Jerome of Prague (about 1379-1416)

He defended the ideas of John Wycliff, was a philosopher and pre-Reformer, a follower and friend of Jan Hus (1372-1415). Like him he was condemned by the council of Constance and was burnt alive for heresy.

Training and travels

  • Jérôme de Prague (vers 1379-1416)
  • John Wyclif (1330-1384) © S.H.P.F.
  • Jean Hus (1369-1415) © S.H.P.F.

Jerome was born in a wealthy family somewhere between 1365 and 1379. In 1398, once he had passed his bachelor diploma of Arts at Charles faculty in Prague, he travelled in Europe before returning to Prague. In those days the ideas of the pre-Reformer John Wycliff (about 1328-1384) were widespread in Bohemia but also throughout central Europe. They can be summarized in three principles:

  • ecclesiastical hierarchy, i.e. the true Church is the invisible Church of Christians in a state of grace,
  • the Bible is the highest authority,
  • indulgences are useless: God alone forgives.

In 1402, Jerome left for England, and in Oxford he copied works of the pre-Reformer, author of  a theological treatise in which he claimed the Bible to be the highest authority and contested indulgences. Jerome translated into Czech part of Wycliff’s works.

Upon leaving England, Jerome went to Jerusalem and then Paris, where he was awarded his Master degree at the Arts faculty and then taught there ; then he went to Cologne and Heidelberg where he was awarded again a Master’s degree in both cities.

Wherever he stayed Jerome aroused enmities after arguments over his defense of philosophical realism, his opposition to nominalism which claimed concepts to be mere human constructions.  His ideas led to him being forbidden to teach.

In 1407, he went back to Prague where his three Master degrees were recognised. In 1410 he gave a lecture on Wycliff’s philosophical, but not theological, ideas.  A papal bull condemned Wycliff’s ideas and Jerome was accused of defending them. He was imprisoned in Vienna but escaped. Back in Prague, Jerome made friends with Jan Hus whom he defended. He pleaded for mass in Czech. In 1413 Jerome travelled to Poland and Lithuania but had to retract over part of his writings on Wycliff.

Condemned by the council of Constance

  • Monument pour se souvenir du reformateur Jan Hus qui y fut executé pour sa croyance pure en Dieu
    In memory of the reformer Jan Hus who was executed for his pure belief in God

During the period of three popes, the future Romans and German Emperor Sigismond I, intervened to put an end to the  Great Western Schism (1378-1417).  He imposed on Pope John XXIII, later to be considered an anti-pope, a meeting of the ecumenical council of Constance (1414-1418).

It also meant a posthumous inquisitorial trial for heresy of Wycliff and his living followers. The council used the trial as a claim for its own legitimacy – above that of the pope who acted on his own- and for deposing pope John XXIII who had fled away from the council, and for electing a new pope, Martin V.

In 1414, when Jan Hus left for Constance with the Emperor’s safe-conduct, Jerome promised to help him if need be. When Jerome reached Constance, without a safe-conduct, his friends convinced him to return to Bohemia as he could do nothing for his friend, and was also threatened himself. But he was arrested on his way back and imprisoned, and fell severely ill. Jerome was very weak and  dissociated himself from Wycliff – whose writings were deemed by the council to be burnt and his bones unearthed and scattered- and also from Jan Hus who was burnt alive. Nevertheless Jerome was not released.

In 1416 during his trial, Jerome renounced his recantation. With some difficulty he obtained the right to plead his own case, but was sentenced as a relapsed heretic,  turned over to the secular power to be burnt alive. He died singing and his last words were ‘this burning soul I offer to You, Christ’.

He was considered a hero of the faith by the Hussites. As a defender of the ideas of those in favour of reforming the Church, he ranked among pre-Reformers.

A memorial was erected in Constance where Jerome of Prague’s stake had stood. It consists of a large stone engraved with his name.

Bibliography

  • Sites
    • La figure de l’autorité magistrale à travers Jean Hus et Jérôme de Prague | Link
  • Documents
    • PROVVIDENTE Sebastián, Causa unionis, fidei, reformationis | Link

Associated notes

Associated tours

Jérôme de Prague (vers 1379-1416)

Défenseur des idées de John Wyclif, Jérôme de Prague est un philosophe pré-réformateur, disciple et ami de Jan Hus, (1372-1415). Comme lui, il est condamné par le concile de Constance à être brûlé vif pour hérésie.

Formation et voyages

  • Jérôme de Prague (vers 1379-1416)
    Jérôme de Prague (vers 1379-1416)
  • John Wyclif (1330-1384)
    John Wyclif (1330-1384) © S.H.P.F.
  • Jean Hus (1369-1415)
    Jean Hus (1369-1415) © S.H.P.F.

Jérôme naît à Prague entre 1365 et 1379 dans une famille aisée. En 1398, après avoir obtenu son diplôme de bachelier à la faculté des arts de l’université Charles de Prague, il voyage en Europe, avant de revenir à Prague. À cette époque, les idées du pré-réformateur John Wyclif (vers 1328-1384) sont déjà largement répandues en Bohême et dans toute l’Europe centrale. On peut les résumer en trois principes :

  • la hiérarchie ecclésiastique : la véritable Église est l’Église invisible des chrétiens en état de grâce,
  • la Bible est l’autorité suprême,
  • les indulgences sont inefficaces : c’est Dieu seul qui pardonne.

En 1402, Jérôme part pour l’Angleterre : à Oxford, il copie des œuvres du pré-réformateur, auteur d’une somme théologique dans laquelle il proclame que la Bible est l’autorité suprême et conteste les indulgences. Jérôme traduit en langue tchèque une partie des œuvres de Wyclif.

Après l’Angleterre, Jérôme va à Jérusalem puis à Paris, où il obtient sa maîtrise à la faculté des arts de l’université puis y enseigne ; il va ensuite à Cologne et à Heidelberg où il obtient encore une maîtrise de l’université de chacune de ces deux villes.

Au cours de tous ses séjours, Jérôme suscite des inimitiés survenues après des disputes où, défenseur du réalisme philosophique, il s’oppose an nominalisme, selon lequel les concepts ne sont que des constructions humaines. Ses idées lui valent d’être suspendu d’enseignement.

Il rentre à Prague en 1407 et y fait reconnaître ses trois maîtrises. En 1410, il prononce un discours sur les idées philosophiques – et non théologiques – de Wyclif.  Une bulle du pape condamne les idées de Wyclif et Jérôme est accusé de les défendre. Il est emprisonné à Vienne et s’évade. Revenu à Prague, Jérôme se lie d’amitié avec Jan Hus qu’il défend. Il plaide pour une messe en tchèque. En 1413, Jérôme voyage en Pologne et en Lituanie et doit se rétracter sur une partie de ses écrits sur Wyclif.

Condamnation par le concile de Constance

  • Monument pour se souvenir du reformateur Jan Hus qui y fut executé pour sa croyance pure en Dieu
    Monument pour se souvenir du reformateur Jan Hus qui y fut executé pour sa croyance pure en Dieu

Alors que l’Église a trois papes, le roi des Romains, futur empereur germanique Sigismond 1er, intervient pour mettre fin au grand schisme d’Occident (1378-1417). Il impose au pape Jean XXIII, considéré ultérieurement comme antipape, de réunir le concile œcuménique de Constance (1414-1418).

Il s’agit aussi de faire le procès inquisitorial posthume pour hérésie de Wyclif et ceux de ses disciples vivants. Le concile utilise ces procès comme argument pour affirmer sa propre  légitimité – supérieure à celle du pape qui agirait seul – et pour déposer Jean XXIII, lequel avait fui le concile, et élire un nouveau pape, Martin V.

Lorsque Jan Hus part pour Constance en 1414, muni d’un sauf-conduit de l’empereur, Jérôme lui promet de venir l’aider, si nécessaire. Lorsque Jérôme arrive à Constance, sans sauf-conduit, ses amis le convainquent de rentrer en Bohême car il ne peut rien pour son ami et il est lui-même en danger. Mais il est arrêté sur son trajet de retour et mis en prison où il tombe gravement malade. Très affaibli, Jérôme se désolidarise de Wyclif – dont le concile a décidé que les oeuvres doivent être brûlées et les ossements déterrés et dispersés – et de Jan Hus qui a été brûlé vif. Jérôme n’est pas relâché pour autant .

Lors de son procès en 1416, Jérôme renonce à son abjuration. Il obtient avec difficulté le droit de plaider sa cause mais il est condamné comme hérétique et relaps et, lui aussi, livré au pouvoir séculier pour être brûlé vif. Il meurt en chantant et en prononçant ses dernières paroles « cette âme en flammes, je l’offre à Toi, Christ ».

Il est considéré comme un héros de la foi par les Hussites. En tant que défenseur des idées des partisans de la réforme de l’Église, il a sa place parmi les pré-réformateurs.

Un monument commémoratif est érigé à Constance, à l’emplacement du bûcher de Jérôme de Prague : une grosse pierre portant une inscription à son nom.

 

Bibliographie

  • Sites
    • La figure de l’autorité magistrale à travers Jean Hus et Jérôme de Prague | Lien
  • Documents
    • PROVVIDENTE Sebastián, Causa unionis, fidei, reformationis | Lien

Notices associées

Parcours associés

Au hasard des notices