Heinrich Bullinger (1504-1575)

Heinrich Bullinger was a theologian and a Reformer who supported the Reform Movement in Zurich after Zwingli’s death in 1531. He also played a key role in spreading the Protestant Reform Movement around Europe.

The influence of the Reform Movement

  • Heinrich Bullinger (1504-1575) © S.H.P.F.

Heinrich Bullinger’s father was Dean at Bremgarten, in the Swiss canton of Argovie, where Heinrich was born in 1504. He was destined for the priesthood and studied at Cologne University from 1519 to 1522. He read the writings of Erasmus, Melanchthon and Luther; which gradually led him to convert to the Reformed Protestant Church.

In 1523, he taught Bible exegesis at the Cistercian monastery in Kappell, in the Zurich canton, but did not take his vows. He also studied Greek and Hebrew, met Zwingli and studied his writings. In 1529 Bullinger married Anna Adlischweiler, a former nun. He became a pastor in Bremgarten, his home-town, succeeding his father who had been dismissed for spreading Reformed Church doctrines.

Zwingli's successor in Zurich

In 1531 Zwingli was killed while acting as a chaplain during the battle of Kappel. The inhabitants of Zurich were defeated by the Catholic cantons. The defeat meant that the canton of Argovie had to return to Catholicism, and Bullinger and his family had to leave and take refuge in Zurich. He was approached by Berne, Basle and Zurich, but he chose to stay in Zurich where he was appointed chief pastor of their Collegiate Church.

He strengthened the Reformed Church in the city and in the Zurich canton, though it seemed to falter under Catholic pressure after Zwingli’s death. Like Zwingli, he was opposed to the Anabaptists but did not persecute them, refusing to use violence against those who did not share his beliefs.

He refused to countenance total separation of the Church from secular powers, defending freedom of preaching and opposing supervision of the Church by the State. In 1532 he succeeded in the establishment of a mixed committee of magistrates and pastors to oversee ecclesiastical matters.

Bullinger was an outstanding preacher – preaching two or three times a week – but also a historian. In the Chronique de Zurich (Zurich Chronicles) he told the story of the city from Roman times until the Reformation. He wrote a biography of Zwingli and had his writings published.

The theologian who spread the Reform Movement throughout Europe

Bullinger developed a theology of alliance in his De testamento seu foedere Dei unico et aeterno, in 1536.

In Zurich he opened his home to numerous Protestant refugees from England and Italy, and to all those who asked for his help.

In Zwingli’s wake he refused to compromise with Luther on the matter of the Eucharist, maintaining the symbolical but not the actual presence of Christ.

He endeavoured to preserve unity among Reformers thanks to the 1549 agreement with Calvin concerning the Eucharist; the Consensus Tigurinus (Consensus of Zurich). In 1566 he wrote a collection of doctrinal theses, the Confession helvétique postérieure (Second Helvetic Confession), adopted by most Protestant Swiss cantons and which became a benchmark for the Reformed Church in Europe.

Bullinger had tremendous influence through his preaching, his Bible commentaries and his numerous theological letters – over 12,000 letters to various leading figures, such as theologians, pastors, princes and politicians. He particularly influenced the Puritan movement in England. His major work was a treatise on pastoral theology, Les Décades (The Decades), first published in Latin.

His wife and many of his family died during the plague epidemic between 1554 and 1556.

He died, aged 71, in Zurich after a 44-year ministry in the city.

Associated notes

Random notes

Heinrich Bullinger (1504-1575)

Heinrich Bullinger, théologien et réformateur, conforte la Réforme à Zurich après la mort de Zwingli en 1531. Il joue aussi un rôle essentiel dans l’essor du courant réformé en Europe.

L'influence de le Réforme

  • Heinrich Bullinger (1504-1575)
    Heinrich Bullinger (1504-1575) © S.H.P.F.

Le père d’Heinrich Bullinger était curé doyen à Bremgarten dans le canton suisse d’Argovie. C’est là qu’Heinrich naît en 1504. Destiné à la prêtrise, il fait ses études de 1519 à 1522 à l’université de Cologne. Ses lectures d’Érasme, de Melanchthon et de Luther le conduisent à une conversion progressive à la Réforme.

En 1523, il enseigne l’exégèse biblique au couvent cistercien de Cappel (canton de Zurich), sans prononcer ses vœux, et étudie le grec et l’hébreu. Il rencontre Zwingli et étudie ses écrits. En 1529,  Bullinger, se marie avec Anna Adlischweiler, une ancienne nonne. Il devient pasteur dans sa ville natale de Bremgarten, succédant à son père qui avait été révoqué pour avoir propagé des doctrines de la Réforme.

Le successeur de Zwingli à Zurich

En 1531, Zwingli est tué en participant en tant qu’aumônier à la bataille de Cappel. Les Zurichois y sont battus par les cantons catholiques. Cette défaite entraîne le retour du canton d’Argovie au catholicisme. Bullinger doit partir avec sa famille et il se réfugie à Zurich. Recevant des appels de Berne, Bâle et Zurich, il choisit de rester à Zurich où il est nommé premier pasteur de la collégiale.

Il consolide la Réforme dans la ville et dans le canton de Zurich, alors qu’elle paraissait compromise sous la pression des catholiques, suite à la disparition de Zwingli. Comme lui, il s’oppose aux anabaptistes mais il ne les persécute pas car il se refuse à la violence envers ceux qui ne partagent pas ses croyances.

Il refuse la séparation complète de l’Église et du pouvoir séculier, tout en en défendant la liberté de prédication et en s’opposant à la tutelle de l’État sur l’Église : il obtient en 1532 la création d’un comité mixte de magistrats et de pasteurs pour surveiller les affaires ecclésiastiques.

Excellent prédicateur – il prêche deux ou trois fois par semaine – Bullinger est aussi historien avec sa Chronique de Zurich qui retrace l’histoire de la ville depuis l’époque romaine jusqu’à la Réforme. Il a écrit une vie de Zwingli et fait éditer ses œuvres.

Le théologien propagateur du courant réformé en Europe

Bullinger développe une théologie  de l’alliance dans De testamento seu foedere Dei unico et aeterno (1536).

Il accueille à Zurich de nombreux réfugiés protestants venus d’Angleterre et d’Italie, sa maison est ouverte à tous ceux qui sollicitent son aide.

Restant dans la ligne de Zwingli, il refuse tout compromis avec Luther sur la Cène, en défendant la présence symbolique, mais non réelle, du Christ.

Il s’attache à préserver l’unité réformée grâce à un accord passé en 1549 avec Calvin sur la Cène, le Consensus Tigurinus. Il rédige aussi un recueil de thèses doctrinales, la Confession helvétique postérieure, laquelle est adoptée en 1566 par la plupart des cantons suisses protestants et devient une référence pour l’Europe réformée.

Bullinger a eu une influence considérable par ses prédications, ses commentaires sur la Bible et sa très volumineuse correspondance théologique, plus de 12 000 lettres adressées à des personnalités diverses : théologiens, pasteurs, princes et hommes politiques. Il a notamment influencé le mouvement puritain en Angleterre. Son œuvre majeure est un traité de théologie pastorale, Les Décades, paru d’abord en latin.

Il perd sa femme et une grande partie de sa famille durant l’épidémie de peste de 1554 à 1556.

Il meurt en 1575, à l’âge de 71 ans, à Zurich au terme d’un ministère de 44 ans dans cette ville.

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices