Jacques Sturm (1489-1553)

Jacques Sturm was a major figure of the Protestant Reformation in Strasbourg. He was open to new religious trends, and adopted Luther’s message, thus imposing on the city an authoritarian policy of religious unity. He took part in creating the “Gymnase”, a humanistic internationally renowned high-school.

As a politician and a diplomat, he played a key role in the Empire’s affairs, and was often opposed to Charles V, who wanted to re-establish Catholicism: a clever negotiator, he managed to preserve Protestantism in the free city of Strasbourg.

Sturm at the Strasbourg council

  • © Wikimedia commons
  • Wolfgang Capiton engraving W. Markworth, 1750 ? © Bibliothèque nationale et universitaire de Strasbourg

Jacques Sturm belonged to a noble and ancient family in Strasbourg which included religious men as well as political figures. Jacques Sturm, like them, repetitively held honorary positions, such as Stettmeister (President of the city council), but he was first and foremost a member of the council of the XV (domestic affairs) and the council of the XIII (foreign affairs).

He was first interested in a clerical career, and spent three years at the Faculty of Arts in Heidelberg, then he studied theology in Friburg where he met Wolfgang Capiton and Matthieu Zell. Back in Strasbourg in 1509, he was part of a humanistic ‘ sodalité ‘ (society) where he met Erasmus in 1514, who considered religion to be a matter of personal conscience. That meeting and the reading of his writings drove Sturm to turn to antique literature, to the Bible, the Fathers of the Church and to humanism in general which stressed pedagogical renewal. It seems that he read Luther’s writings around 1520.

In 1523 he relinquished his clerical status at the service of the provost of the cathedral, and entered politics to be elected member of the city Council. In a few years he emerged as the leader of the city and played a key role in the Empire’s affairs.

Sturm and the Reformation

  • Martin Bucer (1491-1551) © S.H.P.F.
  • Sturm after a portrait painted by Tobie Stimmer and etched by Jacques von de Heyden in 1617 © Bibliothèque Nationale et Universitaire de Strasbourg

The Evangelical movement reached Strasbourg in 1520 under the influence of Matin Zell, bishop of the cathedral. Catholic worshipping progressively changed, and clerics married. As early as 1524 most Council members tended to support the Evangelical trend, generating tensions due to the interweaving of religions life and institutions: Who could decide on reforms, were they compatible with the laws of the Empire and with the condemnation of Luther in Worms in 1521, then what should be done about those who remained faithful to traditional forms or conversely wanted more radical reforms?

The exercise of control, also in ecclesiastic matters, had to be clarified. After troubled times, the closing down of convents, and uncontrolled initiatives by some Evangelical preachers, Sturm the patrician, decided that affairs dealing with religion and their institutions, should come under the exclusive control of the city’s authorities, and not left to the people or the ministers. He was true to Erasmus’ more conciliatory attitudes, and was in favour of religious pluralism i.e. temporarily keeping mass. But the discords in the initial years, the struggle against the Anabaptists, the failure of his conciliatory endeavours during the peasants’ war, all prompted a more severe attitude. For him, the civilian authorities were responsible for the city and its unity, but the Council’s power was over the Church and its doctrine too. Sturm reminded the preachers that their role was to spread the Gospel, and not to provide guidance to the Council.

He presided the 1533 synod during which Martin Bucer‘s text was adopted, banishing the Anabaptists and other religious dissidents.

He was interested in education and presided over the school commission until he died. Elementary schools were modified and a college created to train ministers. He asked Jean Sturm (a homonym, but not a relative) to come to Strasbourg and become the rector of a High School, later called “Gymnase”, one of the most influential schools in Europe.

Sturm the diplomat

  • © Meromedia
  • © Musée Bode - Berlin

In 1524, Sturm married the daughter of a stettmeister and thus increased his influence after he was elected to the two councils – XIV and especially the XIII devoted to foreign affairs, complemented by his appointment as stettmeister in 1526.

His statesman’s stature established, he took charge of most of the external affairs of the city. He represented Strasbourg at the first diet in Spire in 1526, which temporarily gave freedom of worship to princes and free cities. Then at the diet of 1529, confronting the Emperor’s pressure against the Reformation, five princes and representatives of fourteen cities, Strasbourg included, presented a solemn protest against the decree proposed by the Emperor.

Faced with the risk of armed repression against the Evangelical confession, the need to be armed to resist implied alliances. Turning to the free cities of the Empire was impossible, though their rights were often defended at diets, because the cities, in spite of their unity, were too weak to resist imperial troops, even more so as some had not joined the Reformation.

At the colloquium in Marbourg in 1529, an Evangelical alliance was forged between Swiss cities – Zurich, Basel and Bern, Philip of Hesse and John of Saxony -, and the cities Nuremberg and Ulm. But it was fragile, given the differing conceptions of Luther and Zwingli about the Eucharist. The quarrels with Saxony brought to the foreground the alliance with the Swiss, within a “right to Christian middle class fellowship” each vowing to support the others in case it was attacked on faith grounds.

At the diet of Augsburg in1530, Charles V was opposed to the Protestant princes in Northern Germany, and refused the Confession of Augsburg, the founding text of Lutheranism. Strasbourg did not concur with it. Martin Bucer wrote a specific confession of faith for Strasbourg, the tetrapolitan Confession.

When the Smalkalde League was founded in 1531-1532, theological differences with the Lutherans being were tolerated and Strasbourg was accepted in the League that lasted fifteen years. For Sturm the only aim of the League was to defend and spread the Evangelical faith, contrary to Zwingli who considered war legitimate in order to establish religious free choice in the Catholic Swiss cantons. Sturm was also opposed to the wars of aggression of the league in Wurtemberg and in Northern Germany, which created conflict with Philip of Hesse.

But the conflict with the Empire became inevitable. Charles V destroyed the League at the Mühlberg battle in 1547. Strasbourg was threatened, the choice was to capitulate or to resist: Bucer and the preachers were against capitulation and asked that the people be consulted, which Sturm refused, but he pleaded for negotiations. He yielded to the “interim” proclaimed by Charles V, who imposed the return to Catholicism, but obtained a few concessions (celebration of the Lord’s supper, priests’ marriage) while waiting for the decisions of the Council in Trente. Sturm pledged allegiance, negotiated with the bishop who demanded that Martin Bucer leave; the concessions were annulled ten years later, thus allowing Strasbourg to save the Evangelical faith.

Bibliography

  • Books
    • LIENHARD Marc, Jacques Sturm et la ville de Strasbourg : religion et politique au XVIe siècle, Droz, 2016, Revue d'histoire du protestantisme, Tome 1, p. 149

Associated notes

Random notes

Jacques Sturm (1489-1553)

Jacques Sturm est une figure majeure de la Réforme protestante à Strasbourg. Ouvert aux nouveaux courants religieux, il adhère au message de Luther, et imprime au niveau de la cité une politique autoritaire d’uniformité religieuse. Il participe à la création du Gymnase, collège humaniste de rayonnement international.

Politique et diplomate, il joue un rôle essentiel dans les affaires de l’Empire, se heurtant à la volonté de Charles Quint de rétablir le catholicisme : habile négociateur, il arrive à préserver le protestantisme dans la ville libre de Strasbourg.

Sturm au Conseil de Strasbourg

  • Statue de Jacques Sturm par Alfred Marzolff (1867-1936) © Wikimedia commons
  • Wolfgang Capiton gravure W. Markworth, 1750 ?
    Wolfgang Capiton gravure W. Markworth, 1750 ? © Bibliothèque nationale et universitaire de Strasbourg

Jacques Sturm fait partie d’une des familles nobles les plus anciennes de Strasbourg, où l’on trouve aussi bien des hommes de religion que des responsables politiques. Comme eux, Jacques Sturm remplit à plusieurs reprises les fonctions honorifiques de stettmeister  (président du Conseil de la ville) et surtout fait partie du conseil des XV (affaires intérieures) et du conseil des XIII (affaires étrangères).

D’abord destiné à une carrière cléricale, il passe trois ans à la faculté de lettres d’Heidelberg, puis étudie la théologie à Fribourg où il côtoie Wolfgang Capiton et Matthieu Zell. De retour à Strasbourg en 1509, il fait partie d’une « sodalité » (confrérie) humaniste où il rencontre en 1514 Érasme, qui considère que la religion est une affaire de conscience personnelle. Cette rencontre, ainsi que la lecture de ses écrits, l’orientent vers un retour à la littérature antique, à la Bible, aux Pères de l’Église, à l’humanisme en général qui insiste sur l’importance des réformes pédagogiques. Il semble qu’autour des années 1520, il ait lu des écrits de Luther.

Au cours de l’année 1523, il abandonne son statut clérical au service du prévôt de la cathédrale, s’engage dans la politique et se fait élire au Conseil de la ville. En quelques années il s’impose comme le dirigeant de la ville et joue un rôle essentiel dans les affaires de l’Empire.

Sturm et la Réforme

  • Martin Bucer (1491-1551)
    Martin Bucer (1491-1551) © S.H.P.F.
  • Sturm d'après le portrait peint par Tobie Stimmer et gravé en 1617 par Jacques von der Heyden
    Sturm d'après le portrait peint par Tobie Stimmer et gravé en 1617 par Jacques von der Heyden © Bibliothèque Nationale et Universitaire de Strasbourg

Le mouvement évangélique atteint Strasbourg au cours de l’année 1520, sous l’influence de Matthieu Zell, prêtre à la cathédrale. La célébration du culte catholique est progressivement modifiée, des clercs se marient. Dès 1524, la majorité des membres du Conseil penche du côté du mouvement évangélique, d’où des tensions étant donné l’imbrication entre piété et institutions : qui peut décider des réformes, sont-elles compatibles avec les lois de l’Empire et la condamnation de Luther à Worms en 1521, que faire de ceux qui restent fidèles aux formes traditionnelles ou au contraire veulent des réformes plus radicales ?

