The 1910 World Missionary Conference, which was held
in Edinburgh

The World Missionary Conference has been seen as the formal beginning of the Ecumenical movement. For Protestant and Anglican Churches it was thought to be of paramount importance and the foundation of a « truly worldwide Christian Church ».

The First World Missionary Conference

  • Conférence d'Edimbourg 1910
    Conférence d’Edimbourg 1910 © COE

Four major missionary conferences had worked at preparing the coordination of Anglican and Protestant missionary societies ; they took place in the following cities :

• Liverpool (1860)
• London (1878 and 1888)
• New York (1990)

However in Edinburgh there were only the official representatives of different missionary societies ; their directors, their missionaries and the members of their auxiliary committees. The conference had been carefully prepared by eight commissions who each worked for two years on their assigned topic.

Only Anglican and Protestant missionary societies had representatives. Although there were none from the Catholic or the Orthodox Churches, the latter were mentioned with respect several times during the proceedings. Most representatives were Anglicans or Americans.

Why choose Edinburgh ?

  • Edimbourg vers 1910 : le Lawnmarket
    Edimbourg vers 1910 : le Lawnmarket © Visitscotland.com

Scotland considered the work of missionary societies to be of great importance : it had sent out such renowned missionaries as David Livingtone and established well-known missions throughout the world. What’s more, these missionary societies received strong support from home and so it was quite feasible for Scotland to take on the organisation of something as impressive as a world conference.

On 14th June 1910, 1215 delegates gathered in the Assembly Hall of the United Free Church of Scotland for the first session, under the presidency of Lord Balfour , one of the most well known members of the Church and a former cabinet minister. The Conference lasted ten days, until the 23rd June. Everybody in the city was involved in this event, due to public lectures which were held every day and the delegates were welcomed by the Civic Authorities.

The preparation

  • Joseph Oldham
    Joseph Oldham © A.W. Schreiber Die Edinburger Welt-Missions-Konferenz 1911

An international committee was held in Osvord in 1907 : there were ten British, five North American and three European representatives. At the head of this movement were the American John Raleigh Mott and the Scot John Houldsworth Oldham.

John Mott’s watchword for the Conference was « The Evangelisation of the World in This Generation ». However, later this changed to « A Consideration of the Problems facing Missionary Societies in the Non-Christian World. »This was to avoid any conflict between Protestant missions and countries which had already been evangelized by the Roman Catholic or Orthodox Churches.

Delegation was based on pragmatic grounds : the missionary society could only send a delegate if it supported a mission abroad and if is annual expenditure was at least 200 pounds. For a sum of 400 pounds, another delegate could be sent. 176 missionary societies sent delegates : 59 from North America, 58 from the Continent, 47 from the United Kingdom and 12 from south Africa and Australia.

The subjects to be discussed at the Conference were prepared by eight commissions. The committee established a questionnaire for each commission which was sent to missionaries all over the world. A thousand completed questionnaires were returned to the commissions to be taken into consideration.

The French delegates

  • Alfred Boegner, directeur de la Société des missions de 1870 à 1912.
    Alfred Boegner, directeur de la Société des missions de 1870 à 1912. © DEFAP

Out of 1215 delegates, there were more than a thousand from Britain or America compared to only 170 from the rest of Europe.

The French delegation consisted of 10 members from the Société des Missions Evangéliques de Paris : they were the director Alfred Boegner, a certain number of missionaries serving abroad and representatives from the auxiliary committees. The French delegates felt they were part of a historic event and were joining forces with « those who had set out to conquer the world». However the large number of Anglo-Saxon delegates brought it home to them that they were almost powerless to undertake such a momentous missionary task. None of the French delegates had been asked to join the preparatory commissions and Alfred Boegner was the only one to be invited to give a lecture in English. This was on the evening when he launched an appeal : « Help us to evangelize ».

The agenda

  • Missionnaire Henri Martin
    Missionnaire Henri Martin © DEFAP

The agenda stipulated that the most important part of the daily programme was the common prayer of intercession which was held regularly at midday. However, most of the time was spent discussing the reports drawn up by the commissions :

I – Carrying the Gospel to All the Non-Christian World

II – The Church in the Mission field

III – Education in Relation to the Christianization of National Life

IV – The Missionary Message in Relation to Non-Christian Religions

V – The Preparation of Missionaries

VI – The Home Base of Missions

VII – Missions and Governments

VIII – Co-operation and the Promotion of Unity

Those who wanted to participate in one of the discussions had an allotted time of up to seven minutes.

