France Quéré (1936-1995)

France Quéré was a Protestant theologian who made a remarkable contribution to the understanding of ethical issues in a rapidly changing world.  Her work was chiefly concerned with the changing position of women in society, the handicapped and the terminally ill.

Her training

  • © Journal Réforme
  • © Journal Réforme

In 1936, France Jaulnes was born into a wealthy, Protestant, Cevenol family in Montpellier. Her father, Paul Jaulnes, was a University Professor of Chemistry. While studying classical literature she came across the Church Fathers. In order to have a better understanding of how their theses and issues could relate to the modern world she attended the Theology Faculty of Montpellier where she attended the lectures of Wilhelm Vischer (1895-1988) on the Old Testament and Georges Crespy (1920-1976) on philosophy and sociology.

With the latter, she concentrated more especially on ethical issues and came into contact with the works of the pastor André Dumas and the philosopher Paul Ricoeur. In 1961, she married Yves Quéré, a specialist in solid state physics, who soon became a Professor at the Ecole Polytechnique (a renowned University institution), and a member of the Academy of Science. They were married ecumenically and ecumenism was a constant reference in their relationship. They had three children.

Early stages of her career

At the beginning of her career, France Quéré studied the Church Fathers. Father Hamman (1910-2000), who was a specialist in this field, asked her to join him in his work for the Icthus collection, which he supervised for the Migne Editions. She translated and edited several volumes of chosen texts, together with other specialists, both Catholic and Protestant. These were, among others: Rich and Poor in the Ancient Church (1962), the Mystery of Christmas (1963), the Eucharist (1964), Women (1968), Marriage(1969).

In these ancient writings she discovered reality on several levels and different interpretations which coincided with her experience of the modern world and especially the much contested, increasingly changing, condition of women and the transformation of family values.

France Quéré became involved in contemporary issues

  • © Journal Réforme
  • © Journal Réforme

Although she never gave up her work on the Church Fathers, she began getting involved in the deep analysis of problems which were crucially important at that time. Her first essay, the Destitution of Hope (1971) revealed her deep conviction of ethical values; she understood the potential of scientific progress, (contraception and assisted reproductive technology among other aspects).

She also understood the many consequences of such changes, many of which were as yet unknown such as violence, both in the home and in women’s professional lives.

Her broad-mindedness and inventive wisdom made her a recognised expert who was often solicited for her views within the Feminist Movement (the Young Women’s Group, Family Planning, the association which fought against rape). She made her opinions known on such controversial subjects as abortion, society’s attitude to the handicapped and terminal illness.

She was active in the Protestant Family Association and became a member of the High Council for the Population and the Family. She was nominated as a member of the Advisory Board of National Ethics when it was founded in 1983. She was also a leading journalist, working regularly for The Cross, the weekly paper Reform and the monthly magazine Panorama; her writings were of lasting importance.

She died of an asthma attack in 1995.

Associated notes

Random notes

France Quéré (1936-1995)

France Quéré est une théologienne protestante qui a contribué à éclairer les questions d’éthique dans un monde en transformation rapide. Ses travaux,  ont porté sur les questions nées de l’évolution de la condition féminine, de celles du mariage et du statut de la famille, ainsi que des handicaps et de la fin de vie.

La formation

  • France Quéré en pleine argumentation © Journal Réforme
  • France Quéré devant un manuscrit © Journal Réforme
1 2 3

France Jaulmes est née en 1936 à Montpellier dans une famille protestante cévenole aisée. Son père, Paul Jaulmes, est professeur à la faculté de pharmacie. Des études de lettres classiques lui font rencontrer les textes des Pères de l’Église. Pour mieux en comprendre les thèses, les questions, mais aussi le sens dans le monde présent, elle complète sa formation par des études à la Faculté de théologie de Montpellier où elle suit notamment les cours de Wilhelm Vischer (1895-1988) sur l’Ancien Testament et ceux de Georges Crespy (1920-1976) en philosophie et en sociologie.

Avec ce dernier, elle se familiarise plus précisément avec les questions éthiques et rencontre les travaux du pasteur André Dumas et du philosophe Paul Ricœur. En 1961, elle se marie avec Yves Quéré. Celui-ci, spécialiste de la physique des solides, devient rapidement professeur à l’École Polytechnique et membre de l’Académie des Sciences. Le mariage est œcuménique et l’œcuménisme devient pour le couple une référence constante. Ils ont trois enfants.

Les premiers travaux

Les premiers travaux de France Quéré sont relatifs aux Pères de l’Église. Le père Hamman (1910-2000), grand spécialiste du domaine, lui propose en effet de travailler pour la collection Ichtus qu’il dirige aux Éditions Migne. Avec d’autres spécialistes, catholiques et protestants, elle participe à l’édition et à la traduction de plusieurs volumes de textes choisis : Riches et pauvres dans l’Église ancienne (1962), Le mystère de Noël (1963), L’Eucharistie (1964), La Femme (1968), Le Mariage (1969) et d’autres encore.

Elle découvre dans ces écrits anciens une réalité plurielle et des conflits d’interprétation qui entrent en résonance avec son expérience de la réalité du monde contemporain, en particulier l’évolution très ouverte, mais conflictuelle, de la condition des femmes et la transformation du statut de la famille.

Le temps de l'engagement

  • France Quéré © Journal Réforme
  • Portrait de France Quéré © Journal Réforme
1 2 3

Sans abandonner la patristique, elle s’engage alors dans une réflexion active sur des problèmes de grande actualité. Un premier essai, Le dénuement de l’espérance (1971), expose une position éthique exigeante : elle est attentive aux possibilités que le progrès scientifique ouvre (la contraception et par la suite la procréation médicalement assistée et d’autres encore).

Elle est aussi sensible à la pluralité des situations nées de ces changements, ainsi qu’à leurs interdépendances souvent difficiles à déchiffrer : les conséquences peuvent en être violentes (violences faites aux femmes dans leur vie professionnelle ou conjugale).

Son ouverture d’esprit et sa sagesse inventive en font une spécialiste très sollicitée par les mouvements féministes (Jeunes Femmes, le planning familial, le Collectif contre le viol). Elle intervient sur des sujets très sensibles que sont le droit à l’avortement, le rapport au handicap, les conditions de fin de vie.

Militante des Associations familiales protestantes, elle devient membre du Haut Conseil de la Population et de la Famille. Elle est nommée membre du Conseil Consultatif National d’Éthique, dès sa création en 1983. Elle est aussi une éditorialiste régulière du journal La Croix, de l’hebdomadaire Réforme, du mensuel Panorama.  Ses travaux sont des références.

Une crise d’asthme l’emporte en 1995.

Bibliographie

  • Livres
    • QUERE France, L’Éthique et la vie, Editions du Seuil, 1991, Points Odile Jacob
    • QUERE France, Présence d’une parole, quatre conférences et une prière de fête, Edition de Michel Leplay chez Olivétan, 2015
  • Articles
    • JOUTARD Philippe, LEPLAY Michel, RICOEUR Paul, MARTELET Gustave, LINA Marguerite, KAHN Axel, « Hommages à France Quéré », Réforme, 14 avril 2005, Numéro 3123

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices

p
u
b
l
i
c
i
t
e