The eight wars of religion in detail

The wars lasted thirty-six years. The kingdom of France had 18 million inhabitants at that time – indeed, few other European countries had as many. The growth rate rose considerably in the first part of the XVIth century. France was also rich and this was mostly due to its agriculture – 90% of the population was rural. During the Religious Wars, both population and wealth decreased, so Henry IV had to completely rebuild his kingdom.

According to J. Garrisson, ‘In the collective memory, Protestantism and the Wars of Religion are closely connected.’ Indeed, these thirty-six years, stretching from 1562 to 1598, are among the darkest periods of French history.

A tragedy in three acts

1 – The prologue corresponds to the rise of Protestantism, which began with the influence of Luther’s ideas spreading in France from 1520 onwards. There was soon a reaction by the authorities and in 1532 the first Protestant was burnt at the stake. The Protestant minority quickly gained followers, with their ideas and influence being publicly acknowledged. The Catholic majority remained loyal to the traditional faith, which re-asserted itself in the Counter Reform. The now weakened royal power stood between the two, equivocating and trying to keep the kingdom from descending into chaos.

2 – A play in eight acts: the eight Religious Wars stretch from the massacre in Wassy in March 1562 to the Edict of Nantes in April 1598. Brief periods of war and peace alternated for thirty-six years, making it one of the most troubled times the kingdom of France had ever known. In between periods of fighting, treaties of ‘religious peace’ were signed, which were followed by ‘edicts to establish peace’. During these tragic years, warfare took place throughout the kingdom and consisted of fanaticism, martyrdom, vendettas, brigands, adventurers, and mercenaries: this violence culminated in the St. Bartholomew Massacre.

3 – The epilogue was the Edict of Nantes in 1598. Henry IV ruled over a United Kingdom which was no longer at war, but which had to be completely rebuilt. Although the edict did protect the Protestants, they were never again as numerous as before.

4 – Many other factors need to be considered if one is to fully understand the setting of this macabre play : the actors range in importance from the kings of the realm to their simple, impoverished subjects, the new balance of power which proved a threat to the king such as the League (Catholic) and the Huguenot State. The scenery was made up of acts of violence, which included wars abroad as well as battles at home.

5 –  Many strong personalities played their part in this period. Every French family was involved and you can discover some portraits of the actors who played the leading roles in the religious wars.

Begin the tour

Begin the tour

Les huit guerres de religion en détail

Elles s’étalent sur une période de trente-six années. Avec 18 millions d’habitants, le royaume de France est alors le plus peuplé du continent européen. La progression démographique est forte dans la première partie du XVIème siècle. C’est aussi un des plus riches ; la structure de la population, rurale à 90%, fait que cette richesse est avant tout agricole. La période des guerres de Religion voit une stagnation, voire une régression, de ces deux facteurs, laissant à Henri IV un royaume à reconstruire.

« Protestantisme, guerres de Religion, ces deux entités se trouvent liées dans la mémoire collective » (J. Garrisson). Ces trente-six années, de 1562 à 1598, sont une des périodes les plus sombres de l’Histoire de France.

 

Cette tragédie se déroule en trois actes.

1-    Le prologue correspond à l’essor du protestantisme, qui débute dès la pénétration des idées de Luther en France à partir des années 1520. Cet essor est rapidement combattu, l’année 1523 voit le premier protestant périr sur le bûcher. D’un côté, la minorité protestante se développe rapidement et fait reconnaître son identité et son influence. De l’autre, la majorité catholique veut rester fidèle à la foi traditionnelle, réaffirmée par la Contre-Réforme. Entre les deux, un pouvoir royal affaibli louvoie pour maintenir l’État hors du chaos.

2-     La pièce elle-même se déroule en 8 tableaux : les huit guerres de Religion vont du massacre de Wassy en mars 1562 à l’édit de Nantes en avril 1598. Pendant ces trente-six années, parmi les plus dramatiques du royaume de France, paix et guerres de durée éphémère se succèdent. Les périodes de combat sont interrompues par la signature de « paix de religion », qui doivent être confirmées par des « édits de pacification ». Pendant ces années tragiques, la guerre s’est déroulée sur tout le royaume, mélangeant fanatisme, aspirations au martyre, vendetta, brigandages, aventuriers et mercenaires : une violence extrême culmine avec les massacres de la Saint-Barthélemy.

3-    L’épilogue est l’édit de Nantes de 1598. Henri IV est à la tête d’un royaume entier libéré des guerres civiles, mais à reconstruire. L’édit protège les protestants, mais marque le commencement du déclin du protestantisme français.

4-    D’autres éléments sont nécessaires pour comprendre la mise en scène de ce théâtre d’horreurs et font intervenir de nombreux facteurs : les acteurs allant des rois au menu peuple, l’émergence de contre-pouvoirs comme la Ligue et l’état huguenot mettant en cause la notion même du pouvoir royal, dans un décor dominé par la violence, la guerre étrangère s’ajoutant à la guerre civile.

5-    De fortes personnalités illustrent cette époque. Toutes les familles sont représentées et vous pourrez trouver les portraits des principaux acteurs de ces guerres de religion.

Commencer le parcours

Commencer le parcours

p
u
b
l
i
c
i
t
e