Every evening the delegates listened to two or three lectures ; however, these did not form part of the commissions.

Co-operation and the Promotion of Unity

  • Cheng Ching Yi
    Cheng Ching Yi © A.W. Schreiber Die Edinburger Welt-Missions-Konferenz 1910

The most impressive speech was made by the Chinese delegate Cheng Ching Yi during the discussion on the report made by commission VII . There were only fifteen Asian delegates representing the non-western world. There were no Africans, Latin-Americans or delegates from the South Pacific. This was because the missionary societies could sent delegates but not the Churches that were the fruits of their work.

The Chinese delegate talked of the Christian Federation of China which had developed inter-Christian co-operation in the realms of education and evangelization « in order to establish in the near future a united inter-denominational Christian Church ».It is due to these words that the 1910 Conference in Edinburgh has been considered as the basis of the Ecumenical Movement.

The Continuation Committee

  • Conseil Mondial des Églises à New Dehli en 1961- service inaugural
    International summit of Churches in New Dehli in 1961-inaugural service © La Voix Protestante
  • Premier numéro de la revue Internationale des Missions (janvier 1912)
    Premier numéro de la revue Internationale des Missions (janvier 1912) © DEFAP

The Edinburgh Conference did indeed achieve its aim of developing missionary co-operation within an official and organized framework ; however, the only actual decision they made was to set up a Continuation Committee to continue the work with 35 members under the leadership of John Mott and J.H.Oldham in 1921. In the years following the First World War, the Committee developed into the International Missionary Council with one headquarters in London and another in New York ; it consisted of many missionary societies and international Christian organisations of all denominations in the mission field.

It organized the international conferences in Jerusalem (1928), Tambaram in India(1938), Whitby in Canada (1947), Willingen in Germany (1952) and Achimota in Ghana (1958). In 1961, it became the World Commission for Mission and Evangelization organized by the World Council of Churches (WCC). This was in New Delhi, when the African Churches resulting from the missionary societies work (who became fully independent towards the end of the 50’s) were received into its midst ; there were also several Orthodox Churches including the Russian Orthodox Church.

The beginning of the Ecumenical Movement ?

The 1910 Edinburgh Conference has been considered by some as the beginning of the Ecumenical Movement. It is true that for the first time the Church had its place on a worldwide map ; indeed, for a great many delegates, it was obvious that Christianity was shortly to become a world religion. This is why the Edinburgh Conference was an important event in the religious history of the 20th century.

Bibliography

  • Articles
    • CAILLE Linda et LOMBART Claire-Lise, "Le chemin parcouru, Conférence d’Edimbourg de 1910 à 2010", Mission, mars 2010, Numéro 198
    • LIOMBARD Claire-Lise et ZORN Jean-François (dir), "Edimbourg 1910-2010 – Série de vingt portraits", N° 56, 2008/02 ; n° 57, 2009/1 ; n° 58, 2009/2 ; n° 59, 2010/1, Perspectives Missionnaires,
    • LOMBARD Claire-Lise et Matthey Lombard, ZORN Jacques et Jean-François Zorn (dir), "La Conférence missionnaire mondiale Edimbourg 1910", Histoire et Missions Chrétiennes, mars 2010, Numéro 13

Associated notes

Au hasard des notices

La conférence missionnaire mondiale d’Édimbourg (1910)

Cette conférence missionnaire mondiale a été considérée par certains comme le « berceau » du mouvement œcuménique. Elle a revêtu une importance capitale pour les Églises anglicanes et protestantes. Ce fut le premier aperçu d’une « Église chrétienne vraiment mondiale ».

La première conférence missionnaire mondiale

  • Conférence d'Edimbourg 1910
    Conférence d'Edimbourg 1910 © COE

Quatre grandes conférences missionnaires avaient préparé le terrain pour celle d’Édimbourg et jeté les bases d’une coopération entre les sociétés missionnaires anglicanes et protestantes pour éviter de se faire concurrence :

  • Liverpool 1860
  • Londres 1878 et 1888
  • New York 1900

Mais, à Édimbourg, les délégués sont des représentants officiels des différentes sociétés de mission : leurs directeurs, leurs missionnaires et les membres de leurs comités auxiliaires. La préparation a été très élaborée grâce au travail de huit commissions pendant deux ans.

Seules les sociétés de mission anglicanes et protestantes sont représentées. Aucun représentant du catholicisme ou de l’orthodoxie n’y participe mais ces Églises sont citées à plusieurs reprises avec déférence. Le monde anglo-américain est prépondérant.

Pourquoi Édimbourg ?

  • Edimbourg vers 1910 : le Lawnmarket
    Edimbourg vers 1910 : le Lawnmarket © Visitscotland.com

L’Écosse avait une importance missionnaire considérable ayant envoyé des missionnaires célèbres comme David Livingstone et établi des missions reconnues. D’autre part le mouvement missionnaire avait un réseau de soutien important qui permettait l’organisation d’une conférence mondiale.

Le 14 juin 1910, 1215 délégués se réunissent dans la salle de conférence de l’Église Unie d’Écosse pour la session inaugurale sous la présidence de Lord Balfour, l’un des politiciens et hommes d’Église les plus importants d’Écosse. La Conférence va durer dix jours jusqu’au 23 juin. La population de la ville est impliquée grâce à des conférences publiques qui ont lieu chaque jour. Les autorités de la ville font un accueil très solennel aux délégués.

La préparation

  • Joseph Oldham
    Joseph Oldham © A.W. Schreiber Die Edinburger Welt-Missions-Konferenz 1911

Un comité international comprenant dix Britanniques, cinq Nord-Américains et trois représentants du Continent européen se réunit à Oxford en 1907. Deux personnalités prirent la tête du mouvement de préparation : John Raleigh Mott, américain, et John Houldsworth Oldham, écossais.

Le mot d’ordre de John Mott – l’évangélisation du monde entier dans notre génération – devient : considérer les problèmes missionnaires en relation avec le monde non-chrétien, pour exclure tout prosélytisme protestant envers des pays déjà évangélisés par les catholiques ou les orthodoxes.

Les critères de participation étaient pragmatiques. Toute société missionnaire pouvait envoyer un délégué à condition de soutenir des missionnaires à l’étranger et de dépenser à cet effet au moins  2 000 £  par an. Pour toute somme de  4 000 £ supplémentaires, elle pouvait envoyer un nouveau délégué. 176 sociétés envoyèrent des délégués : 59 d’Amérique du Nord, 58 du Continent européen, 47 du Royaume-Uni et 12 d’Afrique du Sud et d’Australie.

Les sujets à débattre à la Conférence furent préparés par les huit commissions. Le comité établit un questionnaire pour chaque commission, questionnaire qui fut envoyé aux missionnaires des différentes régions du monde. Les commissions travaillèrent à partir du millier de réponses reçues.

Les délégués français

  • Alfred Boegner, directeur de la Société des missions de 1870 à 1912.
    Alfred Boegner, directeur de la Société des missions de 1870 à 1912. © DEFAP

Sur les 1215 participants, un peu plus de mille sont des Britanniques ou des Américains alors que 170 seulement représentent le reste de l’Europe.

La délégation française compte 10 personnes représentant la Société des Missions Évangéliques de Paris dont le directeur Alfred Boegner, un certain nombre de missionnaires en poste et des représentants des comités auxiliaires. Les délégués français ont l’impression de participer à un événement important, de s’associer aux « forces engagées dans la conquête du monde ». Mais, face au nombre des délégués anglo-saxons, la délégation française prend conscience de sa faiblesse par rapport à la tâche missionnaire qui l’attend. Aucun Français n’a participé aux commissions de préparation et seul Alfred Boegner a été invité à donner un conférence en anglais lors d’une soirée où il lance un appel à l’aide ; « Aidez-nous à évangéliser ».

L'ordre du jour

  • Missionnaire Henri Martin
    Missionnaire Henri Martin © DEFAP

L’ordre du jour stipulait que la partie la plus importante était l’intercession commune qui interrompait tous les débats à l’heure de midi. Mais le maximum de temps était consacré à la discussion des rapports des huit commissions sur :

I – La prédication de l’Évangile au monde non-chrétien tout entier

II – L’Église dans le champ de la mission

III – L’éducation dans son rapport avec la christianisation de la vie nationale

IV – Le message missionnaire dans ses rapports avec les religions non-chrétiennes

V – La préparation des missionnaires

V I- La base métropolitaine des missions

VII – Les missions et les gouvernements

VIII – La coopération et la promotion de l’unité

Ceux qui désiraient intervenir sur un sujet des rapports des commissions avaient un temps imparti qui ne devait pas excéder sept minutes.

Chaque soir il y avait une session où l’on entendait deux ou trois orateurs. Ces sessions du soir ne faisaient pas partie du débat sur le travail des commissions.

La coopération et la promotion de l'unité.

  • Cheng Ching Yi
    Cheng Ching Yi © A.W. Schreiber Die Edinburger Welt-Missions-Konferenz 1910

C’est au cours de la discussion sur le rapport de la commission VIII que se situe le discours le plus impressionnant du délégué chinois Cheng Ching Yi. Parmi les délégués, seuls quinze Asiatiques représentaient le monde non occidental. Pas un Africain, ni Latino-Américain ou Océanien. Ils étaient exclus dans la mesure où seules les sociétés missionnaires étaient représentées mais non les Églises nées de la mission.

Le délégué chinois évoque la Fédération chrétienne en Chine qui a développé une coopération interchrétienne dans l’éducation et l’évangélisation « afin de voir dans un futur proche une Église chrétienne unie sans distinctions dénominationnelles ». C’est sur la base de tels propos que l’on considère qu’Édimbourg 1910 constitue les prémices de la fondation du mouvement œcuménique.

Le comité de continuation

  • Conseil Mondial des Églises à New Dehli en 1961- service inaugural
    Conseil Mondial des Églises à New Dehli en 1961- service inaugural © La Voix Protestante
  • Premier numéro de la revue Internationale des Missions (janvier 1912)
    Premier numéro de la revue Internationale des Missions (janvier 1912) © DEFAP

Si la conférence d’Édimbourg a atteint son principal objectif de développer la coopération missionnaire sous une forme officielle et organisée, la seule décision de la Conférence fut de créer un comité de continuation de 35 membres sous la responsabilité de John Mott et de J.H. Oldham. Au lendemain de la première guerre mondiale, en 1921, le comité se transforma en Conseil international des missions qui avait un siège à Londres et un à New-York. Il comprenait de nombreuses sociétés missionnaires ou des organisations de terrain interdénominationelles.

Il organisa les conférences internationales de Jérusalem (1928), Tambaram en Inde (1938), Whitby au Canada (1947), Willingen en Allemagne (1952) et Achimota au Ghana (1958) jusqu’à ce qu’il se transforme en Commission pour la mission et l’évangélisation mondiale du Conseil Œcuménique des Églises (COE) lors de l’assemblée de New-Delhi en 1961, au moment où ce dernier recevait en son sein les Églises d’Afrique, nées de la mission et devenues autonomes à la fin des années 1950, et plusieurs Églises orthodoxes dont celle de Russie.

Berceau du mouvement œcuménique ?

Certains ont décrit la Conférence d’Édimbourg 1910 comme le berceau du mouvement œcuménique. Il est indéniable qu’Édimbourg 1910 présente pour la première fois une vision de l’Église comme réalité globale. Pour un grand nombre de délégués, il était clair que le christianisme était à la veille de devenir mondial. C’est à ce titre que la conférence d’Édimbourg fait date dans l’histoire religieuse du début du XXe siècle.

Bibliographie

  • Articles
    • CAILLE Linda et LOMBART Claire-Lise, « Le chemin parcouru, Conférence d’Edimbourg de 1910 à 2010 », Mission, mars 2010, Numéro 198
    • LIOMBARD Claire-Lise et ZORN Jean-François (dir), « Edimbourg 1910-2010 – Série de vingt portraits », N° 56, 2008/02 ; n° 57, 2009/1 ; n° 58, 2009/2 ; n° 59, 2010/1, Perspectives Missionnaires,
    • LOMBARD Claire-Lise et Matthey Lombard, ZORN Jacques et Jean-François Zorn (dir), « La Conférence missionnaire mondiale Edimbourg 1910 », Histoire et Missions Chrétiennes, mars 2010, Numéro 13

Notices associées

Parcours associés

Au hasard des notices