The second war of religion (1567-1568)

19 March 1563             Peace of Amboise

January 1564                Catherine de Medici started her «great tour of France»

27 May 1564                 Death of Jean Calvin

June-July 1565              Interview in Bayonne with representatives from Philippe II

August 1566                 Calvinist uprising in the Spanish Netherlands

June 1567                      Pope Pie V condemns the Protestants

26 September 1567       The «surprise of Meaux»

30 September 1567       Catholics massacred in Nîmes, «Michelade»

Autumn 1567                Uprising in the Midi region

10 November 1657       Royal victory at the Saint-Denis battle. On the 12th, death of constable Anne de Montmorency.

Elector Palatine Frederic III sent his troops to Gaspard de Coligny

23 March 1568             Edict of Longjumeaux

Peaceful times

  • Catherine de Médicis (1519-1589), reine de France
    Catherine de Médicis (1519-1589), queen of France © SHPF
  • Les trois frères Coligny
    The three Coligny brothers © S.H.P.F.
  • Anne de Montmorency (1493-1567) © Collection privée

For four years after the Peace of Amboise imposed by Catherine de Medici, the state of things was still precarious with trials against protestants who plundered churches, with attacks and killings of a smaller number of Protestants by organised gangs. Each side hired mercenaries to ensure its security. Religious fanatics fought against attempts to make rebel parliaments record the edict and its measures. Some governors, especially in the Midi region, did not follow royal directives, imposed taxes and fought against judicial decisions. The unity of the kingdom was threatened.

In January 1564 Catherine de Medici, knowing how much the French loved their king, decided that the Court with the young Charles IX and his brother Henri d’Orléans, the eleven-year-old Henri de Navarre, as well as constable Anne de Montmorency and Cardinal Charles de Lorraine should go on a tour of France, to show the king and exhibit the prestige of the monarchy.

Upon Philippe II’s request, who sent his wife Elisabeth – the daughter of Catherine de Medici –, the queen had a political meeting with the Duc d’Albe in Bayonne between 15 June and 2 July 1565. The latter asked for all pastors to be expelled from France, for the decisions of the Council of Trente to be accepted, and for repression to be strengthened. The negotiation failed, and Catherine de Medici made only vague promises.

The tour lasted almost two and a half years, from January 1564 to May 1566, when the king came back to Paris. Meanwhile Catherine de Medici noted the apparent quietness and loyalty of the people, even of the Huguenots, while Catholicism dominated there was an apparent peace.

She believed that the pacification of the kingdom was established. But in August 1566 Philippe II sent an army from the Milan region to the Spanish Flanders to subdue the Protestant uprising. This large army went through the Savoie and Franche-Comté regions, bordering the frontiers of France.

The Protestants were worried that the results of the Bayonne meeting remained secret. The Protestant leaders, such as François d’Andelot, no longer commanded the respect of their Catholique soldiers. The prince Louis de Cordet was publicly insulted by the young (just 16 years old) Duke of Anjou, claiming command of his troops as Lieutenant Général.

In June 1567 Pope Pie V condemned the Huguenots. Their leaders Louis de Condé, Gaspard de Coligny and François d’Andelot left the Court. They were determined to take up arms again as early as Autumn 1567. They were worried by the growing influence of cardinal Charles of Lorraine on the young king Charles IX, and contemplated forcefully shielding the king from that ascendency.

This is known as the surprise of Meaux. But the king was warned, thwarted the attempt and came back to Paris under the watch of his Swiss guards. 26 September 1567 was considered the start of the second war of religion. The royal power was challenged and Anne de Montmorency was entrusted with conducting the hostilities.

War times

  • Le massacre fait à Nîmes par les protestants (la Michelade) en 1567 © S.H.P.F.
  • Bataille de St Denis-1567
    Saint Denis - 1567 © S.H.P.F.

Cities in the Dauphiné and Midi regions under Louis de Condé rose up. Outbreaks of violence took place on both sides. On 30 September 1567 during the Michelade, 80 public figures, priests and clergymen were thrown in the well in the court of the bishop’s palace. Montauban became protestant again, as well as Orléans.

Louis de Condé’s army stationed in saint-Denis besieged Paris. In Paris the Catholics violently went after the Huguenots. The royal army under constable Anne de Montmorency decided to get out of Paris. His army was 20,000 strong, whilst the Huguenots had 5,000.

