The ancient Gargoulleau house(22 rue Gargoulleau)

  • La Rochelle, former Gargoulleau house © Musée Rochelais d'Histoire Protestante

The door is probably that of the Gargoulleau room, one of the first Protestant worship places, which belonged to a family who were convinced by the Reformation early on and played a key role in the history of the city.

The Protestants of La Rochelle quickly became too numerous to ‘squeeze in into private homes’ and had a difficulty finding large enough places for their meetings. In 1561-1562 they temporarily used the Saint-Michel and Gargoulleau rooms and then, alternating with the Catholics, the Saint-Sauveur and Saint Bartholomew Churches. Later on they met at Pré Maubec, in conformity with the Edict of January 1563 allowing public worship only in the suburbs.

In July 1563 the king granted them the official authorisation to use the Saint-Michel and Gargoulleau rooms where pews had been installed. It was an era  of massive conversions to Protestantism, for instance in the Gargoulleau room alone 1,659 christenings were performed between 1563 and 1566.

Associated tours

Ancienne maison Gargoulleau (22 rue Gargoulleau)

  • La Rochelle, ancienne maison Gargoulleau
    La Rochelle, ancienne maison Gargoulleau © Musée Rochelais d'Histoire Protestante

Cette porte était autrefois vraisemblablement celle de la salle Gargoulleau, un des premiers lieux de culte des protestants, appartenant à une famille gagnée de bonne heure à la Réforme qui a joué un rôle important dans l’histoire de la ville.

Devenus rapidement trop nombreux pour « s’enserrer en maisons privées », les réformés rochelais ont eu d’abord beaucoup de peine à trouver des locaux assez vastes pour leurs réunions. En 1561-1562, ils occupent provisoirement les salles Saint-Michel et Gargoulleau, puis, en alternance avec les catholiques, les églises Saint-Sauveur et Saint-Barthèlemy. Par la suite, ils se rassemblent dans la Pré Maubec, conformément à l’édit de janvier 1563 qui n’accorde l’exercice public du culte que dans les faubourgs.

En juillet 1563, ils obtiennent du roi l’autorisation officielle d’occuper les salles Saint-Michel et Gargoulleau qui sont aménagées avec des bancs. C’est l’époque des conversions massives au protestantisme : dans la seule salle Gargoulleau, 1659 baptêmes sont célébrés de 1563 à 1566.

Parcours associés

Au hasard des notices