reformed ideas, like Capiton, the teaching of ancient languages, such as Latin, Greek and Hebrew, poetical art, rhetoric, mathematics and law were added to the exegesis course. A boarding facility was started in 1534.

The success of the university training of pastors led to the school becoming an institute: in 1538 it became a Haute Ecole, where Jean Calvin taught from 1538 to 1541. In 1566 the school was promoted to be an Academy, and then a University in 1621.

For 40 years, Jean Sturm was the rector and at the heart of the institution, which promoted “piety, knowledge and eloquence”. Theology was not the only subject taught, but was the most important.

From the Revolution to World War I

  • Auguste Sabatier © S.H.P.F.

With the French Revolution in 1793 the University was shut down. However, Professors and students fought to go on studying until Bonaparte established a new facility: a consular decree of 30 floréal an XI (the 20th of May, 1803) established the Faculty of Strasbourg to train Lutheran pastors under the name “Academy for Protestants of the Augsburg Confession”.

The staff were appointed by the Lutheran board of directors on the recommendation of the existing professors. In 1808 it took the name “Protestant Seminary”.

Under the jurisdiction of the State University, a Faculty of Theology was established in 1819. Thus two establishments coexisted, one governed by the Lutheran Church, the other by the State, but they worked together, having lecturers in common, and the curricula being coordinated.

Studies were divided into two stages as in the Montauban Faculty of Theology: two foundation years and then three years of theology.

There were six chairs at the Faculty, five of which were Lutheran and the sixth was for a professor of dogmatic reformed theology. This was because the Reformed Protestants from Alsace, whose numbers were not insignificant, wanted this to be reflected among both staff and students. Mathias Richard from Mulhouse held the chair until 1868, to be followed by Auguste Sabatier from 1868 to 1871.

At the Strasbourg Faculty of Theology courses were taught in German or in French, depending on the individual lecturer, many of whom were very well known, such as Jean-Frédéric Bruch (1792-1874), Edouard Reuss (1804-1891), Guillaume Schmidt (1812-1895), Timothée Colani (1824-1888), Edouard Cunitz (1812-1896), Frédéric Lichtenberger (1832-1899)… The magazine Revue de théologie et de philosophie chrétienne, generally called Revue de Strasbourg began in 1850 and helped promote the Faculty’s standing in both Germany and France.

Between 1872 and 1918 it became the evangelisch-theologiche Fakultät of Kaiser-Wilhems-Universität, and was moved to larger premises, currently the Palais Universitaire (University Palace).

Some staff refused to teach under German leadership and founded the Protestant faculty of theology in Paris.

Continuity was maintained by the Alsatian staff who remained in Strasbourg, while the newly appointed German professors tried hard to take account of the Alsatian mind-set and distinctiveness. Heinrich Julius Holtzmann (1832-1910) from Baden was one of the best known exegetes of his generation, and Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965) lectured on the New Testament until 1912.

In the 20th century

The return of Alsace to France marked a new beginning: the Faculty of Theology was transferred to the University of Strasbourg again in 1919, and a decree of 1924 officially recognised it as a public institution.

A new generation of staff arrived, including Fernand Ménégoz, Guillaume Baldensperger, Paul Sabatier, Antonin Causse, Henri Strohl, Oscar Cullmann, William Seston, Jean Daniel Benoît… In 1922 the first young lady was enrolled as a first year student. About one third of the students were foreigners.

During World War II the Faculty moved to Clermont-Ferrand along with the whole University of Strasbourg, and kept working in spite of the difficult conditions (three of its staff were arrested and deported). It re-opened in the Alsatian capital in 1945. Among the most brilliant professors were Pierre Burgelin, André Caquot, Roger Mehl, Rodolphe Peter, Charles Hauter, Marc Honegger in musicology…

The 1984 law on higher education turned the Faculty of Theology into an Institute within the University for Social Sciences (Marc-Bloch University Strasbourg III). In 2009 the three Strasbourg universities merged and the Faculty became an Institute in the University of Strasbourg. It is the only Protestant theology establishment awarding national diplomas.

A pre-eminent institution

  • The theology university in the university palace, Strasbourg (Bas-Rhin) © Faculté de théologie de Strasbourg

It currently has a very good network of collaborating universities, notably in Germany Marburg, Tübingen, Heidelberg, and in Switzerland Lausanne, Geneva and Neuchâtel.

The faculty has some 200 French and foreign students over their three courses, i.e. Bachelor, Master and Doctorate degrees. Its library was created in 1919 and has been twinned with that of the Catholic theology faculty since 1971.

