Protestantism in the 19th century

The century began with the 1801 Concordat and 1802 Organic Articles ruling the life of Churches.

Their measures enabled to reorganise the Protestantism after the Desert period. The Protestants were allowed places for worship, for instance they were granted former Catholic Churches, and had a lot of new buildings erected. The clergy was reinstated.

Several Protestant religious societies, such as the evangelical missions Society (1818), the Protestant Biblical Society of Paris (1822), the Salvation Army (1878) as well as Protestant schools were set up in France.

The revival trends from Geneva and English Methodism dominated the renewal of French Protestantism. They influenced parishes within the Concordat and gave rise to new free Churches outside the Concordat, as the Taitbout chapel in Paris.

During the second half of the century Reformed Churches were divided by the conflict between Orthodox Evangelists, influenced by the Revival, and the Liberals. The conflict culminated with the national synod of Paris in 1872, that adopted a declaration of faith rejected by the Liberals. In the last century the conflicts were less violent.

The Lutherans avoided these conflicts as the Augsburg confession was still acknowledged and a central structure existed, namely the general consistory of Strasbourg.

Begin the tour

Begin the tour

Le protestantisme au XIXe siècle

Le XIXe siècle commence avec le Concordat de 1801 et les Articles organiques de 1802 qui réglementent la vie des Églises.
Leurs dispositions permettent la réorganisation du protestantisme, après la période du Désert. Les protestants retrouvent des lieux de culte : des anciennes églises catholiques leur sont attribués et ils construisent de nombreux nouveaux édifices. Le corps pastoral se rétablit.
Plusieurs sociétés religieuses protestantes, comme la Société des missions évangéliques (1818), la Société biblique protestante de Paris (1822), l’Armée du Salut (1878), ainsi que des établissements protestants d’enseignement s’implantent en France.
Les mouvements de Réveil, venant de Genève et du méthodisme anglais, dominent le renouveau du protestantisme français. Ils influencent les paroisses concordataires et sont à l’origine de nouvelles Églises libres non concordataires, comme celle de la chapelle Taitbout à Paris.

Au cours de la deuxième moitié du siècle, les Églises réformées sont divisées par le conflit entre les évangéliques orthodoxes, sous l’influence du Réveil, et les libéraux. Le conflit culmine avec le synode national de Paris en 1872, qui adopte une déclaration de foi que les libéraux rejettent. A la fin du siècle, les conflits sont moins virulents.
Les luthériens ne connaissent pas de tels conflits car la confession d’Augsbourg est toujours reconnue et il existe une structure centrale : le consistoire général de Strasbourg.

Commencer le parcours

Commencer le parcours

p
u
b
l
i
c
i
t
e