The Protestant Independent school of theology of Paris

The Protestant Faculty of theology of Paris was founded in 1873, and called Protestant Independent school of theology, upon the initiative of Strasbourg University professors, especially Frédéric Lichtenberger and Auguste Sabatier, who did not wish to remain in the Alsatian city that had become German after the defeat at Sedan in 1870.

  • Faculté de théologie protestante de Paris (2016)
    The Protestant Independent school of theology of Paris (2016) © Fondation Bersier (Thibault Godin - 2015)

Until then there had never been a Protestant faculty of theology in the capital city. Training for pastoral and diaconal ministries was provided at the Faculty of Reformed theology in Montauban. The professors in Strasbourg were Lutherans. For a few years the problem was of an agreement between Lutherans and Reformed. Once it was reached the independent School became a Faculty in 1877 and was established in the Collège Rollin on rue Lhomond in Paris.

In 1879 Wiliam Waddington, the minister of Education, granted the Protestant Faculty of theology of Paris the private mansion located 83 boulevard Arago in Paris. They were allowed to deliver state diplomas, a favour not granted to Catholic university education since 1877. But this favour was rapidly rescinded. In the late 21st century it became the Protestant independent faculty of theology.

Since it was founded the Faculty of Paris has had many outstanding professors, such as Adolphe Lods, Wilfred Monod, Pierre Maury, and in the nineteen-sixties Jean Bosc, André Dumas, Oscar Cullmann, Georges Casalis, and those who are presently in charge, of course.

The Protestant faculty of theology of Paris and the one in Montpelier constitute the Protestant Institute of theology. The Institute does not deliver state diplomas, but organises common classes with various academic institutions, which allows students to be eligible for state diplomas.

The Protestant Faculty of theology of Paris has a large theological library of theology and an important archive reserve, among which those of the philosopher Paul Ricœur are housed in a special dedicated new building inaugurated in June 2010.

The building of the Protestant Faculty of theology of Paris is in the vicinity of La Santé Prison built in 1867. This explains why some of the windows are obstructed to prevent unauthorised exchange with prisoners.

It should be noted that a 100 metres further down, at the crossroads of the boulevard Arago and the rue de la Santé, stands the last public urinal in use in the city of Paris.

Denfert-Rochereau square

  • Le Lion de Belfort (1875-1879), sculpture de Bartholdi
    © Ville de Belfort

A big statue of a lion stands in the middle of Denfert-Rochereau square in remembrance of the defenders of Belfort during the 1870-71 siege. On the pedestal is a medallion featuring colonel Denfert-Rochereau who controlled the stronghold. The statue is a replica of the very big statue in Vosgian sandstone erected at the foot of the Belfort citadel. Both statues were made by the Alsatian sculptor Frédéric-Auguste Bartholdi. He also designed the Statue of Liberty in New York. Both Denfert-Rochereau and Bartholdi were Protestant.

To know more

The Protestant Independent school of theology of Paris

83 Boulevard Arago, 75014 Paris, France

Itinerary to this location

Associated tours

Random notes

Faculté de théologie protestante de Paris

La Faculté de théologie protestante de Paris a été créée en 1873, comme École libre de théologie protestante, à l’initiative de professeurs de la Faculté de Strasbourg, Frédéric Lichtenberger et Auguste Sabatier en particulier, qui ne voulaient pas rester dans la ville alsacienne devenue allemande à la suite de la défaite de Sedan en 1870.

  • Faculté de théologie protestante de Paris
    Faculté de théologie protestante de Paris © Thibault Godin

Il n’y avait pas eu jusqu’alors de faculté de théologie protestante dans la capitale. La formation aux ministères pastoraux et diaconaux se faisait à la Faculté de théologie réformée de Montauban. Les professeurs de Strasbourg étaient, quant à eux, luthériens. Pendant quelques années, le problème fut de se mettre d’accord entre luthériens et réformés. Cet accord ayant été obtenu, l’École libre est devenue Faculté en 1877 et s’est installée dans le collège Rollin, rue Lhomond.

C’est en 1879 que le ministre de l’Instruction publique, William Waddington, a donné à la Faculté de théologie protestante de Paris, la jouissance de l’hôtel particulier qui se trouve 83 boulevard Arago. Il l’a aussi autorisée à délivrer des diplômes d’État, ce qui pourtant était refusé depuis 1877 à l’enseignement universitaire catholique. Mais cette faveur lui fut assez vite retirée. A la fin du XIXe siècle, elle était faculté libre de théologie protestante.

Depuis sa création, la Faculté de Paris a eu beaucoup de professeurs remarquables, tels Adolphe Lods, Wilfred Monod, Pierre Maury et dans les années mille neuf cent-soixante, Jean Bosc, André Dumas, Oscar Cullmann, Georges Casalis puis, bien sûr, ceux qui sont actuellement en responsabilité.

La Faculté de théologie protestante de Paris et celle de Montpellier se sont regroupées pour former l’Institut protestant de théologie. L’Institut ne délivre pas de diplôme d’État, mais il organise des cours communs avec divers établissement universitaires, ce qui permet aux étudiants de se présenter aux diplômes d’État.

La Faculté de théologie de Paris possède une importante bibliothèque de théologie et beaucoup d’archives, dont celles du philosophe Paul Ricœur pour lesquelles un bâtiment nouveau a été construit et inauguré en juin 2010.

Le bâtiment de la Faculté de théologie protestante de Paris se trouve dans le voisinage immédiat de la prison de la Santé, construite en 1867. C’est pourquoi certaines fenêtres sont condamnées, aux fins d’éviter tout échange non autorisé avec les prisonniers.

Il faut remarquer, 100 mètres plus bas, au croisement du Boulevard Arago et de la rue de la Santé, la dernière vespasienne en service de la ville de Paris.

Place Denfert-Rochereau

Une grande statue de lion figure au centre de la place Denfert-Rochereau en souvenir des défenseurs de Belfort pendant le siège de 1870-1871. Sur le socle de la statue figure un médaillon du colonel Denfert-Rochereau qui commandait la place. La statue est une réplique de la très grande statue en grès des Vosges érigée sous la citadelle de Belfort. Les deux statues sont l’œuvre du sculpteur alsacien Frédéric-Auguste Bartholdi. Celui-ci est également l’auteur de la statue de la liberté à New-York. Denfert-Rochereau et Bartholdi étaient tous deux protestants.

En savoir plus

Faculté de théologie protestante de Paris

83 Boulevard Arago, 75014 Paris, France

Itinéraire vers ce lieu

Parcours associés

Au hasard des notices