Around Saint-Germain des Prés

Saint Germain des Prés played a key role in the birth of Protestantism, thanks to the humanist and theologian Jacques Lefèvre d’Etaples

History

  • Around Saint-Germain des Prés © Fondation Bersier (Thibault Godin - 2016)
  • Around Saint-Germain des Prés © Thibault Godin (2016)
  • Around Saint-Germain des Prés © Thibault Godin (2016)

Jacques Lefèvre dEtaples was born in 1455 and died in 1536. He was named after his birth place in Picardie. He was consecrated priest and appointed librarian for the abbey in 1507 by abbot Guillaume Briçonnet, who was born 1472 and died in 1534. There, he began his translation of the New Testament into French.

After being appointed bishop of Meaux, Guillaume Briçonnet reformed his diocese by restoring Church discipline and developing preaching. Lefèvre d’Etaples, who had belonged to the group working on this restoration, was condemned by the Sorbonne for his translation of the New Testament into French. He took refuge in Strasbourg from where Francis I called him in 1526. He was then protected by Marguerite de Navarre, the King’s sister. He wrote commentaries on Paul’s Epistles, which make him one of the great Reformers’ forerunner.

During the siege of Paris between 1590 and 1594,  Henri IV had a lookout post set up in the clock tower of Saint Germain des Prés abbey, then outside Paris walls.

In the neighbourhood

  • Around Saint-Germain des Prés © Thibault Godin (2016)
  • Around Saint-Germain des Prés © Thibault Godin (2016)

North of the abbey at 13 rue de l’Abbaye at the bottom of the staircase at the far left-hand side of the courtyard, a bust of Francis I and a statue of Michel de l’Hospital can be seen. Upon the request of Catherine de Médicis the latter organised the Poissy Colloqium in 1561, a vain attempt to conciliate Catholics and Protestants.

In the garden to the south of the abbey stands a bronze statue of Bernard Palissy, a famous Protestant ceramicist who died in captivity at the Bastille in 1589, after he was sentenced to be hanged and burnt because he was a Huguenot.

Very close to the abbey, in the rue du Marais – presently called rue Visconti – an informal assembly met and prayed, read the Bible and sang psalms, thus forming a planted Reformed Church.

The street was nicknamed ‘little Geneva’ as many Reformed lived there. They started burying their dead very discretely in the rue des Saints Pères cemetery columns and a plaque at number 30 perpetuate the memory.

The first pastor of the community was Jean Le Maçon de Launay called La Rivière, a student in law who had been in Geneva and Lausanne and attended the first national synod from 25 to 29 May 1559. It was secretly held at the house of a >Protestant called Le Vicomte at 4 rue Visconti in an inn with two exits. The first reformed baptism was held in the inn, as early as 1555.

The first national synod was presided over by François de Morel, a pastor who had come back to France after two years in Geneva. 72 Churches planted all over France were represented. The synod adopted a Confession of faith and a Code of Church Discipline which became the operating rules for the Churches.

The planted Churches were endowed with a council of elders and a pastor who could give the two sacraments acknowledged by the Reform: Holy Communion and Baptism.

 

Around Saint-Germain des Prés

1-3 Place Saint-Germain des Prés, 75006 Paris, France

Itinerary to this location

Associated tours

Random notes

Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés

Saint-Germain des Prés joue un rôle important dans la naissance du protestantisme avec le théologien et humaniste Jacques Lefèvre d’Étaples.

Histoire

  • Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés
    Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés © Thibault Godin
  • Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés
    Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés © Thibault Godin
  • Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés
    Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés © Thibault Godin

Jacques Lefèvre d’Étaples est né en 1455 et mort en 1536, du nom du village de Picardie dont il est originaire. Consacré prêtre, il est nommé en 1507 bibliothécaire de l’Abbaye par l’abbé Guillaume Briçonnet, né en 1472 et mort en 1534, et y commence la traduction du Nouveau Testament en français.

Guillaume Briçonnet, devenu évêque de Meaux, réforme son diocèse en restaurant la discipline ecclésiastique et en développant la prédication. Lefèvre d’Étaples qui avait fait partie du groupe occupé par cette restauration est condamné par la Sorbonne pour sa traduction du Nouveau Testament en français. Il se réfugie à Strasbourg d’où il est rappelé par François 1er en 1526. Il vit alors sous la protection de Marguerite de Navarre, sœur du roi. Il est l’auteur de commentaires des épîtres de Paul qui fait de lui un précurseur des grands réformateurs.

Pendant le siège qu’il avait mis devant Paris entre 1590 et 1594, Henri IV avait fait installer un poste d’observation dans le clocher de l’abbaye Saint-Germain des Prés qui était en dehors des murailles de Paris.

Aux alentours

  • Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés
    Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés © Thibault Godin
  • Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés
    Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés © Thibault Godin

Au nord de l’abbaye, au 13 de la rue de l’Abbaye, au bas de la cage d’escalier située au fond de la cour à gauche, on peut voir un buste de François 1er et une statue de Michel de l’Hospital. Celui-ci, à la demande de Catherine de Médicis, organisa en 1561 le Colloque de Poissy, vaine tentative de conciliation entre catholiques et protestants.

Dans le square sud de l’abbaye figure une statue en bronze de Bernard Palissy, célèbre céramiste protestant qui mourut en 1589 dans la misère à la Bastille, alors qu’il venait d’être condamné à être pendu et brûlé parce qu’il était huguenot.

Tout près de l’Abbaye, dans la rue des Marais – actuellement rue Visconti – se réunissait de manière informelle une assemblée, pour prier, lire la Bible et chanter des psaumes,constituant une église réformée plantée.

On avait donné à cette rue le nom de « petite Genève « en référence aux nombreux réformés qui y habitaient ; ils commencent à enterrer leurs morts, dans la plus grande discrétion dans le cimetière de la rue des Saints-Pères dont les colonnes dressées et une plaque apposée au n° 30 perpétuent le souvenir.

Le premier pasteur de cette petite communauté fut Jean Le Maçon de Launay dit La Rivière, étudiant en droit, passé par Genève et Lausanne et qui assista au premier synode national du 25 au 29 mai 1559, qui se tint clandestinement chez un protestant nommé Le Vicomte au n°4 de la rue Visconti dans une auberge qui avait une double issue. C’est dans cette auberge qu’avait été célébré, dès 1555, le premier baptême réformé.

Le premier synode national fut présidé par François de Morel, pasteur revenu en France après avoir passé deux ans à Genève. 72 églises dressées de toute la France y furent représentées. Le synode vota une Confession de foi et une Discipline ecclésiastique, faisant office de règles de fonctionnement des Églises.

Les églises dressées étaient celles dotées d’un conseil d’anciens et d’un pasteur qui pouvait administrer les deux sacrements reconnus par les réformés : la Cène et le Baptême.

Autour de Saint-Germain des Prés

1-3 Place Saint-Germain des Prés, 75006 Paris, France

Itinéraire vers ce lieu

Parcours associés

Au hasard des notices