L’exercice du pouvoir, y compris pour les questions ecclésiales, doit être précisé. Après une période chaotique, avec fermeture des couvents, initiatives non contrôlées de certains prédicateurs évangéliques, le patricien Sturm décide que les affaires ayant trait à la religion et aux institutions, sont du ressort exclusif des autorités de la ville, et non du peuple ou des pasteurs. Fidèle aux positions conciliantes d’Érasme, il est d’abord en faveur d’un certain pluralisme religieux avec maintien de la messe pour quelque temps, mais les troubles des premières années, la lutte contre les anabaptistes, la guerre des paysans où ses tentatives de conciliation échouent, le conduisent à une position plus sévère. Pour lui, si les autorités civiles sont responsables de la ville et de son unité, le pouvoir du Conseil s’étend à l’Église et à sa doctrine. Sturm rappelle aux prédicateurs que leur rôle est de diffuser l’Évangile, et non de donner des directives au Conseil

Il préside le synode de 1533 au cours duquel le texte de Martin Bucer est adopté, qui bannit les anabaptistes et autres dissidents religieux.

Il s’intéresse au domaine de l’éducation et préside la commission scolaire jusqu’à sa mort. Les écoles élémentaires sont transformées et un collège est créé afin de former les pasteurs. Il demande à Jean Sturm (son homonyme, sans lien de parenté) de venir à Strasbourg et de devenir le recteur d’une Haute École qui devint le Gymnase, une des écoles les plus influentes d’Europe.

Sturm diplomate

  • Strasbourg, une ville qui accueille la Réforme
    Strasbourg, une ville qui accueille la Réforme © Meromedia
  • Charles Quint autour de 1530/1540
    Charles Quint autour de 1530/1540 © Musée Bode - Berlin

En 1524, Sturm épouse la fille d’un stettmeister et accroit son influence après son élection aux deux Conseils, des XIV et surtout des XIII qui gèrent les affaires extérieures, complétée par celle de stettmeister en 1526.

Sa stature d’homme d’État s’impose, il assume la plus grande partie de la politique extérieure de la ville. Il représente Strasbourg à la première diète de Spire (1526) qui accorde temporairement la liberté de religion aux princes et aux villes libres, puis à celle de 1529, où face à la pression de l’empereur  contre la Réforme, cinq princes et les représentants de quatorze villes, dont Strasbourg, élèvent une protestation solennelle contre le décret proposé par l’empereur.

Devant le risque d’une répression armée contre la confession évangélique, la nécessité de pouvoir résister par les armes impose des alliances. Celle avec les villes libres de l’empire, qui a souvent été efficace pour défendre leurs droits lors des diètes, n’est pas possible, les villes, même unies, sont trop faibles pour résister aux troupes impériales, d’autant que toutes n’ont pas adhéré à la Réforme.

Au colloque de Marbourg (1529), une alliance évangélique est forgée entre les Suisses, (Zurich, Bâle et Berne), Philippe de Hesse et Jean de Saxe et les villes de Nuremberg et d’Ulm. Mais elle reste fragile, étant donné les conceptions différentes de Luther et de Zwingli au sujet de l’Eucharistie. Les querelles avec la Saxe remettent au premier plan l’alliance avec les Suisses, dans le cadre d’un « droit de combourgeoisie chrétien » où chacun s’engage à soutenir les autres au cas il serait attaqué pour des raisons de foi.

A la diète d’Augsbourg (1530), Charles Quint s’oppose aux princes protestants du Nord de l’Allemagne et refuse la Confession d’Augsbourg, texte fondateur du luthéranisme. Strasbourg n’y adhère pas. Martin Bucer rédige une confession de foi propre à Strasbourg, la Confession tetrapolitaine.

Lors de la formation de la Ligue de Smalkalde (1531-1532), les différents théologiques avec les luthériens étant tolérés, Strasbourg est accepté dans cette Ligue qui se maintiendra pendant quinze ans. Pour Sturm, cette Ligue doit avoir pour seul but de défendre et d’étendre la foi évangélique, contrairement à Zwingli qui considère la guerre comme légitime pour établir le libre choix religieux des cantons catholiques de Suisse. De même, il s’oppose aux guerres offensives de la Ligue, au Wurtemberg et en Allemagne du Nord, d’où des difficultés avec Philippe de Hesse.

Mais le conflit avec l’Empire devient inévitable. Charles Quint écrase la Ligue à la bataille de Mühlberg en 1547. Strasbourg est menacé, l’alternative est la capitulation ou la résistance : Bucer et les prédicateurs s’opposent à la capitulation et demandent que le peuple soit consulté, ce que refuse Sturm qui plaide pour des négociations. Il cède à l’ « intérim » proclamé par Charles Quint, qui impose le retour au catholicisme, mais obtient certaines concessions (Cène, mariage des prêtres) en attendant les décisions du Concile de Trente. Sturm prête allégeance, négocie avec l’évêque, qui exige le départ de Martin Bucer, les concessions faites seront annulées dix ans après, permettant à Strasbourg de sauver la foi évangélique.

Bibliographie

  • Livres
    • LIENHARD Marc, Jacques Sturm et la ville de Strasbourg : religion et politique au XVIe siècle, Droz, 2016, Revue d'histoire du protestantisme, Tome 1, p. 149

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices