Wolfgang Capiton (1478-1541)

Wolfgang Capiton, an Alsatian theologian and reformer, took part in introducing the Reformation in Strasbourg.

A moderate theologian

  • Wolfgang Capiton engraving W. Markworth, 1750 ? © Bibliothèque nationale et universitaire de Strasbourg
  • Erasmus (1469-1536) © Église réformée de Savoie
  • Ulrich Zwingli (1484-1531) © Musée de la Réformation Genève

Wolfgang Capiton was born in Haguenau, where his father was a master blacksmith. He studied medicine at Ingolstadt University (Bavaria) and theology in Friburg and obtained his doctorate in 1515. During his education he obtained three doctorates, was in contact with humanists of the Rhineland, and met Mathieu Zell and Jacques Strum, also in favour of the Reformation.

He preached at the Cathedral in Basel and taught theology at the University. His commentaries on the Epistle to the Romans and his preaching were very much appreciated. He was an excellent hebraist, which Erasmus noticed and asked him to collaborate in editing the New Testament in the original Greek language. He met Zwingli, corresponded with Luther but criticised his attitude towards the secular power, and advised him to spare the mighty.

In 1519 he agreed to be appointed preacher and counsellor to the court of the Archbishop in Mayence, Albrecht of Brandenburg, first cleric and chancellor of the Empire, and highly committed to keeping the traditional regime. Capiton tried to decrease religious tensions by moderating the Lutheran party while opposing the anti-Lutheran edicts.

The Reformation in Strasbourg

  • Saint-Pierre le Jeune in Strasbourg (67) © S.H.P.F.
  • Michel Servet (1511-1553) © S.H.P.F.

In 1523 he left Mains for Strasbourg where he was appointed provost of the chapter at Saint-Thomas. He quickly received the rights of citizenship and took part with Bucer in constituting the Strasbourg Church- he had great ecclesiastical influence on the magistrates and endorsed the Reformation in 1524 and then became its leader.

He married the daughter of a member of the very powerful Council of the Fifteen in charge of finances. The marriage and the election to the parish of Saint-Peter-the-Young reinforced his religious role in the city.

He was very active in the city and published a catechism for children in 1529. After a campaign of petitions to the magistrate the total suppression of the Catholic Roman mass was granted. For a long time he was lenient with the Anabaptists and intervened to appease a peasant uprising, and did not hesitate to shelter several members of this movement, especially Michel Servet. He also received Jacques Lefèvre d’Etaples in Strasbourg, and Calvin in 1538.

A pacifying role

  • © Collection privée

Upon his wife’s death, Capiton progressively stepped aside in favour of Bucer, and resumed his humanist’s work. He still worked with Erasmus and translated his Treatise on Concord.

Erasmus was also in favour of a prudent and conciliatory attitude concerning theology, and took part in the conflict between the magistrate and the clergy in Bern, as Capiton wished a union with the Swiss.

He ceaselessly travelled in Switzerland and in Germany and attended all the diets and conferences aimed at pacifying the conflicts between the religions. He took part in devising the Concord of Wittenberg in 1536 and the Colloquy of Worms in 1540.

During the final years of his life he moved away from the problems of religious conflicts and turned to realities such as the State’s duties towards poor families.

He died of the plague in 1541.

Bibliography

  • Articles
    • VOGLER Bernard, "Capiton Wolfgang Fabricius Köpfel dit (1478-1541)", Encyclopédie Universalis, en ligne, consulté le 24 mars 2015 | Link

Associated notes

Random notes

Wolfgang Capiton (1478-1541)

Wolfgang Capiton, théologien et réformateur alsacien, a participé à l’introduction de la Réforme à Strasbourg.