The courses offered cover Biblical studies (Old and New Testament, Hebrew, and ancient Greek), history (history of ancient, medieval, modern and contemporary Christianity, and history of religions), systematic disciplines (systematic theology, dogmatics, ethics, philosophy), practical subjects (musicology, sociology of religions, practical theology, homiletics).

Besides preparation for pastoral ministry, it also trains teachers to teach religion in secondary schools and colleges – schools in Alsace-Moselle also being under the concordat system, have compulsory religious education,

Moreover, the Faculty offers continuing education to pastors and committed lay people, training for various duties of the diaconate and helps train lay preachers, catechists and choir masters.

Finally, the Faculty of Theology regrouped major research centres around four subject axes according to their various fields of study:

  • “Reference texts and their significance”,
  • “History of Christianity”,
  • “Dogmatics, ecumenism and practical theology”,
  •  “Sociology of religions and social ethics”.

The Protestant Faculty
of Theology in Strasbourg

université protestante de strasbourg

Itinerary to this location

Bibliography

  • Sites
    • Site de la faculté de théologie protestante de Strasbourg | Link

Associated notes

Random notes

La faculté de théologie protestante de Strasbourg

La faculté de théologie protestante de Strasbourg, héritière de l’École fondée en 1538, est l’un des plus anciens lieux de formation aux divers ministères des Églises.

Au sein de l’Université de Strasbourg, elle propose aujourd’hui, outre ses cursus théologiques conclus par des diplômes d’État, des activités de formation continue et elle développe une importante activité de recherche scientifique.

Les origines

  • Strasbourg, les Cordeliers
    Strasbourg, les Cordeliers © S.H.P.F.

Les idées de la Réforme se répandent dès le début du XVIe siècle à Strasbourg : elles contribuent à fonder les structures d’un enseignement théologique et humaniste renouvelé. Martin Bucer, un dominicain défroqué et marié, ouvre en 1523 un cours d’exégèse des livres bibliques, en allemand puis en latin. Avec l’appui d’autres adeptes des nouvelles idées de la Réforme, comme Capiton, le cours d’exégèse est complété par l’enseignement des langues anciennes (latin, grec, hébreu), de l’art poétique, de la rhétorique, des mathématiques et du droit. Un internat est créé en 1534.

Le succès de cette préparation de type universitaire des futurs pasteurs amène à l’institutionnalisation de l’établissement. En 1538 est créée la « Haute École », où enseigne  Jean Calvin de 1538 à 1541. En 1566, cette dernière est élevée au rang d’Académie, puis d’Université en 1621.

Pendant 40 ans, Jean Sturm est le recteur et l’âme de l’établissement, dont le programme vise à promouvoir « la piété, le savoir et l’éloquence ». La théologie, sans être la seule discipline enseignée, y occupe une place privilégiée.

De la Révolution à la Première Guerre mondiale

  • Auguste Sabatier
    Auguste Sabatier © S.H.P.F.

A la Révolution française, en 1793, l’Université est supprimée. Professeurs et étudiants tentent tant bien que mal de poursuivre les enseignements, jusqu’à la mise en place d’une nouvelle structure par Bonaparte : la faculté de Strasbourg, établie par décret consulaire du 30 floréal an XI (20 mai 1803) pour assurer la formation des pasteurs luthériens, est ouverte sous le nom « d’Académie des protestants de la Confession d’Augsbourg ».

Ses professeurs sont nommés par le Directoire luthérien  sur proposition des professeurs en exercice. Elle prend en 1808 le nom de « Séminaire protestant ».

En 1819 est instituée une faculté de théologie relevant de l’Université d’État : deux organes d’enseignement théologique coexistent donc désormais, l’un relevant de l’Église luthérienne, l’autre de l’État, mais travaillent de concert puisque les professeurs sont les mêmes et que les programmes sont coordonnés.

Les études s’organisent en deux sections, comme à la faculté de théologie réformée de Montauban : deux années préparatoires, puis trois années de théologie.

La faculté abrite six chaires : cinq sont luthériennes, et la sixième est réservée à un professeur de dogmatique réformée, les réformés d’Alsace, dont le nombre n’est pas négligeable, ayant demandé à occuper leur place tant au niveau des professeurs que des étudiants. C’est Mathias Richard, de Mulhouse, qui occupe cette chaire jusqu’en 1868, puis Auguste Sabatier de 1868 à 1871.