On 10 November 1567, the battle of Saint-Denis lasted 2 hours, and was indecisive. During the battle constable Anne de Montmorency was wounded and refused to surrender, but was shot in the back. He was pulled out by his sons but died 2 days later. Sumptuous funerals were organised in his memory. Assistance was sent to both sides. The Calvinist Elector Palatine Frederick III sent 10,000 knights to France through Lorraine. Gaspard de Coligny joined that army at the beginning of the year 1568. From the Midi region 4,000 men joined the troops of Louis de Condé and beseiged Chartres. Italian and Swiss troops came and reinforced the army of the king, but the 30,000 Protestants remained a threat. Paris was under siege again, and both parties were exhausted. The harsh winter and the lack of resources made negotiations necessary.

After long negotiations a peace was signed on 23 March 1568: the edict of Longjumeau restored the edict of Amboise. But safe strongholds required by the Protestants were refused, except for La Rochelle. Though it seemed more favourable to the Protestants, the edict meant only a truce. Nothing had been gained by the war.

Confronted by the failure of her moderation policies, Catherine de Medici dismissed chancelor Michel de l’Hospital in May 1568, who deemed the monarchy more important than religious unity. The regent took the side of the Catholic cause.

Frise 2ème guerre de religion
Deuxième guerre de Religion (1567-1568) © D.R.

Bibliography

  • Books
    • COTTRET Bernard, 1598, L’édit de Nantes, Perrin, Paris, 1997
    • GARRISSON Janine, Henri IV, Le Seuil, rééd. 2008, Paris, 1984
    • MIQUEL Pierre, Les guerres de religion, Fayard, Paris, 1980

Associated tours

Au hasard des notices

Deuxième guerre de Religion (1567-1568)

19 mars 1563 : Paix d’Amboise

Janvier 1564 : Catherine de Médicis entame le « grand tour de France »

27 mai 1564 : Mort de Jean Calvin

Juin-Juillet 1565 : Entrevue de Bayonne avec les représentants de Philippe II

Août 1566 : Soulèvement calviniste des Pays-Bas espagnols

Juin 1567 : Le pape Pie V condamne les protestants

26 septembre 1567 : La « surprise de Meaux »

30 septembre 1567 : Massacre de catholiques à Nîmes, la « Michelade »

Automne 1567 : Soulèvement du Midi

10 novembre 1567 : Victoire royale à la bataille de Saint-Denis. Le 12, mort du connétable Anne de Montmorency. L’électeur palatin Frédéric III envoie des troupes à Gaspard de Coligny

23 mars 1568 : Édit de Longjumeau

Temps de paix

  • Catherine de Médicis (1519-1589), reine de France
    Catherine de Médicis (1519-1589), reine de France © SHPF
  • Les trois frères Coligny
    Les trois frères Coligny © S.H.P.F.
  • Anne de Montmorency (1493-1567) © Collection privée
1 2 3

Pendant les quatre années qui suivent la paix d’Amboise, imposée par Catherine de Médicis, la situation reste fragile : procès engagé contre les protestants qui ont pillé les églises, attaques et tueries par des bandes organisées dont les protestants, moins nombreux, sont les victimes. Chaque camp engage des mercenaires pour assurer sa sécurité. Les tentatives d’obliger les parlements rebelles à enregistrer l’édit et les ordonnances se heurtent au fanatisme religieux. Certains gouverneurs, surtout ceux du Midi, ne suivent pas les instructions royales, lèvent les impôts et s’opposent aux décisions de justice. L’unité du royaume est menacée.

En janvier 1564, Catherine de Médicis, sachant le profond attachement des Français à leur souverain, décide que la Cour, avec le jeune Charles IX, son frère Henri d’Orléans, le jeune prince Henri de Navarre âgé de 11 ans, le connétable Anne de Montmorency et le cardinal Charles de Lorraine doit faire un grand tour de France, pour montrer le roi et mettre en scène le prestige de la monarchie.

Á la demande de Philippe II, qui envoie sa femme Élisabeth (fille de Catherine de Médicis), la reine a, à Bayonne, une entrevue politique avec le duc d’Albe (15 juin – 2 juillet 1565). Ce dernier demande l’expulsion de tous les pasteurs de France, l’acceptation des décisions du Concile de Trente, ainsi que l’accentuation de la répression. La négociation échoue, avec de vagues promesses de Catherine de Médicis.

Ce voyage va durer près de deux ans et demi, de janvier 1564 à mai 1566, date à laquelle le roi est de retour à Paris. Tout au long de cette expédition, Catherine de Médicis constate le loyalisme des populations, même huguenotes, un catholicisme dominant, et un calme apparent.

Elle pense que la pacification du royaume est établie. Mais, en août 1566, Philippe II envoie du Milanais en Flandre espagnole une armée pour réprimer la révolte des protestants. Cette armée très nombreuse traverse la Savoie et la Franche-Comté, longeant ainsi les frontières de la France.

Les protestants s’inquiètent, d’autant que les résultats de l’entrevue de Bayonne sont restés secrets. Les chefs protestants, comme François d’Andelot, ne sont plus obéis par leurs troupes catholiques. Le prince Louis de Condé se fait insulter publiquement par le jeune duc d’Anjou, âgé de 16 ans, prétendant commander à sa place comme lieutenant général.

En juin 1567, le pape Pie V condamne les huguenots. Les chefs huguenots, Louis de Condé, Gaspard de Coligny et François d’Andelot, quittent la Cour. Ils sont décidés à reprendre les armes dès l’automne 1567. Leur inquiétude devant l’influence grandissante du cardinal Charles de Lorraine sur le jeune roi Charles IX les amène à envisager un coup de force pour soustraire le roi à cette emprise.

C’est ce que l’on a appelé la surprise de Meaux. Mais, le roi, prévenu, déjoue cette tentative et, depuis Meaux, regagne Paris sous la protection des Suisses. Cette date du 26 septembre 1567 est considérée comme marquant le début de la deuxième guerre de Religion, Le pouvoir royal défié décide de confier au connétable Anne de Montmorency la conduite des hostilités.

Temps de guerre

  • Le massacre fait à Nîmes par les protestants (la Michelade) en 1567 © S.H.P.F.
  • Bataille de St Denis-1567
    Bataille de St Denis-1567 © S.H.P.F.
1 2 3

Les villes du Dauphiné et du Midi, aux ordres de Louis de Condé, se soulèvent. Des violences surviennent de part et d’autre. Á Nîmes, à la Saint-Michel, le 30 septembre 1567, c’est la Michelade, où 80 notables, prêtres, religieux sont précipités dans le puits de la cour de l’évêché. Montauban repasse aux protestants, ainsi qu’Orléans.

Paris est assiégé par l’armée de Louis de Condé, installée à Saint-Denis. Dans Paris, les catholiques s’en prennent violemment aux huguenots. L’armée royale, aux ordres du connétable Anne de Montmorency décide de sortir de Paris. Elle aligne près de 20 000 soldats, les huguenots environ 5 000.

La bataille de Saint-Denis (10 novembre 1567) dure 2 heures, et reste indécise. Au cours de la bataille, le connétable Anne de Montmorency, blessé, refuse de se rendre, mais reçoit un coup de pistolet dans le dos ; dégagé par ses fils, il meurt 2 jours plus tard. Des funérailles somptueuses sont organisées en sa mémoire. Des secours de l’étranger viennent renforcer les deux partis. Le prince calviniste Frédéric III, électeur palatin, envoie en France, à travers la Lorraine, près de 10 000 reitres, armée que Gaspard de Coligny rejoint au début de l’année 1568. Du Midi viennent 4 000 hommes, qui rejoignent les troupes de Louis de Condé, assiégeant Chartres. Les troupes italiennes et suisses viennent renforcer l’armée du roi, mais les protestants au nombre de 30 000 sont menaçants. Paris est à nouveau assiégé. Les deux partis sont épuisés. Les rigueurs de l’hiver, le manque de ressources imposent une négociation.

Á l’issue de longues négociations, une paix est signée le 23 mars 1568 : c’est l’édit de Longjumeau qui rétablit l’édit d’Amboise. Mais les places de sûreté demandées par les protestants sont refusées, à l’exception de La Rochelle. Bien qu’apparaissant plutôt comme favorable aux protestants, l’édit ne se traduit que par une trêve. La guerre avait eu lieu pour rien.

Devant l’échec de sa politique de modération, Catherine de Médicis renvoie en mai 1568 le chancelier Michel de l’Hospital, pour qui le maintien de la monarchie était beaucoup plus important que l’unité religieuse. La régente adopte la cause du parti catholique.

Bibliographie

  • Livres
    • COTTRET Bernard, 1598, L’édit de Nantes, Perrin, Paris, 1997
    • GARRISSON Janine, Henri IV, Le Seuil, rééd. 2008, Paris, 1984
    • GARRISSON Janine, Les protestants au XVIe siècle, Fayard, 1997
    • LE ROUX Nicolas, Les guerres de religion 1559/1629, Belin, 2009
    • MIQUEL Pierre, Les guerres de religion, Fayard, Paris, 1980

Parcours associés

Au hasard des notices

p
u
b
l
i
c
i
t
e