Un théologien modéré

  • Wolfgang Capiton gravure W. Markworth, 1750 ?
    Wolfgang Capiton gravure W. Markworth, 1750 ? © Bibliothèque nationale et universitaire de Strasbourg
  • Érasme (1469-1536)
    Érasme (1469-1536) © Église réformée de Savoie
  • Ulrich Zwingli (1484-1531)
    Ulrich Zwingli (1484-1531) © Musée de la Réformation Genève

Né à Haguenau, où son père est maître-forgeron, Wolfgang Capiton fait des études de médecine puis de droit à l’Université d’Ingolstadt (Bavière) et de théologie à Fribourg, où il obtient un doctorat en 1515. Durant ces années de formation couronnées par trois doctorats, il est en contact avec les humanistes rhénans, et rencontre Mathieu Zell et Jacques Sturm également partisans de la Réforme.

Prédicateur à la cathédrale de Bâle et professeur de théologie à l’université, ses commentaires sur l’Épître aux Romains et ses prédications sont très suivis. Excellent hébraïsant, il est remarqué par Érasme qui lui demande de collaborer à l’édition du Nouveau Testament en langue grecque originale. Il rencontre Zwingli, correspond avec Luther, dont il critique l’attitude à l’égard du pouvoir séculier et lui conseille de ménager les puissants.

En 1519, il accepte le poste de prédicateur et de conseiller à la cour de l’archevêque de Mayence, Albrecht de Brandebourg, premier prélat et chancelier de l’Empire, personnage très attaché au maintien du régime traditionnel. Capiton tente de diminuer les tensions religieuses, en modérant le parti luthérien tout en s’opposant aux édits anti-luthériens.

La Réforme à Strasbourg

  • Strasbourg (67), Saint-Pierre le Jeune
    Strasbourg (67), Saint-Pierre le Jeune © S.H.P.F.
  • Michel Servet (1511-1553)
    Michel Servet (1511-1553) © S.H.P.F.

En 1523, il quitte Mayence, et part pour Strasbourg avec le poste de prévôt du chapitre de Saint-Thomas. Il acquiert rapidement le droit de bourgeoisie et participe avec Bucer à la constitution de l’Église strasbourgeoise : très influant sur les magistrats en matière ecclésiastique, il embrasse la Réforme en 1524, pour en prendre la tête.

Il se marie avec la fille d’un membre du conseil des Quinze, puissant conseil chargé des finances. Ce mariage, ainsi que son élection à la cure de Saint-Pierre-le-Jeune consolident son rôle religieux dans la ville.

Très actif dans la vie de la cité, il publie en 1529 un catéchisme pour les enfants. Par une campagne de pétitions auprès du magistrat, il obtint la suppression totale de la messe catholique romaine. Il est longtemps indulgent envers les anabaptistes, intervenant pour apaiser une révolte paysanne, et n’hésitant pas à abriter plusieurs membres de cette tendance, en particulier Michel Servet. Il a également accueilli à Strasbourg Jacques Lefèvre d’Étaples, et Calvin en 1538.

Un rôle pacificateur

  • Concorde de Wittenberg
    Concorde de Wittenberg © Collection privée

Après le mort de sa femme, Capiton s’efface progressivement devant Bucer, revenant à ses propres travaux d’humaniste. Il continue sa collaboration avec Érasme dont il traduit le Traité sur la Concorde.

En effet, comme ce dernier, il est partisan d’une attitude de prudence et de conciliation en matière théologique, intervenant par exemple dans le conflit entre le magistrat et le clergé de Berne, Capiton souhaitant une union avec les Suisses.

Voyageant sans cesse en Suisse et en Allemagne, il participe à toutes les diètes et conférences destinées à pacifier les conflits entre les religions. Il participe à l’élaboration de la Concorde de Wittenberg (1536) ainsi qu’au Colloque de Worms en 1540.

Dans les dernières années de sa vie, il s’éloigne des problèmes de conflits religieux pour se tourner vers des réalités comme les devoirs de l’État vis-à-vis des familles pauvres.

Il meurt de la peste en 1541.

Bibliographie

  • Articles
    • VOGLER Bernard, « Capiton Wolfgang Fabricius Köpfel dit (1478-1541) », Encyclopédie Universalis, en ligne, consulté le 24 mars 2015 | Lien

Notices associées

Au hasard des notices