La faculté de théologie de Strasbourg, dont les cours sont donnés en allemand ou en français selon les professeurs, voit se succéder des enseignants de grande renommée : Jean-Frédéric Bruch (1792-1874), Édouard Reuss (1804-1891), Guillaume Schmidt (1812-1895), Timothée Colani (1824-1888), Édouard Cunitz (1812-1886), Frédéric Lichtenberger (1832-1899)… La revue fondée en 1850, Revue de théologie et de philosophie chrétienne, appelée plus couramment Revue de Strasbourg, contribue également au rayonnement de la faculté aussi bien vers l’Allemagne qu’en France.

Entre 1872 et 1918, elle devient l’evangelisch-theologiche Fakultät de la Kaiser-Wilhelms-Universität ; elle s’installe dans des locaux plus spacieux, l’actuel Palais universitaire.

Certains des enseignants, refusant d’enseigner sous la tutelle allemande, fondent en 1877 la faculté de théologie protestante de Paris.

Une continuité avec la période antérieure est cependant assurée par les enseignants alsaciens restés en place ; et les professeurs allemands nouvellement nommés s’efforcent de tenir compte de la mentalité et du particularisme alsaciens. Le Badois Heinrich Julius Holtzmann (1832-1910) est l’un des exégètes les plus connus de sa génération ; Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965) y assure les cours de Nouveau Testament jusqu’en 1912.

Au XXe siècle

Le retour de l’Alsace à la France marque un nouveau départ : la faculté de théologie est reconstituée au sein de l’Université de Strasbourg en 1919 ; son caractère public est reconnu officiellement par un décret de 1924.

Une nouvelle génération d’enseignants arrive : Fernand Ménégoz, Guillaume Baldensperger, Paul Sabatier, Antonin Causse, Henri Strohl, Oscar Cullmann, William Seston, Jean Daniel Benoît… La première inscription d’une jeune fille en première année a lieu en 1922. Les étudiants étrangers forment environ un tiers des effectifs.

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, la faculté se replie à Clermont-Ferrand, comme l’ensemble de l’Université de Strasbourg, et poursuit ses activités dans des conditions difficiles (arrestation et déportation de trois de ses enseignants), avant de rouvrir dans la capitale alsacienne en 1945. S’y illustrent notamment les professeurs Pierre Burgelin, André Caquot, Roger Mehl, Rodolphe Peter, Charles Hauter, Marc Honegger pour la musicologie…

Avec la loi de 1984 sur l’enseignement supérieur, la faculté de théologie devient un institut au sein de l’Université des Sciences humaines (Université Marc-Bloch Strasbourg III). En 2009, avec l’unification des trois universités, la faculté devient un institut de l’Université de Strasbourg. Elle est le seul établissement de théologie protestante à délivrer des diplômes nationaux.

Un établissement d’excellence

  • Strasbourg, Palais universitaire : la faculté de théologie (Bas-Rhin)
    Strasbourg, Palais universitaire : la faculté de théologie (Bas-Rhin) © Faculté de théologie de Strasbourg

Son réseau relationnel actuel est large (notamment en Allemagne avec les universités de Marburg, Tübingen, Heidelberg, et en Suisse, avec celles de Lausanne, Genève et Neuchâtel).

La faculté compte quelque 200 étudiants réguliers français et étrangers répartis dans les trois cursus (licence/master/doctorat). Sa bibliothèque, créée en 1919, est jumelée depuis 1971 avec celle de théologie catholique.

Les enseignements proposés sont répartis entre disciplines bibliques (Ancien Testament, Nouveau Testament, hébreu et grec anciens), disciplines historiques (histoire du christianisme ancien, médiéval, moderne et contemporain, histoire des religions), disciplines systématiques (théologie systématique, dogmatique, éthique, philosophie) et disciplines pratiques (musicologie, sociologie des religions, théologie pratique, homilétique).

Outre la préparation aux ministères pastoraux, elle assure la formation des professeurs qui enseignent la religion dans les lycées et collèges (les établissements scolaires étant eux aussi placés sous régime concordataire en Alsace-Moselle).

Par ailleurs, la faculté propose de nombreux cours de formation continue pour les pasteurs et les laïcs engagés, formant aux divers services de la diaconie et contribuant à la formation des prédicateurs laïcs, à celle des catéchètes et des chefs de chœur.

Enfin la faculté de théologie regroupe d’importants centres de recherche autour de quatre axes exprimant la variété du champ disciplinaire :

  • « Les textes de référence et leur réception »,
  • « Histoire du christianisme »,
  • « Dogmatique, œcuménisme et théologie pratique »,
  • « Sociologie des religions et éthique sociale ».

La faculté de théologie protestante de Strasbourg

université protestante de strasbourg

Itinéraire vers ce lieu

Bibliographie

  • Sites
    • Site de la faculté de théologie protestante de Strasbourg | Lien

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices